We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chinese Buffet

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
+44 1942 820277
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 359: English reviews
Leigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wife and I visit regular when we go to Wigan. excellent choice of food, rotation is good so food is fresh Jamie gives superb service, she's always smiling

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

went hear on the 17th of this month food was exellent staff were very friendly service was great well recomended place will go hear more often 5 stars from me ,

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Have been to this restaurant a few times and it continues to impress. Great selection of food that is of good quality. Dishes are Frequently replaced and the wine is decent. A good choice for a family gathering.

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
Westhoughton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Another place we like to eat at once a week!! Been coming here for quite a while now and the food is consistently good quality. Lovely waitresses who remember what our drinks order will be without us having to remind them (they've nicknamed my hubby 'mr pot of tea' after the first few times he requested a pot not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We asked for a table that could seat for although there were only two of us, so we had room to spread! The staff were friendly and helpful and were good at keeping the food areas clean and refilling items quickly. A wide choice of starters, good choice of mains and good range of desserts in small portions so you... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathB51
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time visit, but will defiantly be back. Lots of choices and food kept very warm. All food had correct labelling and we were asked twice about any possible allergies. The kids loved the made to order pancakes and chocolate fountain., and the adults the different starters and mains. Really good value.

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the good things... Fairly decent vegetarian choice on offer - plenty to choose from - veg curry, mock duck in garlic/curry sauce (with wraps), noodles, broccoli in garlic(?) sauce, spring rolls and a few other dishes (on the salty side though). It was all hot enough too (temperature wise). The waitress Jamie was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. A couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Everyone was ill after our meals I would not recommend eating here Drinks are expensive very Poor quality and not at all value for money

Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining with us and I'm sorry you have had a period of being unwell. It is extremely unlikely that this would be down to anything relating to THE Chinese Buffet as we have strict guidelines set by the FSA which we adhere to around food temperature and... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Love going to the Chinese buffet. All you can eat and with pudding too! Always go to the one in Wigan and its always got great choice of food and very clean. Lovely staff that are always happy to help

Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout201
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us and felt there was a great choice of dishes, thank you for your lovely comments More 

Golborne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

I had not been here, for some time, so decided to have lunch and see the refurbishment as the restaurant was closed for quite a while. The food area had been redesigned and nice but that where it ended. Some starter dishes were empty and what I chose was cold.There wasn't the choice of main courses that they have had... More 

Helpful?
Thank roy45Golborne
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining with us. We pride ourselves in the quality of our dishes and would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining. More 

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$18
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Parking Available, Buffet
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 820277
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant.
Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations.
Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers.

They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards.

THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.

THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Chinese Buffet and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Chinese Buffet staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?