We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlands Cafe & Restaurant

Stretton Road | Scotland Nurseries Garden Store, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5GE, England
+44 1629 582349
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (10 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 17:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stretton Road | Scotland Nurseries Garden Store, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5GE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with my parents and sister for afternoon tea for my birthday. I can honestly say that we all agreed it was the best we have ever had and we do afternoon tea a lot. Including and Betty's tearoom. It outshone all of them. You...More

1  Thank sarahdavison
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife an I have eaten here a number of times when visiting the nursery and have been used to the slow pace of the service but our last visit promoted me to write this review. Despite the restaurant only being half full I had...More

Thank AndyN32
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Andy, I'm sorry your visit wasn't up to our usual service levels. We have recently been having some staffing issues that have resulted in poor customer service. We now have an action plan in place to ensure that our standards only increase from here....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been regulars for years, the food was previously fantastic, however since the refurbishment, and menu changes we have experienced a decline in the quality of food and also the service. Previously the home made quiche were outstanding, now they are a poor excuse,...More

2  Thank Jill K
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jill, Please accept my apologies for your sub-par experience. We have recently had a number of issues that have resulted in some very poor customer service. We have implemented an action plan that will ensure that standards and food quality only increase from here....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and myself visited for lunch. We ordered a quiche and salad and a pork and chiritso burger with chips for myself, I didn't really want the chips, but was told they were part of the order, which couldn't be altered ????? Shortly afterwards...More

Thank Alan O
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alan, We are currently reviewing a number of elements of our restaurant, including portion sizing, staffing and service times. Our food is cooked fresh for every order and we do advise that a waiting time is necesary for this, however this should always be...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017

I took my Mum for lunch yesterday. Drinks were served very quickly but we were advised there would be a short delay for the chops as they are cooked to order and the restaurant was busy. About twenty minutes later we got an excellent bowl...More

Thank Jackie M
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jackie, Thank you for your very kind review. We're glad you enjoyed our food and service!

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely family lunch as always. Bacon and Brie panini was beautiful. Couldn't find room to fit a cake in but they all looked amazing

Thank sarahdavison
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Visited here yesterday for Mothering Sunday Lunch it was our first time having lunch think we booked wrong day for first time for service Food was absolutely delicious when it arrived I know it said on menu cooked fresh to order but do feel waiting...More

Thank maggieandrob
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hi guys, My apologies for the wait for your food. Mother's day this year was a record breaker for us and admittedly we weren't best equipped to cope with the numbers we had. We have a full kitchen refit planned a little later on in...More

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to try breakfast here while visiting the garden centre. The garden centre is undergoing quite a lot of building change at the moment however the cafe is the same so far. Our experience of breakfast was average I had a very nice bacon...More

Thank Ian1200
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hi Ian, Thank you for your review. Our works are now mostly completed bar a full kitchen refit coming a little later in the year. I will be speaking to our staff regarding this as you're correct in saying that it shouldn't have been served....More

Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had planned to get there in time for breakfast but unfortunately we were too late. We decided on a panini and a toasted sandwich. Both were delicious. My husband's tea was to his liking as was my cappuccino. This was a first visit being...More

Thank Tripper071
ScotlandNurseriesGS, Manager at Highlands Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review and we're glad you'll be visiting again!

Reviewed 2 March 2017

thoroughly enjoyed our visit here, we will call again. The food was good and the staff friendly. Thank you

Thank rooms07
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kath's Riber View Cafe And Farm Shop
69 reviews
.60 km away
The Tavern at Tansley
419 reviews
1.58 km away
Matlock Garden Centre
24 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
87 reviews
.05 km away
Lea Green Development Centre
7 reviews
2.85 km away
The Crispin Inn
102 reviews
3.48 km away
The White Hart Inn
36 reviews
4.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
66Nan66
2 June 2015|
Answer
Response from ScotlandNurseriesGS | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for your message and sorry for missing your question. We do serve vegetarian and gluten free options however these change on a daily basis. Please contact the restaurant on 01629 582349 for the daily specials... More
0
Votes
jcle0
7 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ScotlandNurseriesGS | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your enquiry - our Afternoon Tea for one is £8.95 and Afternoon Tea for two is £15.95. If you would like to make a booking or purchase a voucher please telephone 01629 582349. Thankyou.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$13
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:30
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stretton Road | Scotland Nurseries Garden Store, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5GE, England (Formerly Heathers Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock  >  Tansley
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 582349
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing