We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Caulkheads

$$ - $$$, British,
42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
+44 1983 405080
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good34%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (15 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I booked here as it advertised an indoor play area. This was pretty poor as the ‘ball pool’ area was lacking balls! The area is quite small and not great. Positives are the films that kiddies can watch when wearing headphones. The...More

Thank suzitsangari
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear suzitsangari, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, following your most recent visit. In regards to the "ball pool", this is an error in signage, however we hope the activities we had to offer compensated for this mistake. We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food, well cooked and quick. Very good. Friendly staff and good service. Would recommend. Lots of choice on the menu.

Thank Lolaandrews
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lolaandrews, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, following your most recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were unhelpful, coffee was cold, asked for hot water for my twin boys bottles gave me to cups of hot water. I asked if there was a jug of hot water and the staff said no it was ridiculous so unhelpfulMore

Thank Alison M
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Alison M, I am sorry to hear that you received poor customer service when visiting our pub. This is not how our team are trained and I am disappointed to hear this has happened. We do offer facilities in house for customers to use,...More

Reviewed 1 March 2018

Well worth a visit. Good food nice family atmosphere. Big variety and. You can tag your dog along! Value for money. I don't know what it is but why is it that the lighting in the restaurant is poor could've should've move to a table...More

1  Thank g0ingn0wheresl0wly
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear g0ingn0wheresl0wly, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to us. I am pleased to hear you had a good experience and enjoyed the food on offer. I am sorry to hear that the lighting let us down...More

Reviewed 28 February 2018

This place was one of several recommended by our National Holidays driver so Diane & I looked it up (it's close by our hotel). We declined to eat having reviewed the very expensive menu and seen the fare offered to other Customers which we felt...More

Thank Bruce H
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Bruce H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am sorry to hear that you found our prices high on our menu. We often have great feedback on our meals, so I am sorry you didn't experience this...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018

Had a short weekend break and ate here twice, both times I was impressed with the staff and food, nice atmosphere and clean and tidy. Would eat here again with no reservation.

Thank joeski39
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind review of our pub. I am glad we lived up to expectations on both of your visits and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited this place for dinner with our 6-month old daughter. We were nicely seated not far from the fireplace. It was cosy and enjoyable. Food was freshly and well cooked. Good value for money. We recommend this place.

Thank Kathie750
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 17 February 2018

A lovely pace to pass the time away the food choice is really good with plenty choice, the prices are resonable

Thank laura186394
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your review. we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Exceptionally good food, reasonable price and area for the niece to run around fitting the short wait for food.

Thank Ryan G
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We ate here today (23/12/17) as a table of 6. The prices are really good and the service is friendly. There was a DJ on playing some good music so also a good atmosphere! I had the Spanish meatballs off of the specials board which...More

Thank RhinoKellie
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Hi, and thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the food. we hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 116 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Wight
756 reviews
.15 km away
The Burlington Hotel
383 reviews
.19 km away
Marina Bay Hotel
319 reviews
.20 km away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
255 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bellamy's Bistro
613 reviews
.43 km away
The Bandstand
528 reviews
.30 km away
The Reef
748 reviews
.38 km away
Legends
362 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Yaverland Beach
181 reviews
1.13 km away
Steve's Beach
71 reviews
.31 km away
Isle of Wight Zoo
2,198 reviews
.79 km away
Dinosaur Isle
783 reviews
.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RhinoKellie
15 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mic L | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about inside the pub/restaurant as we didn't have a dog with us or indeed remember seeing a dog in the pub whilst we were there. They have a very big garden where I am sure well behaved dogs would be allowed but if... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 405080
  • E-mail
Description
PLEASE NOTE – On Sunday 14th January 2018 we shall be closing for a short time whilst we carry out some improvements. Don't worry, we’ll be returning on Friday 26th January at 5pm. Watch this space for information… Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle (weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing