We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heffernans Fine Foods

4 Market Square, Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 21218
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“egg dishes” (2 reviews)
“t bone steak” (2 reviews)
“pasta” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
$$ - $$$
4 Market Square, Ballina, Ireland
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited in mid-afternoon. Staff were very attentive. Service was efficient. The food was freshly prepared and was very tasty. Based on the food experience, my rating would have been 'good'. BUT there was a downside.... Visited the toilet which is off the downstairs dining area....More

1  Thank FlamboShambo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I did not anticipate find a good Italian restaurant in Ballina but Heifer & Hen far exceeded my expectation. Everyone in our party of 5 was very please with their dinner & deserts. This in a must try restaurant.

1  Thank Joe C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to Heifer and Hen on basis of a personal recommendation - and will certainly return as the quality of food really was excellent and this is a very nice restaurant This would be 5/5 by any standards had it not been for the...More

Thank Chris737320
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love this restaurant and have visited this place many times. Each time I come here I am greeted with the friendly and welcoming staff. The food is to die for, especially the pizza. This restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner for two or...More

1  Thank lhf0x
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had our meal here on Saturday night, service was second to none, our waiter was very attentive to our table, place was fully booked, great choice on menu, from pasta to fab seafood dishes, great selection of wines also, highly recommended here, beautiful decor, lovely...More

Thank Galway5672
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an overnight stay in Ballina and the Heifer and Hen was recommended by our host. The meal and the service were very good. You could do a lot worse than pay a visit yourself!

Thank seanandnic
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always enjoy the food here, have never been let down by it. Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Would always recommend to anyone.

1  Thank BRENDAN L
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Ok place for lunch if you order salads, fishcakes or food that was previously prepared in the deli. The restaurant itself, which is supposed to be "Italian", has some pasta, pizza and chicken dishes. Waiting times tend to be long. Staff is generally nice. Don't...More

Thank Fred T
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We were a group of about eight for dinner. Staff were efficient and friendly. I started with brushetta which was wonderful. For mains I had pasta which was excellent too, as was dessert. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Service could have been a little faster,...More

1  Thank Eily1961
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Today I visited the cafe part having been here many times previously. However I have recently been diagnosed as coeliac. I am so very disappointed to discover the only gluten free option on the menu was soup. When I asked the waitress did you have...More

2  Thank Katrina K
Nearby Restaurants
Dillons Bar & Restaurant
432 reviews
.35 km away
The Broken Jug
265 reviews
.24 km away
The Junction
164 reviews
.12 km away
Bar Square
318 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jackie Clarke Collection
102 reviews
.14 km away
Connacht Whiskey Company
29 reviews
.67 km away
Ballina Arts Centre
12 reviews
.51 km away
Gore Knox Monument
6 reviews
.70 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
elizabeth O
I would like to know if there is a good choice of food for a coeliac with lactose intolerance as I am dining there later this week
20 January 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Inscribe | Reviewed this property |
It didn't occur to me to ask them at the time However your best bet might be to give them a call on 096-21218 If you decide to go I hope you have a good time there.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Market Square, Ballina, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Ballina
  • Phone Number: +353 96 21218
  • E-mail
Heffernan's Butchers was established in 1961 by John Heffernan at Convent Hill Ballina. His son Anthony carries on the proud family tradition today, developing the business into a fine food emporium including the Heifer and Hen restaurant which offers fine food, excellent service, elegant surroundings, select wines and classical music. We have won many awards over the years from the Retail Excellence Award - Top 50 stores 2009 and 2010 to Georgina Campbell Award, Ulster Bank Business Achievers Award and were nominated for Best restaurant Award 2013. We are all about getting to know our customers. As well as providing top quality and fully traceable food we strive to do everything possible to make you feel welcome and comfortable. As you can tell food is what we do, Fine Food. All food in our delicatessen is prepared by our staff in house. Our policy is to source all our foods and ingredients from local suppliers and to prepare everything in our own abattoir, kitchen or bakery. We make homemade scones, cakes, breads, desserts, tray bakes. We believe in supporting our local community and many of our customers are also our supplier. We view business as a circle - "what goes around comes around". We support our local community/customers, and our local community/customers support us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing