We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lysley Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
+44 1249 652864
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:30
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 227: English reviews
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

1st table to order out of 4/5 tables, only orderd a baguette and a jacket potato.. we watched every other order come out before ours. When I asked if we were forgotten our order appeared. Two Baguettes!!!!! we explained one of them was supposed to be a jacket the spare baguette was removed with no apology! After 20 mins we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lezdolman
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry to see from your review that we failed to meet your expectations on your visit to Lysley. Unfortunately, I was not on hand at the exact time of your visit, but I have since questioned those present, who it seems did all in their power to avoid any misunderstanding. It would seem that two baguettes were initially... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous food in a lovely traditional pub with loads of parking. Very welcoming staff couldn't do enough for us

Helpful?
Thank Jen E
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your custom. The feedback is much appreciated by our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lysley Arms. More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow what a lovely lunch, you have four choices of meat too! Very friendly staff,very busy but a quick service, cooked to perfection as I don't like soggy veg, we can't wait to go back, also a very nice menu my husband loved his pie,

Helpful?
Thank CarolandRod
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

After a couple of extremely poor meals (agency chef back then) about two or three months ago, we decided to have lunch there last Tuesday. We were delighted with both our meals and are looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank aliceingardenland
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Good to hear you were once again delighted with the food and service from our team at Lysley. Thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been visiting the lysley arms for years with the family however the last few times , food more expensive and smaller portions ! a longer wait and an empty car park! Such a shame once was great not any more

Helpful?
Thank 1jamie
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Lysley and for your feedback. I am indeed sorry to hear of your recent dissatisfaction, which I understand arose from the size of food portions acompanied by an increased cost for same. We do endeavour to please all our customers, and we would certainly always be happy to refresh any portion that was deemed insufficient and... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family love this pub, the food is great and the service is fine. Lovely old pub easy to get too and plenty of parking.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty S
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review from your visit in July. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Went on a Sunday, for Lunch. Shown to our table, Waitress promptly took Drinks order. Lunch order then taken. All meals arrived after a short wait. All of us had Roast meals, meat very succulent, the vegetables cooked just right, not over or under cooked. Managed to leave or find enough appetite for afters. All sweets were enjoyed. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank 46tonyjen
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. So pleased to hear all was good and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

...and the Lysley Arms got it right! When I say we made a last minute decision to stop here, I mean a 40 mph left turn into the (fortunately very large) car park. The landlord has apparently only recently taken over, and if he carries on in the same manner, he will do well. We were made very welcome from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony_K56
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Glad you made the turn into Lysley car park and thanks for your review. Good to know the Otter met your expectations since we had only last week put in a new cellar cooling system. Look forward to seeing you at Lysley when you are next on the Bowood route…. More 

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Nice meals(for 4). Not huge portions, reasonably priced - best chips to die for!! Good service. New landlord,very friendly. Plenty of choice. First visited a few years ago when the smoked chicken pancakes were out of this world but with a couple of landlord changes since the pancakes have disappeared from the Menu. Plenty of parking.

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review. The team here at Lysley is delighted to hear you were so impressed with your chips and enjoyed good service on your recent visit. We are glad you found the menu gave “plenty of choice” and sorry you miss the chicken pancakes. Our menu was due for an update, but our new head chef may... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

Have been using this pub for many years, but since the old landlord left the place has just gone down hill. The two barman who served us were unprofessional and not particularly friendly. My husband had ordered 2 drinks the same and on ordering the 3rd one the price had changed by 10p?? Of course this was questioned and the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sscrivener1972
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting in August and for your feedback. I am indeed sorry to hear of your disappointment at that time. So far as your ten pence was concerned, it appears that the final charge was correct, so it would seem you were initially undercharged. However, I apologise for the fact that your husband considered the issue to be... More 

Travellers who viewed The Lysley Arms also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lysley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1249 652864

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lysley Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lysley Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?