We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shalimar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dale Road North | Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HX, England
+44 1629 735999
Website
Today
17:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,641: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We both had a fantastic night, the food was beautiful, the best indian food we have had, the staff where all extremely welcoming and friendly and went above and beyond all our expectations, looking forward to coming back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the minute you step in to the restaurant you are made to feel special, when it came to ordering my main course Ajmil asked me what type of dish I prefer, 10 minutes later he arrived at my table with sample to taste, it was delicious - I gave my approval, when my dish arrived I must say this... More 

Helpful?
Thank 614gary
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Meal was nice although the food was not all served together which seemed strange, but was too much to carry! When it did arrive we enjoyed the food although the bill was not right and was changed efficiently, we also questioned cost of two lime and sodas which was£5.95 which seemed a lot and an odd amount for two of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Over on holiday from Dublin and decided to try based on the good reviews. The staff were very helpful in recommending excellent choices, the tandoori lamb and tandoori king prawns were fantastically tasty starters. Mains were also great (one lamb and one chicken dish) with meat cooked perfectly in curries full of flavour. We were too full for dessert but... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobCol78
Tansley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quality food and great service every time we visit. Book to avoid disappointment as this restaurant is very popular !

Helpful?
Thank naughtysharpei
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing praise we are so pleased when receive reviews like yours and it makes all the hard work so worthwhile. We look forward to your next visit. More 

East Midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My meal was piping hot. I was given good advice about choices and I loved the food I had. The restaurant felt very busy - it is. They are clearly very successful and deserve to be so. My concern was that it felt a little too fast paced; the staff worked very hard and showed warmth but the experience was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AChir
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and your evening with us. As you may recall we were extremely busy that evening and i did manage to find you a table as you had not booked i am sorry if you felt that you were rushed it was not our intention but... More 

Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We do not eat meat but do eat fish. Food was 'good enough' on the couple of occasions we have visited The Shalimar. We've also had a takeaway but were pretty underwhelmed. The staff are very friendly but this is an old Little Chef and struggles for atmosphere. There are better Indian restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Ihadawheelbarrow
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review unfortunately we cannot please everyone's taste and it seems on this occasion we didn't manage to please yours. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and we respect yours. Maybe in the future you will visit us again and give us another try . More 

Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having read very good reviews of the Shalimar, we visited it last night. We were very impressed by the excellent food, which was equalled by the very good standard of service. We have already booked our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Penny J
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are so glad that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere when you visited us and am pleased that you have booked with us again we all look forward to seeing you. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just had a delivery from The Shalimar whilst staying at Darwin Forest. Pre ordered for about 8.15 and delivered at 8.40. Couldn't have been more apologetic for being late. From the guy who took my order to the delivery guy they were so nice and polite. As for the food it was fantastic. Garlic and cheese nan was unbelievable as... More 

Helpful?
Thank stclanico
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your excellent review.We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food that you ordered and everything was to your liking. Once again sorry for the delay but we were extremely busy and I am so glad that it did not spoil your evening. We look forward to your next visit to Darwin Forest... More 

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have a takeaway every week and it has always been 10/10. The best by far! The staff are very friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank slscard
The_Shalimar_DD, Owner at The Shalimar, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for your comments i have passed them onto the team. We look forward to your continued custom. More 

Travellers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$31
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 00:00
Saturday
17:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dale Road North | Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 735999

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Shalimar and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Shalimar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?