We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lavender Tea Rooms

6 Hebden Court, Matlock Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EE, England
+44 1629 814466
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (75 reviews)
“rarebit” (27 reviews)
“bakewell tart” (54 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Hebden Court, Matlock Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 110 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this little tearoom whilst walking around Bakewell on a very wet and cold day. We were greeted with a warm friendly welcome and chose a table. Service was excellent and quick. My husband had the Derbyshire cream tea, the scone was 'stunning...More

Thank 192Vanessa20
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hi Vanessa, I am pleased you speak so highly of us! I do put great importance on welcoming our customers with a smile and hopefully having a nice little chat, most people seem to like it and I am glad you seem to too. We...More

A TripAdvisor Member
127
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I popped in on a very wet Monday morning. We had a pot of tea and scones / tea cake. The scone was very fresh,served with plenty of butter and jam (I didn't want cream but that is also an option). The...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for visiting us, we are pleased you speak positively of your time with us and hope you will return soon. Kind regards Lesley

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A must when we visit Bakewell which is now under new management. And it's great to see that not a lot has been changed apart from a makeover to improve the seating areas (if it's not broke don't fix it) A great menu, good choice...More

Thank siwayles
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Hi, Thank you for posting a review. We very much believe in the 'if it's not broke don't fix it' ethos and are keen to keep the traditional experience while trying hard to make improvements wherever we can without detracting from the character of the...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Coffee and scones were good. Other people having lunch seemed to be enjoying their meals.

Thank JG-Hgate
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Hi and thank you for posting positive feedback on our food, drink and service, it is much appreciated. Kind regards Lesley

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I dragged the other half around bakewell for a tea room that looked cute and had some character, and I found this little gem tucked down a cute courtyard alleyway. The lady who served us was lovely and didn't mind at all when we were...More

Thank girlstridge
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi, Many thanks for calling in to see us and sampling our fayre. We are delighted you speak so highly of your visit and took the trouble to post such a lovely review. It is nice to be able to sit outside now the weather...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017

Popped in for a cup of coffee and a tea cake yesterday with my hubby...he ordered pikelets, I ordered toasted tea cake, and 2 ordinary cups of coffee, nothing fancy..and jam for teacke was extra.... 2 coffees arrived, instant, cold milk, fine...tea cake came, asked...More

1  Thank incabeau
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi, While we appreciate feedback, be it positive or negative, I have to take strong issue with your review which is contains erroneous and arguably slanderous allegations. 1. We do not EVER serve instant coffee, we always serve coffee made from freshly ground finest quality...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Was taken for a cream tea . We did not book . But the ladies could not have done enough for you . Sandwiches and cakes were to die for . A charming place very quaint. Will go again

Thank Annlisasears1231
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi, Many thanks for posting a very positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed our sandwiches and cakes and our decor too and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful little tea room food lovely friendly welcoming staff, placed our order at the counter, staff invited us to sit down, then bought our drinks and food to us. Cakes look nice Comfortable surroundings, good value for money. A little gem

Thank jane h
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi Jane, Thank you for giving a very positive review which is greatly appreciated. Please call again soon. Kind regards Lesley

Reviewed 9 March 2017

After a walk around Bakewell and Ashford in the Water we sought out this tearoom after seeing it on a previous visit. My girlfriend, her daughter and I all enjoyed a jacket potato which was delicious and came with a side salad. They were very...More

Thank Rob E
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi Rob, Thank you for posting a review. Your words are much more positive than the rating though we do note your comments regarding price. However we believe that we offer great value given the quality of the food and substantial portion size. We are...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

What a remarkable spot. We so enjoyed our lunch here. My friend and I had an amazing Bacon and Brie Potato Jacket, which kept getting better with every bite. Then we had a scone with my favorite clotted cream. The lovely owner Leslie was so...More

Thank vlohokie
Lesley T, Owner at Lavender Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for visiting and providing such a positive review. Yes I remember you, certainly the first request we have had for no jam lol!! We would love to see you again soon with or without the jam! Kind regards Lesley

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ricci's
536 reviews
.12 km away
Because I Like It
125 reviews
.06 km away
Original Bakewell Pudding Shop
1,174 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
179 reviews
.30 km away
River Wye
85 reviews
.24 km away
All Saints Church
104 reviews
.17 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
71 reviews
1.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sue A
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ColinJones1955 | Reviewed this property |
smiths island car park holds aproximatly 500 cars and is £2 for up to 4 hours and £4 all day. if your in Bakewell for 3 days or more there are car park concessions @ £6 for three days 7am - 6pm only.
0
Votes
Dagmara D
19 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Lesley T | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for you enquiry. Unfortunately we are closed on Boxing Day. We are open Christmas Eve from 9am to 3pm and re-open on Wednesday 28th December 11am to 3pm. Kind regards Lesley
0
Votes
Deborah D
4 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kate S | Reviewed this property |
Hi, depends on what you purchase but we did not find it expensive. If you need costs see if they have a website or call them.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Hebden Court, Matlock Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 814466
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing