We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wig & Pen

$$ - $$$, British,
1 Frances Street, Truro TR1 3DP, England
+44 1872 273028
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (4 reviews)
“burgers” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
1 Frances Street, Truro TR1 3DP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My last review on a bar estaurant in Truro wasn't very faverable, so on today's visit looked for a different pub to eat in. Chose the Wig and Pen by chance, when we walked in there was no one there, so nearly walked out again,...More

Thank pamlewis0447
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for quality food and large portions then this is the place. Great atmosphere and I'd happily return.

Thank Kevin W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food , service was so good with good organization, place names with our choice of food on . The food was well cooked plenty of it and very hot . Great evening made special by the good staff .More

Thank oscarboy12017
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you with us for your Festive Celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back again. I will pass your comment about the good service on to our Team who I’m sure will be very...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here as a party of 15 for our Xmas meal, pub was busy but great service and the food was good value for money. The roast potatoes were a little on the tough side but edible, food came out hot. Good job done on...More

Thank Zoe L
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The roast lunch and the service was vary disappointing. The sprouts were inedible (couldn't cut them) and the roast potatoes were horrid - obviously been cooked days before and slightly warmed up, so they were hard, stale and tasted of bad fat. Most people in...More

Thank ChrisTruro
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Christine, As I said in my reply to the last review you left, all food was eaten from all members of your party. I have checked back on CCTV to verify this. Nothing was said on the day to any staff member about any...More

Reviewed 12 December 2017

A group of friends met for a christmas lunch today and oh dear what a disappointment it turned out to be, in spite of the excellent reviews. The plates were cold, the turkey OK but the roast potatoes were cold and had been reheated at...More

1  Thank pasty22
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hello pasty22, Thank you for your review. We’re particularly disappointed to have received this review as you gave us no chance to rectify any problems you report having here and can also give no reference to our excellent service when rectifying any issues our guests...More

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Looking for a good value pub and food .. last minute decision to eat in the evening without having to prebook on a Saturday night whilst visiting Truro. Last visit to Wig & Pen had been over 3 years ago, good reasonably priced and unpretentious...More

Thank Mooz2
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Lengthy wait to be served even though there wasn't a cue... dead atmosphere.... and a pint of Guinness and half a coke at 10p short of £6. Unless you want to be really stupid with your money or just another tourist with more money than...More

2  Thank msinclair42
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hello msinclair42, I apologise if you feel that your order was expensive with us, unfortunately Guinness has become a very expensive product to buy in. At nearing £5 or more a pint in most places now we feel our £4.30 is reasonable. A half of...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Went for a Sunday lunch as a party of four (24/09/17), and we all plumped for the actual Sunday (Beef) roast. We chose the Wig & Pen (partly) because of their reputation for being able to adapt their menu for coeliacs (ie. gluten free food)....More

Thank RayC722
Jennifer A, Owner at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Firstly, after having read a couple of other negative reviews especially regarding the (younger) staff here, I would like to add that is not necessarily correct. I have found the staff here are friendly, welcoming and diligent. Food wise - The portions are generous, I...More

Thank Jordan E
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Truro
Mannings Hotel
609 reviews
.33 km away
Merchant House
455 reviews
.78 km away
The Alverton
961 reviews
.86 km away
The County Arms
458 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bone China
262 reviews
.03 km away
Falmouth Bay Seafood Cafe
1,451 reviews
.05 km away
The Cornish Vegan
114 reviews
.08 km away
Yak and Yeti
337 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Truro Cathedral
1,085 reviews
.30 km away
Hall for Cornwall
338 reviews
.38 km away
Royal Cornwall Museum
228 reviews
.09 km away
Boscawen Park
56 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wig & Pen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Frances Street, Truro TR1 3DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Truro District  >  Truro
  • Phone Number: +44 1872 273028
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing