We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
+44 1629 812807
Today
08:00 - 15:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 291: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family of 4 ordered jacket spuds and drinks. 20 mins for drinks to arrive (after asking where our food was), another 10 mind for food. When it did turn up it was warm, not hot. Understaffed, no order of service. Two tables who ordered after us got their food before us. Quite disappointing. Perhaps us city folk have higher expectations?... More 

Helpful?
Thank dwnfallen
Level Contributor
263 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped of in Bakewell for breakfast and found this delightful little place, well worth the trip up the stairs. A well cooked and delicious full English breakfast with good service and coffee

Helpful?
Thank Rodders27
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review it is very much appreciated More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not good food. Both my husband and my sandwiches were dry and stale, I asked for white bread but was given brown. The clotted cream for scone was dry and crumbly. Never go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rak1983
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

I can assure you all our bread is fresh daily not dry & stale & as for the clotted cream it is a little crumbly on top but the correct consistency underneath, how can you say not good food when you simply had a sandwich we had numerous compliments on the food that day. Had you brought the error &... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came here many years ago and was my first ever experience of a tearoom which then began my love for the places. We visited again yesterday after me giving a lot of compliments about the place to my other half to then be made to look silly as the whole experience was just shameful. We arrived and was greeted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Visited this afternoon after being turned away from another tearoom in Bakewell as they were too busy. Mounted the staircase to a lovely welcome greeting and were asked to choose a table. Ordered a coffee,chai tea,carrot cake and Bakewell tart. All arrived promptly and were delicious,in fact I was rather jelaous that my husband had picked the Bakewell tart.Homemade by... More 

Helpful?
Thank jularic
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, im glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Also delighted you enjoyed our bakewell tart it is our biggest seller as far as desserts are concerned, ill have to start making more, we do hope to see both yourself & your husband soon, thankyou once again More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Called in on sunday afternoon for a hot drink, latte and mocha and a scone. Long wait for two drinks considering it was not busy. Eventually the drinks come but no scone. Drinks were barely warm, my husband can not drink very hot drinks as he has a sensitive tongue and even he dranks his mocha straight down. We walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennywilliams367
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Have been coming here for years, and left slightly disappointed this time Some of the menu items were off already (and we arrived at midday on a Friday...) but we weren't told this until 10 minutes after we'd ordered. Food was either overcooked (egg in the all day breakfast was rock solid, sausage overcooked) or not hot enough, the tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandRandTandC
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didnt enjoy yr visit with us, you should of been informed about any of our dishes been off the menu when you had been seated, i will reiterate this matter with our servers. I will also inform the chef of his over cooked food as this is not acceptable. Nowhere do we state that our... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2017

A lovely restaurant in the centre of Bakewell, with really good home cooked food, including gluten free menu. It's upstairs, so not really suitable for disabled, but well worth a visit nonetheless. With friendly service, and Georgian atmospheric rooms, it's not to be missed. It's our go-to place for a good meal every time we're in Bakewell.

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Being celiac can always be a tricky mine field when trying to eat out. Here I had a wonderful cauliflower cheese tart and a beautiful brownie. They had lots of gluten free options and understood my requirements. Great little stop, would most certainly return if in the area again

Helpful?
Thank hflicker1
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, we have just today purchased some nice new gluten free meals & also some scrummy desserts, we hope to see you & your family again, thank you once again More 

Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

It was so lovely here. Feels like you're in a b&b. Very impressed with the vegetarian options and all at a good price too, nothing too expensive. The staff were very friendly and the chef even checked everything was alright. I will definitely be going back :)

Helpful?
Thank KatieLouise2015
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated More 

Travellers who viewed Byways also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Byways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812807
Description
Cafe serving homecooked homely food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Byways staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?