We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Church Mouse

Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
+44 191 389 2628
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (30 reviews)
“sunday roast” (15 reviews)
“pies” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Probably the most dreadful visit ever We visit often as a family and it never surprises me. The service delivered as a waiter as far as food is concerned is good however a very poor bar service where as a business could make a lot...More

Thank Julie A
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Here at The Church Mouse, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 5 days ago

After shopping at Arnison Centre Durham decided to call into Church Mouse which was on our way home. Nice friendly atmosphere and not too busy. Attentive service but still waited 40 mins for meal to arrive, as not in any hurry was not a problem...More

Thank Angela B
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Angela B, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good food and service Can’t fault at all , very busy as it was the festive period but staff were very pleasant and the service was very efficient

Thank Maya210813
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 1 week ago

4 of us booked for Christmas day lunch, the food was wonderful the staff made the day they where so wonderful with everyone, had a great Christmas lunch so a BIG thank you to the church mouse but a much BIGGER thank you to all...More

Thank jackielad
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jackielad, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Church Mouse! It's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Durham now and again and at last we have found a brilliant restaurant for a nice cosy evening meal. My husband, myself and our son ordered from the festive menu. My husband had steak and it was cooked to perfection and his meal...More

Thank annmarie456
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Annmarie456, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Church Mouse! We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience. Thank you, and have a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely Christmas Eve lunch for a big group and the service was excellent- all staff were lovely but especially Vicki who looked after us and made all the difference with her friendly and cheerful attitude she’s a real asset to the restaurant. Food...More

Thank NadH
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nadh, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team. We strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Church Mouse. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Regards,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely interior and spotlessly clean. Staff are pleasant and polite but have too many tables to serve. 100 pound bill for two adults and two children is just overpriced. It's decent pub food in a lovely location but it's overpriced for what you get.

Thank Anna C
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Anna C thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolute disaster....paid £10 deposit for the table ...took our booking for boxing day 2 course meal..couldn't find our table..got told stand there while I find you one....two course meal finished they had omitted our £10 deposit after questioning the bill then got it refunded..then went...More

Thank darkeyes67
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a delicious meal very reasonably priced and perfectly cooked at the Church Mouse. The staff accommodated us at the last minute and were very gracious even though they were already busy. Good service good atmosphere. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Thank Daisy_in_Durham
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Daisy_in_durham, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Regards, Jake.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called here whilst just passing for our lunch, busy but managed to get a table not a problem. Food was delicious like usual and service fantastic. Served by the same lady we always have been when visiting. She is so attentive and extremely friendly and...More

Thank vhb1982
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Vhb1982, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Church Mouse! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Regards, Jake.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chester Moor Hotels
The Old Power House
6 reviews
1.31 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
2,193 reviews
3.07 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
811 reviews
3.14 km away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
102 reviews
4.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Raaj
489 reviews
.35 km away
The Chester Moor Inn
485 reviews
.25 km away
Red Lion
305 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Riverside Park
68 reviews
2.70 km away
Thought Foundation
9 reviews
6.21 km away
Church of St Mary and St Cuthbert
21 reviews
2.52 km away
Pelaw Grange Greyhound Stadium
15 reviews
4.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrew W
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from André G | Reviewed this property |
If you are planning to watch Leeds beat Sunderland on Saturday eve, I'd definitely book there- think they do!
1
Vote
Christine H
17 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Steven A | Reviewed this property |
Sadly there is no kids playing area.
0
Votes
GLP1977
16 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ShawDurham | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are welcome outside most places these days, they always have a large bowl of water outside for your dog. X
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Front Street | Chester-le-Street, Chester Moor DH2 3RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester Moor
  • Phone Number: +44 191 389 2628
Description
The Church Mouse in Chester-le-Street is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing