We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (65 reviews)
“fish fingers” (22 reviews)
“sea bass” (25 reviews)
Closes in 9 min
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 120 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

A great little place for seafood in the centre of Douglas, right on the Quay. Nice range of choices. Keep in mind the specials of the day. the fish-pie is very good option. Good portions as well. Recommend it for a nice meal.

Thank EvanKar
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Great food, vibrant atmosphere, small however so would recommend booking, beautifully presented food, delicious and FRESH! Friendly and helpful staff, clean and warm just the ticket on a cold night which it was when we went. Highly recommend

Thank NoelleDunk
Reviewed 27 November 2016

The service here is second to none, the restaurant itself is rather intimate and the staff were genuinely taking an interest

Thank nathanetomlinson
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We visited on a busy Saturday night (you need to book) and were treated to a great meal. We shared queenies to start ( lovely flavoured sauce) and then had pan roast cod and whole seabass (note you get the whole fish, on the bone...More

1  Thank Manxbikeboy
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

The most amazing dinner I have had in a long time. The fish pie was outstanding. Can't recommend it higher.

Thank BigDave146
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Nothing wrong with this at all - a good selection of seafood well cooked, perhaps a litle expensive but not bad value. The only gripe was that the service was a bit slow which was odd given that it was midweek in November with ony...More

Thank BrushM
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We were on a business trip and were looking for a nice seafood restaurant. We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel staff. It is in the North Quay Harbour and is a delightfully quaint restaurant. The restaurant is busy so we were pleased to...More

Thank john h
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Tried most of the restaurants on the harbour and all have been very good but Tanroagan just shaded it for the best meal and service. Nice wine and beer with a good choice of specials. Good sized portions and we didn't feel rushed. Fish stew...More

Thank BathGarry
Reviewed 9 November 2016

You will be asked if you want water at the table. You agree and receive a carafe of chilled still water. On your bill will be included a charge of £3.95 for this. Only after we had paid did we see the carafe being washed...More

Thank Bob C
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your review. If what your claiming is correct then I can only apologise and ask you get in touch for a refund of 3.95. However, if I can provide some explanation about our water products. On being seated we offer our guests...More

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

If the thought of food on the afternoon sailing of Manannan does not fill you with excitement then what about lunch before you go. Lunch is served from 11.30 am therefore plenty of time before the 2.15 pm final check in time. We had a...More

Thank Stuart B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Isle of Man
The Claremont Hotel
415 reviews
.36 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
663 reviews
.45 km away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
323 reviews
.52 km away
Sefton Hotel
691 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Just Pizza & Pasta
214 reviews
.21 km away
Macfarlanes
259 reviews
.17 km away
Little Fish Cafe
510 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Isle of Man Bus and Rail
1,085 reviews
.33 km away
Manx Museum
742 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
176 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
10 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
7 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
13 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$67
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;