A proper sausage barm with Brown sauce. Stayed here 2 nights no complaints good food excellent staff and a lovely pub to visit.
Is this restaurant good for scenic view?
Is this restaurant good for brunch?
Is this restaurant good for bar scene?
Does this restaurant have private dining rooms?
Is this restaurant romantic?
Is this restaurant good for large groups?
Is this restaurant good for local cuisine?
Is this restaurant good for lunch?
Is this restaurant good for dinner?
Is this restaurant good for breakfast?
Thanks for helping!Share another experience before you go.
Arrived Friday afternoon in our motorhome, no charge to stay, toilet and shower facility in spotless condition. Friday offers of BOGOF on drinks 5-7pm and a £5 meal offer 6-7pm. Pub was very quiet and the staff were jovial, Not required by us, but special dietary options are no problem. Extensive menu, Sunday lunch is to be highly recommended.
.....a quiet pub on a Monday evening was just what I need. I had a naive pint of Black Sheep and I ordered bangers and mash from the menu. The young lady who served me and took my order was very pleasant but my meal was no better than average. Having said that, it wasn't expensive, but if it had... More
I am so sorry that your experience of your visit here was not as you expected! We served exactly what you ordered, and if you had requested peas or onion gravy we would have been happy to give them to you! You say the waitress was very pleasant so I really have no idea why you felt you could not... More
Travelling to Alnwick today my husband and I left the A1 and found The Lamb Inn after a 5 minute drive. Situated in a very quiet village the service was good and the food was lovely and not expensive. The staff were lovely too and kindly helped by filling my hot water bottle for my bad back - something they... More
As others have said, this makes a great peaceful stopover when on a long journey. We had two dogs with us and had a bit of a walk in the village before settling down for a quiet lunch. Dogs were welcome and the service just right. Shame about the inane "pop" music playing, though I suspect if we had asked... More
I have never had a wedge of pie with so much meat in it, so tender and tasty. My partner had the fish and chips which was a full fillet of white Haddock ( half portion which was available would have sufficed) and was beautiful. The chips are homemade also. Exclusive wine list at reasonable prices, Peroni on draught and... More
Picked the pub up on line and decided to give it a try. We weren't disappointed, an old style country pub serving good honest food at a good price. Friendly service without too much fuss and nobody in our party of six was had a complaint.
A very warm welcome on a very cold day. Although the place was quiet at lunchtime the friendly welcome made up for it as did the wonderful pub food,will return
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.Claim Your Listing
Please can you respond to reviews on the review itself. The way you are doing it now is by asking a question, which means Trip Advisor asks us to answer it (as we reviewed you before.)
This is not only airing your dirty laundry but very irritating.
By the way, can I point out that the lady who brought her child and took a 4 seater table but only paid for three meals is a loyal customer. She has come back three times for goodness sake!!
Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear your complaints however to let the public know this was the third time you had been in with your children both aged over 6. You had 2 x 3 course adult meal and shared every course with your children as well as getting them a 'free' glass of water. You left a teaspoon of the homemade toffee sauce which i admit had obviously burnt in the pan and said you weren't paying for it the waitress. We charged an extra £1 for the plate as these needed waitress service and to be washed up. Also the fact you only paid for 3 adult meals on 3 occasions you took up a 4 seater table. Your comments are duly noted about another pub and i hear there Sunday lunch is also good. I wonder if they have allowed you to get away on 3 separate occasions what you have done at our honest food establishment. I also note that your children weren't very hungry, the children's menu is designed for under 6's and is £5 per child.
Thank you for your review about our family owned freehouse. Unfortunately unlike a lot of 'pubmaster' owned pubs we do not have the sort of money pub companies have to throw at their pubs, eg The Angel, The Crab and Lobster, The Moor and Pheasant. All our efforts are put into excellent food, good honest portions and superb service. However as you have commented we are good value. We only use local fresh produce and everything is home cooked. We have an excellent wine list, a good range of beers and as you will see on tripadvisor not a lot of other local places can compare with the Sunday lunch. We have 5 stars from the Hygiene people at Harrogate Council four and a half stars with Tripadvisor. I feel if you call in again soon you will be impressed at the refurb we had done last year. If not at least try the Yorkshire Classic Real Ale, the Five Foot Track Shiraz and if you are hungry The Steak and Ale pie or Fish and Chips. Hopefully after your next visit we will get more than 2 stars for our efforts. Steven Bannister (owner)