We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pier House

Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
+44 1237 477777
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (28 reviews)
Opens in 24 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Family memories were made here among the caravans in the 1960s. The Pier House has unmatched views of the bay, and reliable food. Crucially, there is a good deal of parking. Walk down the esplanade to get your Hockings ice cream. Take a wind cheater;...More

Thank MrsRehoboth
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Been twice had steak not nice.Second tome fish & chips.Fish very greasy chips hard.I cook for a living myself.For the price we paid wasn't acceptable.No check back which is a must.Wont b coming back.Shame lovely place lovely location

1  Thank sadie2012
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We are local to north devon and eat hear on a warm sunny day when you can sit outside and enjoy the outstanding view. We also eat inside sometimes - dogs are welcome outside and in the bar area. It is always clean with friendly...More

Thank Clare M
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

One of the best places to eat in north Devon you will have to book in advance as can get very busy .. loads to choose from on the menu .. the view is fantastic out into the Atlantic ocean .. great place to eat...More

Thank Brett-lara S
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pier House is a lovely restaurant and bar which enjoys a beautiful view of the beach and rock pools at Westward Ho. There is a lovely 2 level decking outside, which was so comfortable to sit in the sun just enjoying a drink. We...More

Thank PPPPPeterr
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was delicious, we both had steak which was cooked perfectly & beautifully presented. Waiters really attentive & offered a great level of customer service. But its the view that makes this place! Will definitely be back again & can highly recommend.

Thank muppetchef
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the pier house for a meal whilst having a short break in Westward Ho! Mixed reviews on trip advisor but decided to give it a go. Didn't book a table, thinking that it was a Tuesday and the weather was wet and miserable. When...More

Thank sabrinasilom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good food, not too badly priced Good service and if you get a window seat great view. The down side is the ridiculously priced drinks. No beer under £3.90. Shameful rip off.

Thank Paul S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here 3 times in a week. First 2 times sat outside. Beautiful location. The food was plentiful and very tasty. Service was good and staff polite and friendly. On our last night went back for meal with our family and had to sit inside...More

1  Thank carol b
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

So sorry to hear of your recent disappointing visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed your first two visits with us but it's a shame they were let down by misbehaved dogs. We hope you return again soon. Many thanks, Josh Davies.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant is in a lovely location. There was a good choice on the menu. Food was good but service was slow and we had quite a long wait between each course. Staff were apologetic for the wait and were generally very helpful and friendly....More

Thank garethcollinson72
Braddicks, Restaurant Manager at The Pier House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that there was a long wait between courses on your recent visit with us, I'm glad my team made sure you were looked after during this time. I can only apologise for the long wait and further investigate to find out the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tea on the Green
661 reviews
.70 km away
Moran's Restaurant & Bar
1,129 reviews
.70 km away
Rock Pool Cafe
407 reviews
.69 km away
Country Cousins
542 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
The North Devon Surf School
275 reviews
1.02 km away
Westward Ho Beach
902 reviews
.82 km away
Royal North Devon Golf Club
49 reviews
1.23 km away
The Beach Shop
13 reviews
.83 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Gleneve K
What is on the menu at lunch time m e
23 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from LittleHungryMouse | Reviewed this property |
I have been here on a Sunday lunchtime and they had the normal menu and the carvery (I guess the carvery is just for Sunday though). I would probably say that they would have the normal menu, but it is best if you call them... More
0
Votes
Luke D
Do you cater for vegans please
18 January 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Isgoodereinit | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, not sure, but if you give them a call, I'm sure they could advise.
0
Votes
Jaybeebrickwork
When i purchased a Prawn cocktail , on sunday , it was lovely, but why was it served with a beau wa roll , but only a soup spoon to eat it ?, k was alone on the top deck , and didnt want to cause a fuss ?, boooo
10 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Jannerbloke |
Do you have disabled access? Do you have free wifi? Do you allow children and or well behaved dogs? What are your opening days and hours? Do you bake all your own food? Do you take part in the 'suspended coffee... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Merley Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Torridge  >  Bideford  >  Westward Ho
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 477777
  • E-mail