We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Fisherman

Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
+44 1844 201247
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“coleslaw” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always good to walk into the Old Fisherman and find friends enjoying either a drink or a meal in the comfortable and friendly lounge/bar area which is my favourite area of the pub to eat. It's difficult to decide what to choose from the variety...More

Thank DameJanice
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your lovely review Jan, it's always a pleasure to see out locals as well as those from further afield. Please do let me know what you think of our Seafood Grill when you come to try it for yourself. I look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on Saturday Afternoon, they where reasonably quiet. Chose from the saver menu rather than the new Winter Menu, choices on both where very good. Food was prompt and well presented, service was again very good and not to hurried. All in all a...More

Thank RSPayne10
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. Please accept my apologies regarding the toilet facilities; the toilet blockage was caused by an issues further down the drains (caused by people putting wet wipes down the toilet) for which a drainage specialist was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch with my boyfriend, decided to sit outside as weather was nice for once. Everything was going well went inside to order starters which came out about 20 mins later, they were average at best but were excited for our mains so didn't...More

Thank maisiesmall
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review Masie; please accept my apologies for your disappointment. Having investigated your experience in full I'm very confused by your version of events; your bill was paid off once the steak meals had been removed from your bill 70 minutes after...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location to eat outside on a lovely sunny day like yesterday. Lovely roast beef Sunday lunch and good menu for children. Shame they ran out of horseradish sauce though. Quite a long time to wait for food but it was very busy.More

Thank Melanie I
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Melanie, many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit, apologies for the oversight with the horseradish - a mental note has been made. Myself and the team look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Excellent menu and friendly staff. You may have a bit of a wait if they are short staffed but there is always somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink while you wait.

1  Thank gretasmith
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely words Greta, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We had a Table booked for 6 persons, which was reserved for the party. It was busy lots of people, we ordered our drinks, and then I went to the bar to order the food for everyone. I was told there would be a half...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

I'm very sorry to hear that we fell short of the high standards that we set ourselves. I invite you to contact me directly at the pub so I can investigate thoroughly as none of my management team have made me aware of such an...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Took two friends there on Friday 25th - one of them was born in the village and remembered the pub when it was a tiny place! Although we arrived at about 12:30 it was already busy but there is ample parking and (on a nice...More

2  Thank Maurice J
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Many thanks for your lovely words of praise Maurice. Please do call in again.

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

After returning from a long holiday drive we decided to drop in to the Old Fisherman for a meal on a Thursday late afternoon to avoid cooking when we returned home. A lovely selection of food, attentive staff and nice decor inside and pleasant outdoor...More

2  Thank WerdnaTrips
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Old Fisherman. Sounds like we got it right for you. Please do visit again soon

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Busy Sunday with the sun out, car park full so parked on the extensive grasslands. Walking inside I was surprised to see no que at the bar, with 2 people taking food orders and a third person putting glasses away and calling people down to...More

2  Thank Boomboxmedia
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

What a smashing review - thank you, i'm blushing. I'm over the moon that you enjoyed your visit so much, I wish every guest left as happy. We look forward to you returning with the family.

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I will keep this simple! Went for lunch today. They ran out of the beer we wanted, the food took an hour (although they did warn us it would be 45mins) and when it came the bread was stale and the chips were horrible Staff...More

Thank Archybald
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Please accept my apologies that you were not satisfied. Having investigated your visit thoroughly I see that you enjoyed an extra drink of our IPA despite being disappointed that we had sold out of our guest beer. I'm sorry that your meals took 5 minutes...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun at Ickford
31 reviews
2.12 km away
The Clifden Arms
134 reviews
3.29 km away
The Angel Restaurant
325 reviews
3.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Oxford Belfry Spa
122 reviews
3.39 km away
Waterperry Gardens
185 reviews
3.72 km away
Waterperry Gardens
10 reviews
3.73 km away
The Big Shoot - Aylesbury
8 reviews
4.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda S
5 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rich W | Property representative |
Morning Amanda, we serve food from 11am right through until 10pm seven days a week. Bookings are strongly recomended.
0
Votes
Peter B
2 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 425PaulB | Reviewed this property |
I'm a diner not the patron - Suggest you contact the owners!
1
Vote
Alangelson
21 April 2015|
Answer
Response from FoodPro75 |
Hi, many thanks for your question. We are able to offer a number of menu choices for people who wish to avoid gluten. All of our team are able to advise on the known allergens and suitable dishes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury  >  Shabbington
  • Phone Number: +44 1844 201247
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing