We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino

The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
+44 1429 266166
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (64 reviews)
“potato skins” (41 reviews)
“greek salad” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Portofino is a delight. Lovely food, great staff and venue that feels relaxed, comfortable but special at the same time.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank susan w
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear susan w, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that you always enjoyed your visits to Portofino. See you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I think this was the 3rd or 4th year in a row coming here for my birthday, it’s my favourite restaurant alongside Casa Del Mar which we were also at just after Xmas. Tonight were seated straight away and seen to promptly. All staff were...More

Thank hol_loverDarlington
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear hol_loverDarlington, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your latest visit to Portofino. I apologise for your disappointment with the drinks service and agree totally that it is not acceptable that you weren't served the drinks you had ordered. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous meal on new years eve......everything was perfect! Can't wait to go back!! Highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank maxmot
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear maxmot, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal on New Year's Eve. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant as always, food superb and well looked after, attended a few times over the holidays with family and friends always constantly enjoyable

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Elaine Gooding
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elaine, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas staff night out. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

Always pleasant staff and good service, the food is always excellent, have had no bad experiences here at all, and we have been countless times, very good range and choice on the menu. No need to book. Would recommend to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank William C
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear William C, Thank you very much for a great review. I am really happy that you are a regular of Portofino's and that you are able to recommend us to anyone. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have been visiting this restaurant on a regular basis since our daughter was born almost 6years ago. The staff are always friendly and the food is always top notch. I constantly recommend it to family and friends. 👍🏻

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank windy3481
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear windy3481, Thank you very much for a great review. I am really pleased that you are a regular of ours and that you constantly recommend us to others. See you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited Portofino on the hartlepool marina the food was exellent as usual service exellent atmosphere exellent

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 681dia
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 681dia, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really happy you enjoyed your visit to Portofino. See you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a spare hour and nothing in for Dinner so we went for a evening meal, we both stopped for the pate for starters which was top drawer, good size portion, washed it down with a lovely freezing cold pint of lager. Mains i went...More

Thank DWF41
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DWF41, Thank you very much for a lovely and thorough review. I am really delighted that you enjoyed our well-oiled Portofino. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to go to Portofinos again for Sunday Lunch and we weren't disappointed. Excellent value for money for well cooked, good produce. I must admit that I have never been disappointed yet. We had the set 2 course meal. The mushroom soup for starters...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Dot D
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dot D, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. I am really happy that you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch and that you found it good value. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening beginning of December. We saw reviews on TripAdvisor so decided to try it . It is quite hard to find but was well worth it The food was very reasonable and absolutely delicious The service was also excellent and would...More

Thank June G
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear June G, Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am really pleased that you managed to find us and that your visit was worth it. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Hartlepool
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
398 reviews
.34 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
906 reviews
.37 km away
Hillcarter Hotel
139 reviews
.51 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel
502 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sambuca
634 reviews
.46 km away
The Conservatory
374 reviews
.54 km away
Baan Thai Restaurant
193 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
HMS Trincomalee
619 reviews
.03 km away
National Museum of the Royal Navy Hartlepool
431 reviews
.04 km away
Museum of Hartlepool
245 reviews
.40 km away
Hartlepool Quay
260 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jackslater1
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Noel_Stamp | Property representative |
Unfortunately dogs are not allowed unless they are guide dogs. Kind regards Noel
0
Votes
brendaoxtoby
26 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Krimos | Property representative |
Yes, we do. Happy hour from 5 to 6.30. Check our website.
0
Votes
Bowlswidow
15 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Krimos | Property representative |
No, there isn't one, I'm afraid. Krimo
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Hartlepool
  • Phone Number: +44 1429 266166
  • E-mail
Description
Portofino is a bistro-pizzeria on the Historic Quay. It overlooks Hartlepool's most famous attraction, HMS Trincomalee. Surrounded by free car parks, it is the ideal venue for lazy lunchtimes, fast teatime treats and party nights.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing