We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock and Pheasant

Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
+44 1625 573289
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“ham hock” (5 reviews)
“trifle” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

This is one of my local restaurants that I visit often. This is a chain restaurant and the quality of the food is always good. I have just been for their festival menu and it did not disappoint. The staff are very friendly, approachable and...More

2  Thank dnm1
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived after booking a table for guests I had arriving that evening. Told only 7.45available. Too late really as had 10 year old with us. Waited 5 minutes at bar to be told ‘ be with you in a minute’ . Lady walked up beside...More

2  Thank Karen G
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Karen, Firstly let me apologise if the service you received during your visit was below our usual high standard. We pride ourselves on exceptional guest service which you will see from many of the other reviews. If you would like to discuss your visit...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff all exceptionally cheerful, smiling with a can do attitude. Seems to be a very well run place by Bruce the manager and his team with a great atmosphere and very well organised. We were all very impressed at our table. Even when really busy...More

2  Thank Paul S
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Paul, Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cock & Pheasant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, atmosphere and staff. Very accommodating of a group of 16 adults and 8 6 month old babies. Would definitely go there again.

Thank Gizmodoodle
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi There, Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Cock & Pheasant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant looking for somewhere to have an evening meal. The pub itself has a lovely relaxed feel, a wide selection of drinks (even for my teetotal partner, who often has to resort to coke or water, but was delighted to find...More

Thank Jennifer D
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Jennifer, I am very pleased to receive such a great review - thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and that we had something to suit you and your partner - we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Just a brief visit but the soup was delicious Lovely older world atmosphere The armchairs were so comfortable we would have loved to have taken one home Owner away but girls doing a good job .

Thank Trisha128
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Trisha, Thank you for the great review, Glad to hear the team were doing a great job and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for a Saturday evening last minute for 5 of us. We were greeted promptly and as we were celebrating a birthday we had a voucher for a free bottle of prosecco! Which went down a treat! We have signed up to...More

Thank sportywoman123
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi There, Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Well it started off really well. We were asked whether we'd like to sit somewhere quiet or with atmosphere, which was lovely. The guy who seated us was lovely and very welcoming but unfortunately he must have left or been busy and then it went...More

3  Thank sassyNorthWest
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi There We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant. It sounds like your visit has fallen way below our usual standards as we pride ourselves on guest service. I hope you will give us a...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

New to the area and came across this pub in bollington. Set in a lovely location and the menu sounded lovely. However the food and service was a disappointed. We had the roast and the sirloin steak. The roast dinner was tiny (two small thin...More

2  Thank Cathaycox
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi there, We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant. It sounds like your visit has fallen way below our usual standards as we pride ourselves on guest service - I can assure you that if...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I regularly come here to meet with friends before going on to local attractions and walks. The food is always tasty, well presented and good portions. The pub itself is spacious and has lots of different seating areas. The staff are very friendly and always...More

Thank Lindsey B
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Lindsey Thanks for the 5 star review - it's great to know you are a regular customer and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Clyde
271 reviews
.79 km away
The Vale Inn
218 reviews
1.45 km away
Butley Ash
509 reviews
1.27 km away
Olivae Pizza
8 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
White Nancy
58 reviews
1.91 km away
St Peter's Church
19 reviews
2.00 km away
Shrigley Hall Golf Course
95 reviews
3.57 km away
The Poachers Inn
23 reviews
2.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
honestyrules
13 September 2015|
Answer
Response from General Manager D | Property representative |
Yes we do cater for intolerance and allergies. We have extensive allergen menu's, just ask one of our friendly team.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 573289
  • E-mail
Description
Cock & Pheasant in Macclesfield is a country pub oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing