We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lamb Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
+44 1845 577284
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A proper sausage barm with Brown sauce. Stayed here 2 nights no complaints good food excellent staff and a lovely pub to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
Northwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived Friday afternoon in our motorhome, no charge to stay, toilet and shower facility in spotless condition. Friday offers of BOGOF on drinks 5-7pm and a £5 meal offer 6-7pm. Pub was very quiet and the staff were jovial, Not required by us, but special dietary options are no problem. Extensive menu, Sunday lunch is to be highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank williamtH5413VF
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016

.....a quiet pub on a Monday evening was just what I need. I had a naive pint of Black Sheep and I ordered bangers and mash from the menu. The young lady who served me and took my order was very pleasant but my meal was no better than average. Having said that, it wasn't expensive, but if it had... More 

Helpful?
Thank _robspeight58
LambInn2012, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your experience of your visit here was not as you expected! We served exactly what you ordered, and if you had requested peas or onion gravy we would have been happy to give them to you! You say the waitress was very pleasant so I really have no idea why you felt you could not... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in and had a drink. Lovely atmosphere and very welcoming. We overheard other people having enjoyed a meal 'as usual'. Shame we didn't have time to sample it, but it looked clean and homely.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Travelling to Alnwick today my husband and I left the A1 and found The Lamb Inn after a 5 minute drive. Situated in a very quiet village the service was good and the food was lovely and not expensive. The staff were lovely too and kindly helped by filling my hot water bottle for my bad back - something they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank erink750117
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Great quality food at very reasonable prices and a good selection of vegetarian options. Friendly service and a welcoming atmosphere, could not have been better!

Helpful?
Thank PoppyF
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016

As others have said, this makes a great peaceful stopover when on a long journey. We had two dogs with us and had a bit of a walk in the village before settling down for a quiet lunch. Dogs were welcome and the service just right. Shame about the inane "pop" music playing, though I suspect if we had asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loumx
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016

I have never had a wedge of pie with so much meat in it, so tender and tasty. My partner had the fish and chips which was a full fillet of white Haddock ( half portion which was available would have sufficed) and was beautiful. The chips are homemade also. Exclusive wine list at reasonable prices, Peroni on draught and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Notgordon
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2016

Picked the pub up on line and decided to give it a try. We weren't disappointed, an old style country pub serving good honest food at a good price. Friendly service without too much fuss and nobody in our party of six was had a complaint.

Helpful?
Thank Tom5125
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2016

A very warm welcome on a very cold day. Although the place was quiet at lunchtime the friendly welcome made up for it as did the wonderful pub food,will return

Helpful?
Thank foodlover6415

Travellers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Rainton, North Yorkshire
Asenby, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$8
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Rainton
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 577284
Description
A typical english village pub serving homecooked traditional food in a beautiful part of the countryside with close links to all major networks.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lamb Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Lamb Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?