We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
74 Main Street | Brandesburton, Driffield YO25 8RG, England
+44 1964 542376
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 90: English reviews
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fabulous lunch, fabulous friendly staff. The lunch was piping hot and very quick service. Nothing at all is too much trouble for anyone to do there. Already booked for next week :)

Thank 566debbiek
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review - will pass your comments on to all our lovely staff More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2017

A small & friendly setting offering traditional pub food. The food provided was nice, reasonably priced & served within a reasonable time.

Thank lollipopy2k16
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful people, staff so friendly and they made us all very welcome. We booked for a family meal, 8 adults and 8 children while we were staying in the area for a family weekend. Nothing was too much trouble. Food Excellent, fresh and plenty of choice. Very reasonable. The Black Swan a must if you want a lovely, tasty meal

Thank Angie P
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review - we hope you enjoyed your stay in Brandesburton too And If you visit again please come back to TheBlack Swan - Cheers! More 

Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We visit the Black Swan quite frequently and are always impressed with the food and the service. A proper local pub with a landlord that wishes you a safe journey home and makes sure you're happy with the food. We've had the fish and chips on the Friday special and it was fab. Definately worth a visit. Good beer too,... More 

Thank Rachel F
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Hello Rachel - Thankyou for posting a review of The Black Swan - Brandesburton It is lovely to hear how much you enjoy your visits and we look forward to seeing you again very soon More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this place!!! From the moment you walk in the atmosphere is so warm and friendly Steve, Norma, Mel and all the gang are such lovely people, you feel so welcome .We had lunch here the two days before Christmas, all fantastic then had a wonderful Christmas dinner with many locals, again feeling so welcome. The food is absolutely... More 

Thank Kath E
Bempton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Welcoming and cosy multi-room pub with lots of fine woodwork features and quirky collectables scattered here and there. Two real ales on offer when we visited but both were dark and full bodied. A regular session beer would be a welcome addition. Good choice of pub food favourites. Not the best fish and chips I have had (not the worst... More 

Thank W00dy58
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Very much appreciate you posting on both our listings -️Cheers! More 

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Arrived at opening time on a Sunday, we were shown to a table and drinks were ordered straight away, a decent selection of main curses are listed on a blackboard for £8, we opted for the Roast Pork Sunday Lunch it arrived with 2 big slices of Pork, homemade Yorkshire pudding, a couple of new potatoes a couple of roast... More 

Thank Patricia J
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Hello Patricia THANKYOU for posting a review of your visit to The Black Swan - we are pleased to see you enjoyed your meal - if you do visit again please do ask for your ️Gravy to be served seperartly - Sorry to hear you felt cold we have our thermostats set at 20-22*C ..... We do have a couple... More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Very warm welcome and really friendly waitress. Lunch and wine lovely. Would definitely return. Can imagine it haves an even better atmosphere on an evening.

Thank LYNSPontefract
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

THANKYOU for taking time to post a review - we are pleased you enjoyed your lunch and we hope you can visit again one day More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a few beers today and its chocablock, 99% of tables booked/ reserved. Had to stand at bar but not complaining, Pedigree on excellent form again. Keep it up guys 'n' gals

Thank David S
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Hello Dave S - think I remember seeing Mr.Pedigree propping up the bar - as you say it was a tad busy - but think we managed to feed everyone - we look forward to seeing you next weekend? More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Basic pub, had a warm atmosphere very friendly staff. Pub grub was pretty basic, had home made pie, was ok, pastry wasn't the best I had eaten and chips were soggy as had too much gravy ladled over the whole dinner. Was ok but certainly would not eat in there again but use it as pub for drinking in.

1 Thank Christine P
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review

Hello Christine - sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your meal But we Thank you for bringing these faults to our attention More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brandesburton, Driffield
Sledmere, Driffield
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$26
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 74 Main Street | Brandesburton, Driffield YO25 8RG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Driffield
  • Phone Number: +44 1964 542376
The Black Swan is a traditional country pub serving home-made hearty pub meals We serve ever changing real ales and wide range of lagers / beers wines spirits and soft drinks We have a tradititional taproom with darts dominoes pool and 2TVs showing BT SPORTS also a separate snooker room And a lovely lounge area with a real log fire We have a lovely big South facing garden with a secluded patio area and a very large carpark The Black Swan is situated on the historical village green in the centre of Brandesburton Dogs are welcome in the taproom area Large parties can be accommodated with prior notice We also cater for campers in our 2 camping pods which are situated in a secluded area of our garden

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?