We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shepherds rest

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Straik road, Westhill, Aberdeen, Scotland
+44 1224 740208
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, good service and excellent food. Very large portions. The large haddock was enormous!

Helpful?
Thank 173porterc
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear 173porterc, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience and in particular the large haddock! We hope we will see you back again sometime soon! Many Thanks, The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently visited as a family for a Sunday evening meal. The lack of anyone in attendance at the reception, in spite of staff walking past, set the tone. We ordered starters which arrived at best look-warm. We then attempted to order "roast of the day" to be told there was only beef available out of the 3 options. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank 410alastairs
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear 410alastairs, Firstly I would like to apologise for the bad experience you had with us on Sunday. We were extremely busy all day and had a lot of large bookings throughout the day. Due to this there was a longer wait on food and a number of dishes missing from the menu as we had been so busy throughout... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely surrounding, staff very welcoming and service was very good. Will go back. One persons fish was overlooked but rest was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank dianarQ4118LF
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear DianarQ4118LF, Thank you for your kind words about your experience here with us at the Shepherd's Rest. I would like to apologise that the fish was not up to standards and we hope you will be back again soon to give us a chance to rectify the last expierence. Hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks, The Team... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here with a group of friends at Hogmannay and we have a really good meal. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered which was served piping hot - we only had one criticism in that there was far too much food on the plate ! Really the helpings they gave us would have fed 3 people easily - so easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jens23
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear Jens23, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the kind words about the food, staff and the service you received and we are delighted that you enjoyed your night with us. We hope to see you coming back to see us this year! Many Thanks, The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Westhill, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent local resturant within driving distance of aberdeen - good local pub and resturant with a friendly atmosphere

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank andrewpR3382XI
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear AndrewpR3382XI, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall expierence here at the Shepherd's Rest. We hope to see you back again sometime soon! Many Thanks, The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a nice meal at affordable price, in a nice atmosphere. This place has improved and is again worth a visit.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank johncU7437WZ
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear JohncU7437WZ, Thank you for leaving your positive feedback. Thank you for your kind words about the food and your overall experience. We are glad to see you have noticed how hard the staff have been working to help increase our reputation. We hope to see you again soon! The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Braemar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in here after shopping ... it is open all day, so arriving at 3.30p.m was no problem. A great menu was on offer. I had the steak pie which was delicious and my husband chose the curry, which came with extra goodies which was not mentioned on the menu ... bonus !. The prices were very reasonable too. There... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank carolmac28
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear Carolmac28 Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are delighted you were pleased with your overall experience here at the Shepherd's Rest. We have some great dishes on the menu you should come back and try! Hope to see you again soon! Many Thanks, The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had a meal here with relatives and found that the food was ok, but nothing special. One of the party could not eat her fish as it was rock hard. I had the veggie burger which was alright, but a bit dry. There are a few vegetarian options which are clearly marked, but they are not very inspiring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Shepherds1658, Administrator at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M Firstly I would like to thank you for leaving us with your feedback. I would also apologise about the Seabream you were served. It is disappointing that your meal wasn't up to standards and due to this I ensured this was taken of your bill. I will make sure that your feedback is passed on to the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went along with my partner last night, ordered the three cheese mac and cheese and he had the mix grill plate. Both were very good, his steak was done well and melted in the mouth. Nice ale on tap too. The only thing is that we sat with our empty plates for a while and no one came to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenny L
Shepherds1658, Administrator at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear Lenny L, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately we were unexpectedly busy and we had a member of staff down due to illness. I will pass your comments onto the management to make sure that doesn't happen again. However we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and the ale you tasted... More 

San Francisco
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Slow roast beef rib was something I'd never tried and very tasty. For a business trip, was a very good value meal.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank F8130SPseanp
Shepherds1658, Administration at Shepherds rest, responded to this review

Dear F8130SPseanp, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are delighted that you tried something new and you enjoyed the beef rib in particular. We hope you'll be back in town for business sometime soon. Kind Regards, The Team at the Shepherd's Rest More 

Travellers who viewed Shepherds rest also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Westhill, Aberdeen
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Shepherds rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$30
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Straik road, Westhill, Aberdeen, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen  >  Westhill
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 740208
Description
Belhaven Pub, serving fresh food and drinks daily., AB32 6HF

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shepherds rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?