We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Sponsored by: The Royal Oak

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. 5 stars
1. 5 stars
"Had the best meal ever."
T7560DHsimonl
See reviews that mention 5 stars
2. Oh yes Royal Oak 👌
2. Oh yes Royal Oak 👌
"every meal was cooked to perfection"
471huwj
See reviews that mention Oh yes Royal Oak 👌
3. Great relaxing meal and drinks
3. Great relaxing meal and drinks
"Excellent food . Excellent beer and excellent Cider"
patrick w
See reviews that mention Great relaxing meal and drinks
About
A modern British pub steeped in Welsh heritage, est. 1837. From fresh seafood to favourite pub foods, we serve excellent food made from the finest seasonal produce. A hearty meal in a relaxed and welcoming setting, seconds from the harbourfront and beaches. Perfect for families and children! Food is served from 12pm until 2pm, then 5pm until 8.45pm every day. Four-legged friends are very welcome on our patio.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
152
21
8
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
152
21
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster nacho starter surf and turf chicken supreme cheesy garlic bread local seafood sea bass fillet steaks tiger prawns curries lemon sole fresh fish burger cheesecake potatoes fries curry night
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Last minute booking and we’re lucky to get in. Only had main meals because we had youngsters with us with a need to sleep. However, meals were delivered promptly and were all delicious. We ordered a range of meals and we were all delighted with...portion sizes and the taste of each. The stars were, however, the Mussels and the Steak and Lobster which were absolutely deliciousMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We haven’t been to Saundersfoot before and booked the Royal Oak for an early Evening meal. The inside of the pub is spotless and the covid regulations were kept religiously. It was cosy and the decor was really pleasing to the eye. Very well done...throughout the restaurant part we were in. The menu is fresh and varied. The fish and seafood selection looked superb. I went for the chicken supreme, which was really tasty with beautiful fresh chicken with chorizo ,peppers and potatoes in sauce. My daughter had the Hake special, which was delicious. My husband had Gammon And the grandson had fresh chicken nuggets ,which he soon devoured. We were too full for desserts, but I was told they were all homemade on the premises. We were greeted by the waitress, who was very friendly and polite. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend it for the food and the drinks.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?4  
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Absolutely stunning food 10/10 really friendly staff good atmosphere and a cracking pint of mahou and most probably the best cheesy garlic bread I’ve ever had 👌

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Food was ok but about half the size of the steak next door at the Harbwr View so l left still feeling hungry. I'm not a fan of wooden boards to eat from and much prefer proper plates. Service is friendly but amatuer. Old worlde...kind of pub where nothing seems 100% clean so not to my taste. Overall ok but nothing special whereas the Harbwr View is.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to oak on music weekend Bar outside was so quick to serve and a helpful waiter said we could have a table after show All 4 of us had surf and turf. Sublime. Love the place. Love the atmosphere Will be back every time...I can Well done oak!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I regularly visit Saundersfoot and the Royal Oak is the only place to eat! Visited on the weekend and my rare steak was cooked to perfection! One of the best steaks I’ve ever had! It’s a must visit. Place was amazing considering all going on!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took family of 4 here. Had a fantastic meal. Staff couldn’t be more helpful. Food was fresh, homely and delicious. Large selection of meals and drinks available. Lovely atmosphere. Will defo be back.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for the 3rd time after previous good experiences. Ordered from specials only to be served something we hadn't ordered. Turns out the specials on the board hadn't been updated in weeks. Such as shame as fish cooked well but not the meal we ordered....Took forever to get the manager who promised to wipe the bill, I went up to see if we owed anything only to be charged for one of the meals. Waiter also didn't havea clue when we asked what the meal was and said "some kind of fancy chef stuff"... real shame as good quality Inradients and chef knows what he is doing. Won't be coming back thoMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?2  
byronlloyd, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi James, we're really sorry and surprised to hear about your experience and would like to find out more. Please could you send us an email to royaloaksaundersfoot@gmail.com with the time and date of your visit? Many thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our table was full of sticky beer stains from glasses and the waiter didn't seem to want to wipe it when I asked saying it wouldn't come off, it did. Waiting time was ridiculously long for food. considering hardly anyone there. The crab bisque tasted...disgusting and I sent it back, it was nothing like crab bisque, (I have made it myself and eaten it in other restaurants where it was delicious, but not here), watery with no cream and no crab just a vile taste. I didn't have an exchange starter as the waiting time for the bisque had been so long. The waitresses attitude was very poor not trying to help at all. I ate some of my battered cod then quickly stopped eating having to pull large bones like sewing needles from my mouth! I was so lucky one didn't stick in my throat. There was only one other couple in the area we were in and the lady sent her Thai Cod back saying it was full of sugar. She asked to see the menu to choose something else but the waiter said she couldn't as the chef had gone home. This was about 9pm! A young man working there did apologise for what had taken place and refunded the money for the bisques. I do hope the owner of this establishment reads my review and sorts the problem with the food out. Cod in batter should never ever have large bones in it, it should be filleted. Someone may end up in A&E eating cod in batter here, it is that serious.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
byronlloyd, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Marianne, thank you for your review. We're deeply sorry to hear about this and would like to investigate further. Please could you send us an email to royaloaksaundersfoot@gmail.com with the time and date of your visit? Kind regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived, asked for a menu, was asked where we were sitting (outside) and advised someone would come and take our order Four staff on duty, about a doz customers inside/outside. After 20 mins of being ignored by all staff, we advised we would not be...staying, young lad just shrugged at us. Welsh hospitality at its worst. Maybe just an off day?More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
374 reviews
.14 km away
St Brides Spa Hotel
1,635 reviews
.35 km away
Merlewood Hotel
204 reviews
.39 km away
Cwmwennol Country House
189 reviews
1.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Stone Crab
527 reviews
.17 km away
Cwlbox
119 reviews
.17 km away
Harbwr Bar & Kitchen
890 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saundersfoot Beach
222 reviews
.21 km away
Ebony May Saundersfoot Charter Boat
60 reviews
.17 km away
Saundersfoot Sea Safari
62 reviews
.17 km away
Saundersfoot Harbour
161 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue D
4 September 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 432karenwilliamsw | Reviewed this property |
I would think it would be, their menu is very good too.
0
Votes
Foxy0711
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dai A | Reviewed this property |
Plus 4 steps from the pavement into the pub.
1
Vote
Holidayheaven1017
10 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dai A | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there was a dog there when we visited, I recall making a fuss of it (as i do with all dogs I meet).
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak

Yes, The Royal Oak offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Royal Oak is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Royal Oak is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5