We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Village Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
+44 15394 43731
Website
Today
08:30 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,517: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Would highly recommend this place, I had the burger and my partner had the hanging skewer. The whole meal was perfect after a long days walking. Good selection of ales to for the ale drinker.

Helpful?
Thank Daveroo180
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Really tasty food and great value for money. Fast service despite a large group in at the same time. Would recommend the halloumi fish and chips!!

Helpful?
Thank StephanieBray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on two different occasions and both were great. The first time we just had drinks the second time we also had food. The staff were friendly and polite! Food was excellent and not small portions 100% value for money! Will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Kayley G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me, my partner and some of my partners family stayed in a cottage in the lakes for a week back in July/August and came into Windermere early one morning as we had got in too late a day or two earlier and couldn't get a car parking space. As we were so early we needed to find somewhere to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank David0ff82
whiston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for breakfast and waited 15 minutes to be offered a drink even though there there were only two other couples seated. Took 1 hour to get a very basic over cooked expensive breakfast. Would never go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank clairej82
Barrowford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice setting and decor and the service was swift. Breakfast was ok, bacon a little dry and they were happy to swap fried eggs for scrambled, which were delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went for xmas dinner. thin sliced turkey rolled over most disgusting stuffing we have ever eaten. sprouts the size of peas the carrots were solid gravy like water then christmas pudding very very small in a massive plate whole lot crap even the wine &beer were terrible wont be back a total waste of money nearly £100 for the two... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank malki992
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a meal New Years Day night. Amazing food. Great location. Great value and can't recommend enough 10/10

Helpful?
Thank steve e
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate feedback on our offering at The Village and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area. More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Handy location , nice decor especially at Christmas!However, food , service is inconsistent! Bit hit and miss , Christmas meal sent back , however , previous month meal was lovely !

Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydoo2003
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're charging above average prices for breakfast then you expect a top notch breakfast.. It wasn't. £8 for a full English which doesn't come with toast? It was nothing special, bacon dry, fatty and tasteless, sausage was OK, egg not fully cooked and far too runny.. had to pay extra for toast. I've had better in spoons for less... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J

Travellers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Grill
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 00:00
Monday
08:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 00:00
Thursday
08:30 - 00:00
Friday
08:30 - 00:00
Saturday
08:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowness-on-Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 43731
Description
The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters.

The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Village Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?