We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Island Restaurant

9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
+44 1833 630575
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (37 reviews)
“poppadoms” (21 reviews)
“onion bhaji” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

First trip to Barnard Castle and where to go to eat, this Indian was particularly good. Staff were very knowledgeable with the dishes and advised of what sauce would work best with king prawns etc. A really good meal in a restaurant with a nice...More

Thank Lamonts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for a warm welcome and excellent customer service, not to mention top notch food then look no further. Well done to Zach and the whole team for continous five star service.

Thank Joanne S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we're staying locally we've treated ourselves to two takeaways. We've enjoyed minted chicken (quite spicy) chicken korma, chicken biriyani and even managed to persuade our daughter to give it a try. Take away with one nann bread cost between £18 and £21 but the...More

Thank Leanne C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered food at 6pm and told of a 45 minutes wait. Arrived in the restaurant at 645 and ended up waiting until nearly 720 for our food to be ready. Disappointing considering that the food was of a high standard. Will be going for a...More

2  Thank Paul S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday evening family curry . Always friendly service . Food very good and advice on hand for various tastes/ kids so everone happy .

Thank djcb1972
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my wife and two kids (16 and 10) in October. On arrival at 7pm on a Sunday evening we were the only people in the restaurant. Not to worry - it soon filled up to create a really good atmosphere. The menu choice...More

Thank robski_korsikoff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Probably the best curries in the North of England attentive staff wide selection of curries and good value

Thank PeteBigge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately I was very disappointed with the food I had. Onion bajees were dry and the main dishes were lacking in taste. It was a very busy night for the restaurant but surely this can't be an excuse.

5  Thank Michael N
Reviewed 13 October 2017

No surprise that the chef is scooping numerous awards. Excellent food and great to see authentic dishes rather than generic sugary , salty food a lot of curry houses offer. Looking forward to next visit!

Thank Ciaran R
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We decided on a last minute meal and went to this great restaurant. Not the first visit but this confirmed our last impression of superb spices and fresh tastes. Obviously freshly prepared. Great service too.

Thank Silversurfer020
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
511 reviews
.23 km away
Fish and Chips 149
291 reviews
.31 km away
Bengal Merchant
459 reviews
.08 km away
Valentine's Restaurant
348 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bowes Museum
1,328 reviews
.52 km away
Barnard Castle
568 reviews
.20 km away
St Mary's Church
13 reviews
.39 km away
Whorlton Bridge
9 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
granieannie
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Zak A | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your enquiry. it depends on what items you order, we use local lamb which comes from local butchers so it is not. Our Chicken is halal
0
Votes
REDJT
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Zak A | Property representative |
I'm afraid we don't have any kids meals, however our meals come in dishes so are very easily shareable. We also have an extensive starter range which many people opt for. Many thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$41
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Barnard Castle
  • Phone Number: +44 1833 630575
Description
There is no doubt that most visitors to Spice Island return again and again to sample its outstanding cuisine. Fine food is one of life's most exquisite pleasures - for you to enjoy and savour whenever possible. Such is the philosophy of the Spice Island restaurant, with Head Chef Babul Miah taking great care, pride and satisfaction in creating the finest cuisine.The Menu takes you on a journey across the different regions of Indian Subcontinent to present a superb combination of vibrant dishes. And from the many regional variations of Indian cooking that provide a wide choice of cooking styles, Babul has matched each dish with a style to bring out the distinct flavours and fragrances of the dish to tantalise the senses.Spice Island is situated in the heart of Barnard Castle and was established in 1995. The site was completely transformed in May 2006, the designer interior strikes the right balance between contemporary and informal, overall the effect is tranquil and completely relaxing.Spice Island Manager Zak Ahmed and his staff are passionate about their work. Their knowledge and experience combine to create a unique establishment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing