We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ice House Restaurant

The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 23500
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (6 reviews)
“mousse” (2 reviews)
“chowder” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We recently spent a romantic weekend at the Ice House and after the first dinner, we decided: that's it, we are not even going to try to look for other restaurants. The food was great, both taste and presentation and the lovely waitresses made us...More

1  Thank Mariyan A
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant at the Ice House. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your recent dining experience with us, our chef and service team will really appreciate your kind comments. We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently spent two night in the Ice House, the hotels location is beautiful and the bedrooms all have lovely views of the river, the decor in the lobby is also very inviting and cost, it is also a good location for seeing all the...More

Thank Niamh52
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, we will take your valued feedback on board and discuss your experience with our relevant teams, on a positive...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel and had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night. The tables by the window are really private and cosy. The staff are wonderful, we got great recommendations about the food and wine and it did not disappoint! We had 3...More

2  Thank Sarah S
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and valued feedback of the restaurant at the Ice House. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your dining experience's with us, our chef and indeed our entire team will be delighted with your positive comments. We...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Meat dishes were great, The risotto and fish dishes were not really great. The service was very good.More

Thank Wama10
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review and valued feedback of our restaurant at the Ice House. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us recently and that the level of service you received overall impressed you, however I...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Very nice ambience and staff - relaxed and casual, nice menu for 2 or 3 course option and good value.More

Thank l0l66
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant at the Ice House. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch and enjoyed the ambiance and service you received from our team during your visit. We look forward to looking...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I found the food here nice,but I thought it was expensive for what I received,the choice was good but what I ordered wasn't cooked the way it should of been,I had quail and pheasant,both tasted nice but were overcooked,my partner had calamari which was frozen,I...More

1  Thank Ourlads
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant here at the Ice House. I am sorry to read that some aspects of your recent dining experience with us did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I will discuss your feedback with...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

When our group arrived at the Icehouse for lunch the small reception area/foyer was full of large blue linen trolleys, not a great first impression. The bar setting is nice with views of the river. The food served in the bar is expensive and is...More

Thank conor m
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant here at the Ice House. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. I would like to discuss your experience in more detail if you wouldn't mind...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Great rooms though getting a bit tired. Some great staff though others less so, especially in the restaurant where service was functional. Food good but unfortunately the restaurant is far too hot so left early. Overall a nice hotel in a lovely setting but overpricedMore

1  Thank TBRJ
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, we will take your valued feedback on board and discuss your experience with our relevant teams, on a positive...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Revisiting the Ice House restaurant after a few months when we really enjoyed our dinner. Restaurant was nicely busy, we were shown to our table given our water, menu and then left on our own for nearly fifteen minutes when I asked if we could...More

1  Thank Paul M
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of the the Ice House. I am sorry to read that your return visit did not meet expectations on this occasion, I will look into the comments you have highlighted in your review which contributed to your...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Went to the ice house on a spa package which included tea/ coffee and scones on arrival a treatment and lunch fabulous location we had tea and scones on arrival they were fabulous I had a back n head massage and mini facial its was...More

1  Thank MaryPmcdonnell
ICE-HOUSE-TEAM, Deputy General Manager at Ice House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your overall dining experience with us, we will take your valued feedback on board and discuss your comments with our relevant teams, on a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dillons Bar & Restaurant
500 reviews
1.50 km away
Belleek Castle Restaurant
316 reviews
.74 km away
Crockets on the Quay
374 reviews
.52 km away
The Everest
188 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Belleek Castle Museum
179 reviews
.75 km away
Connacht Whiskey Company
51 reviews
.66 km away
Gore Knox Monument
6 reviews
.81 km away
Rachel's Irish Adventures
21 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ice House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$71
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Ballina
  • Phone Number: +353 96 23500
  • E-mail
Description
Our funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design at the Ice House combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled view from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and Ireland's best boutique hotel spa guaranteed to soothe, the Ice House is unlike any other hotels in Mayo. Discover the best of both worlds here in Ballina and make the Ice House your escape to the extraordinary. Breakfast you'll want to get out of bed for, lunch to linger over and dinner that's sure to delight...Let our restaurant menus whet your appetite and here at the Ice House, let us take care of everything else. There's simply no better restaurant in Ballina.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing