We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bickley Mill Inn

Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
+44 1803 873201
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (12 reviews)
“chicken pie” (3 reviews)
“scallops” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 272 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Lovely weekend spent at The Bickley Mill Inn to celebrate my Godson and his new Bride's perfect day. The whole experience was really enjoyable. Food, delicious and served hot ( always a plus for me), staff very friendly and accommodation very stylish and spotlessly clean....More

Thank Ian H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Having eaten at the Bickley mill several times we were really disappointed this evening with the poor quality of food and service. we were a party of 9 adults and 3 children and due to the number in our party we were asked to pre...More

Thank Idealdave
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We will take all of your feedback into consideration. Firstly I would just like to say that it is a shame that you felt that you needed to write a poor review when you had made your complaint to us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We tried Sunday Lunch before attempting an evening meal. Its a historic old building, tile floors and corniced ceilings but our table was more scruffy than quaint.Though both meals were piping hot when they arrived, we did seem to wait quite a while for them....More

Thank SusieBaby_10
James W, Owner at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your feedback. If possible, I would like to know which table you were sat at so I can ensure that none of our table are 'scruffy'. I feel all of our tables are well kept and cannot...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Husband and I were spending a week in Torquay and came upon this lovely pub/restaurant/inn. We had a gorgeous meal there on the first evening of our holiday; so good that we decided to go back there for our final evening. So glad we did!

Thank Sandra M
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you liked us so much you came back so soon! Hopefully next time you are here on holiday we will see you again.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel and decided to eat in. Glad we did as they have an excellent menu and the food was superb! And with fantastic service too we had a very enjoyable evening.

Thank Neddy044
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us whilst staying in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017

have been several times over the years. Food generally reasonable. This week chicken ballotine dry, all other stuff nice. The general acoustics in the main dining area are AWFUL noise from all side, quiet talk can be heard bouncing around. its a shame, stopped us...More

Thank sayM65
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback, it is a shame that you feel the acoustic are poor and you allowed this to spoil your evening. We hope that you will return to us.

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Tonight my boyfriend and I visited after being to Haytor at Dartmoor National Park. The location seemed really nice, the restaurant was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We both ordered the Steak and the food was excellent. We both enjoyed it very much....More

Thank livinginthefairyland
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for writing us a review. It's great to hear how much you both enjoyed your meals and your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Nice location. Nice polite friendly staff. Food was great service great . Drinks at the bar were very pricey and this let the day down a bit. Would like to go back and have a meal.

Thank CTsmiff
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the day.

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We are local to the Bickley mill living only a few minutes away and often used to frequent it years ago until unfortunately it went down hill and we stopped. We are so delighted we decided to take the family here last night as it...More

Thank sarah c
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you have decided to start using the Bickley Mill again after a long absence. We are very happy to know how much you all enjoyed your meals and we look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Really disappointed with food, fish was watery, potatoes were partially cooked and pudding uninviting

Thank Cherry2666
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Sorry that the food was not to your liking when you visited for the wedding. Thank you for your feedback.

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Glynis1953
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hughcoram | Reviewed this property |
Yes if they are kept on a lead
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Newton Abbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 873201
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing