We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cat with No Tail Pub

) #105 of 123 Restaurants in Douglas $$ - $$$ , British,
Hailwood Court, Hailwood Avenue, Douglas IM2 7EA
+44 1624 616364
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good21%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible28%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (3 reviews)
“public bar” (2 reviews)
Open Now
00:00 - 23:59All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hailwood Court, Hailwood Avenue, Douglas IM2 7EA
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Well I tried the Steak and Ale pie bit disappointed with it really small size and Instant mash and a few veg all 4 £11 bit overpriced for what u got no real spuds My friends had different that was not 2 bad will need...More

Thank ian Q
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here today for lunch which was very tasty and was served up in good time despite the pub being quite busy. The pub is very light and airy after the refurbishment and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be going back.

Thank vikingsIsleofMan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off here during the TT and it was expectedly rammed. But none the less we found a table and ordered our food and drinks. The good was tasty and food and drinks a fair price. Good pub grub and friendly staff. Best meal of...More

Thank Laura B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

14 people, 1 sent back meal, 3 had pie all disliked, 2 chicken schnitzel both said dry and poor, daughter had kids pizza she disliked and said it was too small and no side, I had adult pizza was horrible didn't eat most of it,...More

Thank jpmc199
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Cat with No Tail Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this well established pub for lunch with my family.Fairly new Management Team here,but Manager well known from other pubs locally.Recently refurbished and on top of the game,.Good food from a wide ranging menu.Friendly staff,prompt,good service and great food well presented.Lge Cod was excellent,Burgers outstanding.All...More

Thank John C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a poor experience, understand it has just changed management they really need to up their game. We were served a pie that you could see was dried up when it arrived , ribs that were dried up also we complained the waitress had a...More

Thank pettitejac4
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Cat with No Tail Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My observations are only on the Public Bar .My first impressions were the same boring repetitive paint and the same wood effect flooring which makes the place echo. You can't have a conversation as the noise from other people's conversations echo around the place ....More

2  Thank duncandouglas
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Cat with No Tail Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you feel this way towards The Cat with No Tail. Whilst updating the pub, we were keen to retain the essential character and history of The...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017

Was looking forward to going out for a Father's Day meal was met with a frosty reception even though we had booked our table. Service of female staff very poor. They come over as extremely rude and very unhelpful. Upon ordering our meal at the...More

1  Thank Wilma2929
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Cat with No Tail Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

So nice to at last have the Cat refurbished much nicer atmosphere in the pub, the food looks good even though I have not eaten there yet and the new landlord is a big improvement ...however a few points, at long last you have sorted...More

Thank IsleOfManJenny
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Cat with No Tail Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for your kind words regarding our refurbishment. We appreciate all feedback and take it very seriously. We chose not to replace the hand dryers as they are perfectly functioning and were only...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We are here twice during our stay at the nearby campsite (Glen Dhoo) which was a 10/15 minute walk away. The pub was serving food for the first time since it was refurbished. It was busy but we managed to find a table & ordered...More

Thank Andy S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Tea Junction
472 reviews
2.88 km away
Fryers Fish and Chips
50 reviews
1.53 km away
New Manila
236 reviews
1.71 km away
Jaks Bar & Steak House
814 reviews
2.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Green Wheelers Electric Bike Co
37 reviews
2.62 km away
Pedego Isle of Man
5 reviews
2.67 km away
Manx Museum
645 reviews
2.74 km away
Home of Rest of Old Horses
193 reviews
5.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Robocop U
10 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michael W | Reviewed this property |
I didn't see any in there but if the weather is good there is a garden.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 23:59
Monday
00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday
00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday
00:00 - 23:59
Thursday
00:00 - 23:59
Friday
00:00 - 23:59
Saturday
00:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hailwood Court, Hailwood Avenue, Douglas IM2 7EA
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 616364
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing