We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Pier, Ballyvaughan H91 W9TN, Ireland
+353 65 707 7059
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 529: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

After a long day of travel our BnB suggested Monk's. Great suggestion. Although it has a fairly large restaurant seating area that was crowded, they quickly found us a table. Service was excellent and friendly while the food was tremendous. My wife had a Guinness Stew that was wonderful and my Seafood Platter was fresh and delicious. These were both... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived on what was a busy night, but were found a table immediately, and enjoyed an excellent meal (mainly sea food), with surprisingly speedy and pleasant service; the excellent band (trad Irish: fiddle, banjo and bazouki) was a great bonus. Nice views across the estuary, too. Thoroughly recommended !

Helpful?
Thank Frank190744
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I were encouraged by a coworker to check out Monks at the pier...I had no idea! We arrived about 11:45 and were told that hot food started at noon (note that you can get coffee, tea, scones, etc. earlier). We decided to have a Guinness (my friend) and a Bullmers (me) while we waited. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best seafood in Ballyvaughan & right on the Galway Bay. Salmon, mussels, clams & if you do not want seafood there are other delectable choices.

Helpful?
Thank valerie115
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I pride myself on being positive and giving fair reviews but not impressed here at all. 4 of us sat to eat here, - we walked in to see the ' Manager ' totally dressing down a young apprentice waiter, totally inappropriate and should of been done out of sight or even not at all as not convince he did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Claretwayno
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We called into this bar/restaurant at lunchtime for a drink. One of our party enquired could they make a change in the menu for the evening meal. The head chef Mick invited my wife into his kitchen to discuss and was so agreeable to make the change, nice touch. Having reviewed the menu we booked a table for six in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daveoloc
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at Monks bar for lunch and really enjoyed this. Freindly welcome and good choice of seafood. We have prawns pil pil and herb crusted baked cod. Really good Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank plt99
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here on a lovely sunny Sunday in May. On ordering,we were told we would need to pay in advance for the food by an embarrassed waiter. This instantly created a very poor impression, and frankly, is poor business service in a reasonably pricey restaurant. After getting our food,we wanted to order a few drinks. The waiter was sent... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nicolamDublin
MonksOffice, General Manager at Monks Ballyvaughan, responded to this review

Good morning Nicola, On behalf of Monks at the Pier I would like to apologise to you for your less than satisfactory experience when you visited. We endeavour to do our utmost to ensure that all our customers have a memorable experience and I can only apologise that was not the case for you. At the moment our policy is... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Monks approx 1600 on a Sunday afternoon with our two young children. Received warm welcome and we're shown to our table. Our waitress came to take our order. This lady appeared to be very flustered, told us about her terrible day, used fowl language in conversation and commented on how tough that Manager was. Anyway about 50mins later... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Sadiesue20
MonksOffice, Manager at Monks Ballyvaughan, responded to this review

On behalf of Monks at the Pier I would like to apologise most sincerely for the way you were treated when you visited. It most certainly is not our policy at Monks to have staff use foul language or for that matter to discuss the work issues of the day with our customers. This matter has been addressed with both... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Ballyvaghan for one night - a Tuesday night - and every pub and restaurant we visited was either closed or not serving food, except for Monks which was happily close to our hotel. We had a really nice meal, the seafood pasta in particular was very good. Friendly efficient service, and a lovely location overlooking the sea.

Helpful?
Thank MsRiley

Travellers who viewed Monks Ballyvaughan also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Monks Ballyvaughan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Pier, Ballyvaughan H91 W9TN, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Clare  >  The Burren  >  Ballyvaughan
  • Phone Number: +353 65 707 7059
Description
At Monks we have a special love for the sea and you can taste it in every delicious mouthful of our authentic, traditional food – lovingly prepared with only the freshest and finest, locally-produced ingredients. And it’s all paired with the picture-postcard prettiness, harbour charm and welcoming country comfort that is the beautiful old fishing port of Ballyvaughan – pearl of the Burren.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monks Ballyvaughan and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Monks Ballyvaughan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?