We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
+44 1429 266166
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 14:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 13:45
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 823: English reviews
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Once again we went for Sunday lunch and it was every bit as good as it always is. We had the roast lamb and it was cooked to a turn. Plenty of fresh vegetables, roast and mashed potatoes, 2 Yorkshire puddings which were nice and crispy and well risen plus the rather tasty gravy. For desert I had Krimos chocolate... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Dot D
Hartlepool
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The setting is fun and unexpected Service was attentive and polite Food was good Atmpherr was relaxed Price was very reasonable

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Vickypayne007
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Food was good lunch time visit with grandchildren the service was a bit slow however when the pizzas arrived they were really nice

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Carol W
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Carol W, Thank you very much for reviewing Portofino. I am sorry that you found the service a bit slow. It is usually adequate but on this occasion we may have been busy. I am happy the pizzas were really nice when they arrived. See you again very soon. Krimo More 

Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As usual thoroughly enjoyed our evening st portofinos it always has a lovely atmosphere and welcoming a great place to enjoy a varied menu with something to suit everyone's taste buds 👍🎉👍

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Marion R
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Marion R, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that you find that Portofino is a great place to enjoy a varied menu with something to suit everyone's taste buds. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I ordered the lunch time special, had prawns for starter that was nice and had the Kiev pizza for main, the pizza was nice until I got to the middle part the bottom was soggy and raw. Not what I expected prom this place but I hope it was a one off, as I will try them again.

Helpful?
Thank Christy p
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Christy p, Thank you very much for your review. I am really sad that you were disappointed with your pizza. It should definitely not have been soggy in the middle. We pride ourselves in making a crispy dough but on this occasion, the pizza should have been baked a touch longer. Thank you for promising to try us again... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This very popular restaurant is a family friendly place that serves great food at good value prices. I was impressed to see the owner walking around the restaurant engaging with the customers, great to see!

Helpful?
Thank captainadamreith
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear captainadamreith, Thank very much for taking the time to review Portofino. I am really pleased that you enjoy your visits to our restaurant. I not only try to get direct feedback from diners about our food and service but I really enjoy talking to them. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo More 

Hartlepool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been to Portifinos several times now and never been disappointed Service was a bit slow but this was due to the amount of people in there Food was excellent Staff can't do enough for you and can't wait for my next visit

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Stephen W, Thank you very much for a great review. I am really happy that you have been to Portofino several times now and never been disappointed. See you again very soon. Krimo More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We always have a lovely meal every time we visit. Weve tried a number of different meals from the menu. Service very good with polite waiters/waitress'.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Mary R
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am really delighted that you always have a lovely meal every time you visit Portofino and that you enjoy the service. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good food, good price, good atmosphere. Never had a bad experience and have visited a fair few times

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Q7236SDsamm
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear Q7236SDsamm, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you've never had a bad experience in all the times you have been to Portofino. See you again very soon. Krimo More 

hartlepool
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You know what you're going to get at Portfinos. Good food at reasonable prices. Been going there for fifteen years and not had a bad meal yet.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 546ronnie
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review

Dear 546ronnie, Thank you very much for reviewing Portofino. I am really pleased that you have been coming for the last 15 years and never have had a bad meal. May it continue! See you again very soon. Krimo More 

Travellers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Hartlepool, Durham
Hartlepool, Durham
 
Hartlepool, Durham
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, British, Soups, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 13:45
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 13:45
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 13:45
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 13:45
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 13:45
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Hartlepool
  • Phone Number: +44 1429 266166
Description
Portofino is a bistro-pizzeria on the Historic Quay. It overlooks Hartlepool's most famous attraction, HMS Trincomalee. Surrounded by free car parks, it is the ideal venue for lazy lunchtimes, fast teatime treats and party nights.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Portofino and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Billingham, United Kingdom
7 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Portofino staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?