We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Swan

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
+44 1751 472288
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 409: English reviews
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely old cosy pub. The food was superb. Staff fairly efficient not kept waiting too long though they did seem to leave bar unattended occasionally but I think they may have had to deal with the reception desk as well so be patient if no one there when you go in - the food is well worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank josephinec991
Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in here for evening meal on 18th April and although the staff were very friendly, the meal was a disappointment. The soup was as a starter was quite nice but there it stopped.Fish over cooked and leathery, my husband ordered Belly Pork, which was OK but wouldn't have it again, shame it spoilt our evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank denny4920
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I can't comment on drinks, food etc as we didn't get further than the front door. We had gone in on Easter Sunday lunchtime to ask if we could have a drink (me and my husband, two children plus dog). We can understand of course that the place would be busy on such a day. What flummoxed us was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
replyman, Manager at White Swan, responded to this review

Good afternoon Karen, Firstly i would like to sincerely apologise on behalf of us all here at the white swan for the response you had from one of our team on Sunday. This is not the usual attitude of our team, we always attempt to go out of way to ensure our guests and customers feel welcome and leave happy.... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food served in this restaurant is very nice and the staff are very attentive. The restaurant could do with building a little bit more ambience and food prices should reflect the quality a little more - a tad on the expensive side for my liking, especially the starters

Helpful?
Thank MarkAllan1971
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, which we're happy to take on board. Thank you also for your comments about how nice our food is and how attentive our staff our. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very good meal here during our three night stay in Pickering. We enjoyed it so much, that we returned the following evening. The fish and chips, the sea bass and the chicken dish were excellent and there was a good Wifi connection. We are hoping to make a return visit to Pickering, when we will certainly be... More 

Helpful?
Thank annegT5249SE
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for such great comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to The White Swan Inn. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal here and it catered to diverse tastes including a vegetarian and a lactose intolerant customer. The food was beautiful and seasonal and very well cooked. I would be very happy to dine here again.

Helpful?
Thank Annaosha
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant & rest rooms are all on one floor with a step from the car park at the rear. The Bar is at the front and is split in to two rooms, where you could have lunch or afternoon tea or just a drink, but from here there are a half flight of steps to the rest rooms. Service... More 

Helpful?
Thank J S
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Very much appreciated. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for a bite to eat after a day on the NYMR. To be honest I'm still here with a pint of Tim Taylor's and using their WIFI, well why not. When I look at a menu and think I want one of everything, then that's a good place to start from. We both had the White Swan burger,... More 

Helpful?
Thank PFB1971
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for such a great review. Very much appreciated. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lunchtime, main menu. Roast beef is a beef salad, which arrived with someone's hair in it. My partner had a reasonable vegetarian option. At the end, just us and one couple in the restaurant. 20 mins, no offer of dessert menu, coffee or otherwise. We paid, we went. That was very odd indeed.

Helpful?
1 Thank amberlight9
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

A sincere apology. This is not the usual experience of our guests. We always attempt to go out of way to ensure our guests and customers feel welcome and leave happy. I hope that your experience doesn't put you off returning to The White Swan Inn. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here recently, whilst visiting the area. The White Swan is a popular hotel and its restaurant was quite busy (we had reserved a table). Service was friendly and attentive, and all our food was nicely presented and tasted delicious. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
replyman, Owner at White Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind recommendation. Great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Regards, Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk More 

Travellers who viewed White Swan also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$74
Cuisine
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Pickering
  • Phone Number: +44 1751 472288
Description
The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White Swan and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?