We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Byways

Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
+44 1629 812807
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good21%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“rarebit” (9 reviews)
“carrot cake” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by the cosy tea room after a fruitless search round other places in the town. The menu had plenty of choices and you need to look out for specials and a separate board advertising scones that could easily be missed. The...More

Thank gastroroam
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review it is very much appreciated, may we see you again soon

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Family of 4 ordered jacket spuds and drinks. 20 mins for drinks to arrive (after asking where our food was), another 10 mind for food. When it did turn up it was warm, not hot. Understaffed, no order of service. Two tables who ordered after...More

Thank dwnfallen
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped of in Bakewell for breakfast and found this delightful little place, well worth the trip up the stairs. A well cooked and delicious full English breakfast with good service and coffee

Thank Rodders27
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you very much for your positive review it is very much appreciated

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Not good food. Both my husband and my sandwiches were dry and stale, I asked for white bread but was given brown. The clotted cream for scone was dry and crumbly. Never go back again.More

2  Thank Rak1983
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

I can assure you all our bread is fresh daily not dry & stale & as for the clotted cream it is a little crumbly on top but the correct consistency underneath, how can you say not good food when you simply had a sandwich...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I came here many years ago and was my first ever experience of a tearoom which then began my love for the places. We visited again yesterday after me giving a lot of compliments about the place to my other half to then be made...More

1  Thank Alice W
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Visited this afternoon after being turned away from another tearoom in Bakewell as they were too busy. Mounted the staircase to a lovely welcome greeting and were asked to choose a table. Ordered a coffee,chai tea,carrot cake and Bakewell tart. All arrived promptly and were...More

Thank jularic
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, im glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Also delighted you enjoyed our bakewell tart it is our biggest seller as far as desserts are concerned, ill have to start making more, we do hope to see...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Called in on sunday afternoon for a hot drink, latte and mocha and a scone. Long wait for two drinks considering it was not busy. Eventually the drinks come but no scone. Drinks were barely warm, my husband can not drink very hot drinks as...More

Thank jennywilliams367
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Have been coming here for years, and left slightly disappointed this time Some of the menu items were off already (and we arrived at midday on a Friday...) but we weren't told this until 10 minutes after we'd ordered. Food was either overcooked (egg in...More

Thank JandRandTandC
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

I am sorry that you didnt enjoy yr visit with us, you should of been informed about any of our dishes been off the menu when you had been seated, i will reiterate this matter with our servers. I will also inform the chef of...More

Reviewed 21 February 2017

A lovely restaurant in the centre of Bakewell, with really good home cooked food, including gluten free menu. It's upstairs, so not really suitable for disabled, but well worth a visit nonetheless. With friendly service, and Georgian atmospheric rooms, it's not to be missed. It's...More

Thank Sue B
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated.

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Being celiac can always be a tricky mine field when trying to eat out. Here I had a wonderful cauliflower cheese tart and a beautiful brownie. They had lots of gluten free options and understood my requirements. Great little stop, would most certainly return if...More

Thank hflicker1
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you very much for your nice review, we have just today purchased some nice new gluten free meals & also some scrummy desserts, we hope to see you & your family again, thank you once again

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ricci's
525 reviews
.02 km away
The Peacock
1,206 reviews
.05 km away
Original Bakewell Pudding Shop
1,139 reviews
.03 km away
Because I Like It
119 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
173 reviews
.35 km away
All Saints Church
102 reviews
.27 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
67 reviews
1.03 km away
Bath Gardens
28 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Byways staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812807
Description
Cafe serving homecooked homely food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing