We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
+44 1625 573289
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Met up with the in-laws for a meal on the 23rd March 2017. As we were the ones late to.mert we sat down on the round table near the window which is situated next to an alcove like walk through to the next room. Seating wasn't too bad but is a jumble to move round the table. The tables were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello Victoria, We are really pleased that you were impressed with the service provided to you!! Apologies for the tough chicken... The hunters chicken is one of our most popular dishes! We hope to see you all again soon in which I'm sure we will be able to find just as nice a table for you in which you won't... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We poppped in for a Sunday lunch (without booking) yesterday and were warmly welcomed by the staff. We had a lovely Sunday roast, I had the Beef Duo..... Highly recommend! The staff were all smiling and nothing was too much trouble. With not booking we thought that we wouldn't be able to get a table or the service wouldn't be... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellanewton
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello ellanewton , We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. The Cock and Pheasant team More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We met our family here as it is approximately mid distance between where they live (Warrington) and where we live (Matlock) . This was a pre Mothers Day treat as we can't get together next weekend. There was my husband and I and then my son, his wife and daughter and mother in law. We pre booked and were given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carbriggs
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello Carbriggs, We are really pleased that you chose the Cock and Pheasant for your pre mother's day! Thank you for recognising the hard work of our team members! We pride ourselves in our food and service. We hope you will return in the future, in which I am sure that your coffees will arrive with your deserts! We will... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for Sunday lunch as a large party and had a lovely Sunday roast, the waiting on staff were excellent as nothing was to much trouble, and I would fully recommend anyone to visit which as a very good menu to choose from

Helpful?
Thank SWH1962
General Manager D, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello SWH1962, We are delighted that you had a lovely experience with us! We pride ourselves on our Sunday roasts and we hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Ella More 

Ambleside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very average experience. My steak was not medium rare as requested but well done. The fish was dry. The beef pie was proclaimed good and the vegetarian bean dish praised. The atmosphere was pleasant and the decor welcoming. No doubt we will go back but they will have to do better next time or that will be it until... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveAmbleside
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello Steve, We apologise that you had an average experience with us, and hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves. We hope that next time you visit you are pleasantly surprised with your choice of food. Next time you are in please let us know and Bruce, the new General Manager, will come and say hello.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in for a couple of drinks but stayed a while longer due to the lovely atmosphere, very tasty bar snacks accompanied refreshing ales.

Helpful?
Thank wodup
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello, We are pleased to know that our lovely atmosphere allowed you to stay for a little while longer! We hope to see you again soon! Many Thanks The Cock and Pheasant team More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've eaten here several times in the last couple of months and everything I've had has been perfectly cooked and presented beautifully! The menu has just changed and the battered pineapple and cheese skewers are to die for!! Prices are reasonable too. The pub itself is warm and welcoming and the staff are very friendly, lots of different seating areas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello Lindsey B, We really appreciate your feedback to our great local establishment! We hope that you will visit us again soon! We reccomend the sharing platter to begin with if you can manage sharing! Lots of delicious items, thoroughly enjoyable for all! See you soon! The Cock and Pheasant team More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three visits to The Cock and Pheasant – and all thoroughly enjoyable. Good, reasonably priced food and great service. Since Vintage Inns took over the place has been transformed. We used to be regulars ten or so years ago – before it went into terminal decline. It's risen like a phoenix from the ashes.

Helpful?
Thank harleyg98
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello harleyg98, We are glad that you have returned to us! We really hope that we can exceed your expectations in the future! See you soon. The Cock and Pheasant team More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a meal on Sat 25th feb evening.. It was super, no complaints about the food or the service. Although I had to go to the bar to get a menu and prompt the servers that I needed to order and to have a drink. Then I returned 12 hours later (Sunday lunch) and wondered whether I was in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David A
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello David, The two different experiences that you have had can not be excused. We apologise for the Sunday service that you have experienced however hope that you will return based on the Saturday night, as we would like for all experiences to be enjoyable. Many Thanks for your feedback, Ella Guest Relations Manager More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible. Food had to be sent back twice!! 9 family members and only 1 edible meal. What should have been an amazing evening celebrating a golden wedding anniversary ended up ruined. Most things on the menu were unavailable. That was at 7:30 pm. Service was slower than a slow thing. We will never be eating here again. It has gone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cannon2000
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this review

Hello cannon2000, We can only apologise for the experience that you have had. Bruce has spoken to a few members of your party and we do hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks, Ella Guest Relations Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Cock and Pheasant also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Bollington, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Cock and Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 573289
Description
Cock & Pheasant in Macclesfield is a country pub oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cock and Pheasant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
macclesfield
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cock and Pheasant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?