We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Inn

Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
+44 1845 577284
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We visited here last Sunday, arriving around 2.30pm, and parked our camper van in one of the allocated bays, having pre-booked a space. A courtesy trip to the bar to notify our arrival, and we were greeted by very friendly staff who made us feel...More

Thank CGLHuddersfield
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stopped off in our "Funbus" yesterday and what a great day/evening we had. What a great tittle set up it has,field for Ted our staffy a shower and toilet in the car park which can accommodate up to five motorhomes/camper vans electric hook up...More

Thank Kev M
A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We spent a night here in the camper recently and received an excellent welcome. Staff friendly and helpful and food good quality and good value. Would certainly recommend.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed here in our motorhome. Feast for a fiver on Wednesday was fish and chips. Really nice and well cooked. Service was good too. Well worth a visit if you're in the area. If you stay over in the campsite/car park be aware it...More

1  Thank kthla23
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I went here with the family on the way home after the easter weekend. My wife found it located on on of those sites that give you details of pubs and restaurants sited just off the motorway. It's about a couple of miles off the...More

1  Thank helenandpaul13
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Arrived in our motorhome, having found it through 'Britstops.' We didn't expect a great deal, other than a car park and some pub grub. What a surprise! We were welcomed into the car park and shown where everything is by a friendly chap, who we...More

2  Thank JRMorris5
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Everyone had a meal, mine was 'ok' had scampi and chips in a basket and that's what I got, very basic, basically 6 pieces of what looked like supermarket frozen scampi and homemade chunky chips in a 70's basket need more presentation , barstaff/waitress was...More

1  Thank AndreaThirsk
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A proper sausage barm with Brown sauce. Stayed here 2 nights no complaints good food excellent staff and a lovely pub to visit.

2  Thank Graeme W
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Arrived Friday afternoon in our motorhome, no charge to stay, toilet and shower facility in spotless condition. Friday offers of BOGOF on drinks 5-7pm and a £5 meal offer 6-7pm. Pub was very quiet and the staff were jovial, Not required by us, but special...More

1  Thank williamtH5413VF
Reviewed 9 August 2016

.....a quiet pub on a Monday evening was just what I need. I had a naive pint of Black Sheep and I ordered bangers and mash from the menu. The young lady who served me and took my order was very pleasant but my meal...More

Thank _robspeight58
LambInn2012, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am so sorry that your experience of your visit here was not as you expected! We served exactly what you ordered, and if you had requested peas or onion gravy we would have been happy to give them to you! You say the waitress...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Crab & Lobster
1,239 reviews
2.42 km away
The George at Wath Restaurant
109 reviews
5.19 km away
The Bay Horse
21 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Norton Conyers
24 reviews
5.33 km away
Ripon Cathedral
878 reviews
7.16 km away
Ripon Racecourse
313 reviews
6.82 km away
Workhouse Museum
280 reviews
7.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simon F
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sal F | Reviewed this property |
Not sure what the own told you but the truth is we have only been to the lamb inn once with this owner. We did purchase four drinks but the owner said in his response the kids had water. He also said our kids were over six... More
0
Votes
LambInn2012
Thank you for your review about our family owned freehouse. Unfortunately unlike a lot of 'pubmaster' owned pubs we do not have the sort of money pub companies have to throw at their pubs, eg The Angel, The Crab and Lobster, The Moor and Pheasant. All our efforts are put into excellent food, good honest portions and superb service. However as you have commented we are good value. We only use local fresh produce and everything is home cooked. We have an excellent wine list, a good range of beers and as you will see on tripadvisor not a lot of other local places can compare with the Sunday lunch. We have 5 stars from the Hygiene people at Harrogate Council four and a half stars with Tripadvisor. I feel if you call in again soon you will be impressed at the refurb we had done last year. If not at least try the Yorkshire Classic Real Ale, the Five Foot Track Shiraz and if you are hungry The Steak and Ale pie or Fish and Chips. Hopefully after your next visit we will get more than 2 stars for our efforts. Steven Bannister (owner)
18 August 2015|
Answer
Response from FrancineW411 | Reviewed this property |
As far as I am aware my score was 5 stars so not sure what has happened there we come on a fairly regular basis and we are always impressed with the service and the food and I left the review because of this so if I can... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$8
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Rainton
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 577284
  • E-mail
Description
A typical english village pub serving homecooked traditional food in a beautiful part of the countryside with close links to all major networks.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing