We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Carleton $$ - $$$ , British,
Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
+44 1756 794282
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
“pizza” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
All Details
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying in village for a week's holiday with our dog. Called in first night having been told on phone they are dog friendly but were told dogs not allowed in pub, only the 'Coffee Shop' attached ?? Had a drink in there but place smelled...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Roger bike, didn't realise that there was such a think as stale fat. Anyway, 1star because we wouldn't allow your dog in. As a dog owner of not 1 but 2 I made the decision some 5 years ago when I arrived to have...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The inside of The Swan does need some refurbishment with some very tatty sofas. However the food was delicious. We ordered two steaks; a sirloin with blue cheese sauce and a rump steak with peppercorn. Both were charged cooked beautifully and tasted amazing with the...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for the feedback and talk about perfect timing....the pub is in the process of losing its deep read colour to a new brighter fresher colour...and...the sofas albeit being comfy, are indeed a bit tatty and are on the list. As are new curtains...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Walked in to a lively pub, the young lady behind the bar was really friendly and helpful. The menu is typically British with lots of choice and the quality was excellent as was the quantity, you will not leave this establishment feeling hungry... Well worth...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for the feedback, I'll be sure to let the team know and, hopefully we'll see you again real soon.

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I actually live in Carleton and ashamed to say that I rarely eat at my village pub. However, when I do I always enjoy the food. I've had their burgers in the past but this time I had the rump steak. It was cooked to...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you very much for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you real soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Been several times and yet again, it does not fail! Steaks are done to perfection, service is very friendly. Homemade chips, what a winner!

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback and we will also pass on your thanks to our local butcher 'drake and macefield'. They'll be pleased to know that we are serving it to your liking and that the quality is there.

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the pub , a nice atmosphere has we entered . straight to the bar and served promptly . easily settled in. Open fire and good choice of beverages. Food is spot on / kids eat free ... Menu has a good choice ....More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thanks for the review. We aim to please all of our visitors both old and new and always welcome feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Visit the Swan late afternoon, live pretty locally but not ventured there before in 18 years 😂 Its a lovely traditional pub, lovely hostess and a menu that had enough Gluten Free options to satisfy any coeliac or gluten intolerant. Both of us opted for...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Gluten free is something that has and is becoming more and more of a dietary requirement and so we have been adapting and changing where we can. All of our stocks that we use now are all Gluten free so...More

Reviewed 7 January 2017

After taking friends advice to stop for a couple of drinks, we decided to pop in and enjoy a few beers and some lovely food. The staff were very welcoming and made sure we were well looked after. Anna, the young bar maid made great...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks for the feedback it's greatly appreciated and I will pass on the feedback to Anna.

Reviewed 30 December 2016

A reet good proper village wedding venue enjoyed by all who attended. Landlord Paul excellent host. Great food, great atmosphere and a great way to start married life. Highly recommend.

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thank you for this review. We hope to be able to do more weddings here at the Swan. 2 done in 2016, another one booked for 2017. Enjoy married life guys

Reviewed 10 November 2016

We had a lovely family meal last week. There was lots of choice both on the main menu and the specials board. There was also a 2 for £10 offer on some of the meals during the week. Both my husband and I had the...More

Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

thank you so much for your feedback. We have changed the way we do our specials here at the Swan and have gone back to real traditional, locally sourced homecooked pub grub. Hearty, filling and very tasty. I am glad you enjoyed the choices made...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street
784 reviews
2.42 km away
Coopers Cafe Bar
161 reviews
2.33 km away
Balti King
127 reviews
1.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jackson's of Cracoe
7 reviews
1.81 km away
Skipton Castle
1,267 reviews
2.89 km away
Leeds and Liverpool Canal
67 reviews
2.58 km away
Skipton Market
111 reviews
2.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Skipton  >  Carleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 794282
Description
The Swan Inn at Carleton is a traditional English village pub situated in the Aire Valley, close to the market town of Skipton, North Yorkshire. The Swan Inn offers cask conditioned beers, ciders and lagers and an excellent selection of fine wines. Using locally sourced produce, The Swan Inn serves freshly prepared delicious home cooked meals, available to eat in the pub, restaurant or take-away. From a pint to a cocktail, from a sandwich to a business lunch, whether you're having a snack at lunchtime or coming in for a drink with friends in the evening, you'll be assured a warm welcome everytime. Well behaved children accompanied by an adult are welcome at The Swan Inn until 8pm and free WiFi is avaliable. Experience the welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and friendly staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing