We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (65 reviews)
“fish fingers” (22 reviews)
“sea bass” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 507 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I recently had a meal here with a friend. The food was good but very overpriced. I had battered fish fingers and chips which was nice, however nothing special so did not justify the £16.50. I can think of other places where you would get...More

Thank 18adum
Reviewed 4 days ago

Our friends picked this restaurant as they don't eat meat, my husband was happy as it looked good, we arrived before our friends, we sat at the table was was looking at the menu I'm not a lover of fish so I didn't have much...More

Thank rachel w
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our first visit to the Island, and our first night eating out. Lovely restaurant - with a fantastic choice of starters, mains and deserts. I had the hake, which was delicious. All the dishes were very nicely presented. The staff were friendly, I loved the...More

Thank Juliet R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic plaice great friendly staff and the best fish in town not cheapest but quality for the price you must do this at least once if you come to the island

Thank Tony B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We walked from our hotel, in pouring rain, and found this to be a delightful small restaurant. The welcome was fantastic, the service outstanding and the food was wonderful. Roasted Seabass, beautifully fresh, beautifully cooked beautifully served. It was more than worth the walk in...More

Thank CAMPIEIan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved it here, great interaction with the staff, quality food and the fish pie was something else. Forgot our puddings but, hey they were rushed off their feet as space was rammed and it only needed a quick reminder. Loved it

Thank Christheblueboy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food at Tanroagan is absolutely fantastic and the choice that you have on offer brilliant. Last time, I had the mixed seafood platter and a Hake main which was really tasty. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Isle of Man with...More

1  Thank Chris_8295
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We will be back. The fish board and the crab on toasted ciabatta were both good. Mains we had hake in soy and sea bass battered and fried. Both with chips. All cooked to perfection.

Thank John W
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Ate here on a trip to the isle of man. The food was delicious. I was with friends and we all had fish which is their speciality. It's quite a small restaurant so would recommend booking in advance

Thank Christine G
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Visited with a party of five on a friday night. I can only describe it as "OK, not bad enough to complain but nothing to rave about". The goats cheese starter was odd, and several pounds over priced. Surf and Turf was disappointing - small,...More

Thank fraggledweller
Robin M, Manager at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your review We have taken your points into consideration. Best regards

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Isle of Man
The Claremont Hotel
415 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
663 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
322 reviews
.52 km away
Sefton Hotel
691 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Just Pizza & Pasta
214 reviews
.21 km away
Macfarlanes
259 reviews
.17 km away
Little Fish Cafe
510 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,085 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
742 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
176 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
10 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
7 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
13 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$67
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;