We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aunt Martha's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Branch, Drybrook GL17 9DB, England
+44 1594 824514
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 12:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 192: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

If your looking for a fun and wonderful experience then this is the place to go!! I highly recommend this place to go for afternoon tea! Lots of different teas to try and wonderful food! And the staff was amazing there to made it all worth while

Helpful?
Thank shalee12
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here after so many people said how "nice it was', I think they mustn't get out much, compared to Bethal tea room in little dean, which is fantastic, visited there after going to little dean jail. Scone was taste less, but the tea was ok, will never go back, not what we were expecting.

Helpful?
Thank nick b
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post this review and naturally I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Speaking on behalf of all businesses, especially in the catering industry, we appreciate receiving feedback at a time when something can be done to react and put matters right if required. With the advent of on line... More 

Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely afternoon tea party at Aunt Martha's, the food was excellent (and they catered wonderfully for our different dietry needs), the selection of teas on offer is staggering and the service friendly and efficient. They used their own jams and pickles (which were scrummy) and all the food is produced in their own kitchen. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would never go there again and would not recommend it. Lovely grounds in the summer, venue cold in the winter, food over rated and over priced.

Helpful?
Thank _jennifer298green
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Given that this reviewer posted 4 other reviews on the same day, I am wondering what prompted this. In direct response I can only ask others to look at the overwhelming number of very positive comments and then to make a balanced judgement. We always take note of customer feedback when it can be identified to specific aspects / events... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My sisters and I took our Grandparents to have Cream Tea and it was super. As soon as we stepped into Aunt Marthas the experience began. Staff and the atmosphere was excellent and made the afternoon a rememberable one. I would highly recommend a visit and will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Sam G
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are delighted to know that your visit to Aunt Martha’s was enjoyed and very memorable More 

Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were made to feel like guests from start to finish. The food was superb, trying some very different and delicious tea added to the experience. The friendly service was first class. It was a real treat to step back in time into the Victorian theme.

Helpful?
Thank werty2015
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Your very kind comments have been passed on to the staff, who all take pride in the service they provide to our guests. Mrs Treherne has said that she will make sure that extra dripping is made available to them for their sandwiches More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

read about 'aunt marthas',so a 65 mile round trip, what a waste of time and money, and petrol, give this amiss, if your in the area, try the cafe ;the engine shed, ross garden store, nice tea/coffee and home made cakes, this made up for the trip

Helpful?
Thank artmarketing
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Naturally we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit yesterday lunchtime. It was unfortunate that the cold weather had caused some cancellations meaning that you ended up being the only people in at that time; after you had departed we filled up nicely which always adds to the overall Victorian atmosphere and in consequence the enjoyment of guests.... More 

Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017

Visited with some work colleagues for afternoon tea. We had a roll, a scone and a piece of cake all of which were home made which was great however they were not freshly baked. A quaint place and worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank wookeroo
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. As you quite rightly say the food served is all home baked however I would take issue with the comment that it was not ‘freshly baked’. With some of the food we serve, like our artisan bread rolls and scones, the recipe and ingredients - no preservatives here - we... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Aunt Martha's is a step back in time where all staff and some guests alike act in a manner fitting the Victorian theme. My friends and I atteded the Sinterklaas afternoon tea! We had lovely savouries and the most amazing sweets I have ever tasted (Even bought some biscuits and a piece of cake to take home) As this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank heather A
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stopped by aunt Martha's tea room. You could hear the "staff" in the kitchen talking about old staff that worked there. "Mrs Hillary" spoke to the girls like she stood in poo. She spoke appallingly to the girls. Me and my boyfriend was discussed. I would never pay £5+ for a meal with stale bread, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Althea234
Philip C, Front Office Manager at Aunt Martha's, responded to this review

Aunt Martha’s multi award winning 32 cover restaurant is a ‘step back in time’ experience where you are transported back to the year 1897 – the year of Her Majesty Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee. From the moment you arrive we have endeavoured to create that atmosphere, from the ‘bric a brac’, which some might see as ‘clutter’ to the social... More 

Travellers who viewed Aunt Martha's also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Longhope, Gloucestershire
Cinderford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Aunt Martha's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$31
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Branch, Drybrook GL17 9DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Drybrook
  • Phone Number: +44 1594 824514
Description
Aunt Martha's provides traditional classic dining in the elegant setting of the Victorian era.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aunt Martha's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?