We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Duke William

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
91 Church Street, Matlock DE4 3BZ, England
+44 1629 582585
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Used to love this little pub but the new owners have destroyed the once friendly atmosphere. They constantly seem to blame the customer for their shortfalls. I won't be back so don't bother to reply because it won't make the slightest difference to the way I feel. This is not the first time since the new owners takeover I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Honest Grommit
DukeWilliam91, Owner at The Duke William, responded to this review

Response to the readers not the reviewer As a close relative to the Bride and partner of the Brides mother, one would of thought this reviewer would of informed the Bride and Groom of his distaste for the food served and personal experience at The Duke William as I am sure they wouldn't of booked their Wedding reception at the... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for a Halloween weekend ...it's was a nightmare.food was dry and 2hours late. The cheesecake was off .avoid avoid avoid

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
DukeWilliam91, Owner at The Duke William, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sophie ( full response given on Wedding Nightmare review ) If the food was 2 hours late this would indicate that you was served food at 8 pm as the Groom and Bestman/Usher requested the food to be served at 6pm, for anyone to receive dessert after finishing their mains contradicts the times on the... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

unfortunately our experience was not good at all . we had a family members wedding g dinner here and the service was terrible the staff didn't know who`s meal they were bringing out with no organisation. the head table got their meals with us waiting a little under a hour to receive ours which i partner ended up with a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Luke S
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Duke William for my daughter's wedding reception meal. The new owners seemed really friendly! Joke! When we arrived for our wedding reception meal we were told we had booked for 3pm?? My daughters wedding in the church was booked for 3.30 so why the hec would we book the reception meal for 3pm?? Anyway we were told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank julemd
DukeWilliam91, Public Relations Manager at The Duke William, responded to this review

On your arrival at The Duke William at 5pm no party was approached from the Owners. It was in the venues interest to commence service on arrival to allow adequate time. The decision to have the meal at 6pm was requested by the Groom and fellow member of the direct wedding party. At the time of booking the time requested... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Following a wedding that we attended on Saturday 29th October I am writing to say how badly this place is not only run but also how the food is served. I have never come across such a disorganised pub run by bad mannered and rude staff. With a wedding at 3.30 to then follow across the road to this country... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MMJenkins
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We confidently booked the duke for our wedding sit down, after meeting who we thought were very kind and considerate people who run the little country pub! But we had an ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!! They Got the timing of our booking completely wrong, therefore after they had hassled the groom just before he was about to walk down the isle they... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Chantelle S
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The wedding reception we attended at the Duke William will be remembered for not so good reasons, the upstairs room looked lovely but was like a school canteen with 2 long tables instead of round tables as promised which threw any kind of seating plan already arranged completely out the window! The food was an hour and half late and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie S
DukeWilliam91, Owner at The Duke William, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Marie ( full response on wedding nightmare review ) The Bride and Groom had a choice of round tables or banquet style, they decided to change for the banquet style. We adhered to the couples choice. hour and half late for food, meals as newly requested to be served at 6pm all mains meals on... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We was at the duke as it was a friends wedding we arrived for pre drinks before church service and was told by groom that already the day was off to bad start as the landlord of the pub was cooking our meals when he arrived at 3pm we wasn't to eat till 5.30 but the landlord had gotten mix... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa J
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say, the duke William ruined our niece's wedding day. The service was terrible, extremely slow, some people waited an hour and an half before they received their meal. When it was received some meals were cold and dry and not enough food. The management made pathetic excuses and were so rude to the whole room of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
DukeWilliam91, Owner at The Duke William, responded to this review

Thank you Clive for your review When it became apparent that there had been a misunderstanding on timings which came to light when the food was requested to be served at 6pm by the Groom and Best man / Usher We did inform the Groom of our concerns one of which was the speed of service, however under the circumstances... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

THE NEW OWNERS ARE THE MOST RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL PEOPLE IVE EVER COME ACROSS IN A BUISSNESS THAT IS MEANT TO BE A FRIENDLY ENVIROMENT! They have no people experience , no catering experience but sure know how to clear a room that was set for a wedding in seconds! The service for food is so poor that I personally... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Amy H
DukeWilliam91, Owner at The Duke William, responded to this review

Thank you Amy for your review ( full response given on wedding nightmare review ) Your comment is based on an assumption with regards experience, background and qualification. We have successfully catered for larger numbers at The Duke. Agreed the room was set for a wedding ( with a closure to that room to the public on the eve of... More 

Travellers who viewed The Duke William also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Duke William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91 Church Street, Matlock DE4 3BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 582585

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Duke William and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Matlock
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke William staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?