We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Oak Inn

) #3 of 25 Restaurants in Appleby $$ - $$$ , British,
Bongate, Appleby CA16 6UN, England
+44 17683 51463
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“ale pie” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bongate, Appleby CA16 6UN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Tried this pub out for an evening meal as were staying locally. Staff were very welcoming. We visited on a Sunday and were able to get a table in the end room of the restaurant area. Superb fish and chips- light crispy batter, juicy flakes...More

Thank Victoria224
Reviewed 2 days ago

Popped in for a quick drink on our way to Appleby Manor as we spotted the football on! Sat outside in the heated patio area and enjoyed our surroundings. Wish we could have stayed for lunch - the Sunday Roast looked amazing!

Thank Laurr456
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were staying at a nearby holiday park so ventured out for a change of menu after asking a local where we should eat and being advised to try The Royal Oak. Have to say that we were really impressed. Excellent choice. The full menu...More

Thank gingermagic
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Its great to hear that you were recommended by a local & that we did not fail to impress. We take pride in that we are able to offer the full lunchtime menu as well...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A pleasant meal and friendly service. Mid price food, expensive all one price wine without description on the list. I have to say we were lucky to get a table for five at short notice on a very busy Saturday evening - the place was...More

Thank PeterEdmonds
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal & that the service was friendly, we take great pride in offering a friendly service which makes a more relaxing atmosphere. We do our very best...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

All we came in here was for a drink, but it looks like the owners are using the bar as well as the restaurant to let people eat hence hardly anywhere to sit. Very highly priced gin and tonic even if they are premium gins.More

Thank cujimeScotland
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to log your complaint on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you came at a very busy time. We pride ourselves in being able to offer food throughout the building so our customers can eat wherever they feel most comfortable,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Appleby-in-Westmoreland a couple of days and had dinner in the Royal Oak twice. The food was great and the atmosphere wonderful. I don't know if they get too many Americans through Appleby but everyone in the Royal Oak was delightful to speak...More

Thank kilr0ywashere
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were very happy to welcome you and love that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much, you came back again. We hope you enjoy the rest of your UK holiday and we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dinned here on Saturday 29th July with friends. Sadly had to send the crab starter back, as the crab smelt off. The pasta dish off the special menu was heavy and congealed and very disappointing. The 2 steaks we ordered however were excellent. Otherwise nice...More

1  Thank Jeniandjohn5
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I can only apologise in regards to the specials that evening and i will personally be speaking to the kitchen staff as this is disappointing to hear. On a more positive note I am very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying for the weekend at a local B&B my wife and I visited the Royal Oak for a meal on the Saturday night l. It was so tasty that we returned again on the Sunday. I can recommend the steak, meals are good value. I...More

Thank MichaelJBowden
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear that you returned the very next day, always a good sign when you return so soon. We are pleased that you recommend the Steak which is Locally sourced. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had another meal here, with some of the family, as we tend to do when visiting them. Good quality food and value for money. Veg a little limited with the Sunday lunch this time for some reason, but on the whole greatMore

1  Thank philgregg2017
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we very much appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed your food, we strive to make good quality food that is locally sourced and provides value or money. Our Sunday lunch is always very...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in Sunday evening 23rd July looking for an evening meal without a booking. We decided to try the Royal Oak as there were lots of cars outside, and thought that was a good omen for a Sunday evening. We were offered a choice of...More

Thank LD092008
ApplebyJan, Manager at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The Lasagne is a popular favorite here at The Oak, which i agree is plentiful. It is also great to see positive reviews about the Pan Fried Salmon which was on that weeks specials....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ashiana Exquisite Asian Cuisine
313 reviews
.71 km away
the Steakhouse Takeaway
35 reviews
.65 km away
Bojangles'
140 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Appleby Tourist Information Centre
106 reviews
.69 km away
St Anne's Hospital
25 reviews
.59 km away
Courtyard Gallery
35 reviews
.61 km away
Appleby Castle
120 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David Maurice B
24 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen C | Reviewed this property |
Was the review definitely published, or just pending? This is a Trip Advisor question really, as I didn't think a published review could be removed unless it had bad language / was inappropriate etc.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$33 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bongate, Appleby CA16 6UN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Eden District  >  Appleby
  • Phone Number: +44 17683 51463
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing