We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse Pub and Restaurant

$$ - $$$, British,
Main Street, Foxton, Market Harborough LE16 7RD, England
+44 1858 545250
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good0%
  • Average25%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (2 reviews)
“off the menu” (2 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Main Street, Foxton, Market Harborough LE16 7RD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After finding The Black Horse on line when looking for somewhere to eat in the Foxton Locks area that catered for Gluten Free diet where we were meeting up with family. I asked my sister to book it on Friday as I was busy. I...More

1  Thank Rose6214
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How lucky are we to have this fantastic forward thinking local in the village?. The whole atmosphere is the pub had changed, well done you . It’s gone from a dingy basic pub, to a tasteful wine bar/ pub and upmarket eatery. Forget the negative...More

Thank MandyMaldives2011
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a birthday meal out. Very willing staff but had no knowledge of the various gins on offer in the bar which had been well publicised, no slimline tonic available! The food was disappointing for the price, rack of lamb in my view...More

1  Thank 525amanda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We saw the signs promoting the revamped pub which we had visited some years before. The food was not up to the standard we were expecting. I had the steak and ale pie,the meat was ok but there was not enough gravey, if you want...More

1  Thank Ron186334
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunday roast too expensive under new management. Really objected to cards on table advising of 10% service charge unless one raised matter at till. Before 10%, already slightly dearer than other good quality pubs in nearby villages. Bill (with 10%) 17.60 pounds each person for...More

Thank travelhopefully99
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don’t normally write reviews. Went to this place for dinner last night & it was fabulous, fillet medallions were amazing & sticky toffee pud with caramelised banana was sublime. Will definitely be back.

Thank Marie F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If it's the fancy photos on social media that make you want to visit, you'll be disappointed, the inside was underwhelming with old furniture having been hand painted (its starting to flake off allready) the table laid with b&m's salt and pepper grinder! With main...More

1  Thank alan p
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tried the Black Horse Foxton last Friday evening with friends, had beers & there special gins stood by the busy bar it was buzzing, my party tried 5 different meals all bloody lovely, the best fish n chips i believe i've ever tasted, you gotta...More

Thank scottieq
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my family had Sunday lunch 21st of January busy restaurant, friendly staff, nice food reasonably priced 2nd time in 2 weeks just to check the first time wasn't a fluke very good both times & different dishes each time

1  Thank jon-grimmett
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Tried the Black Horse Foxton as we heard it was new chef & new owners what a great surprise it was, the meal we all had was superb everyone tried a different dish off the menu & everyone commented how delicious there meal was, it...More

Thank SQ1969
BHFoxton, Public Relations Manager at The Black Horse Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hello there, Thank you for the 5 star review you have given The Black Horse, Foxton! We can't thank you enough for the lovely words and the team at the restaurant hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, The Black...More

PreviousNext
12
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Foxton Hotels
Premier Inn Market Harborough Hotel
385 reviews
3.41 km away
Angel Hotel
281 reviews
4.05 km away
Travelodge Market Harborough
291 reviews
4.09 km away
The Three Swans Hotel
1,303 reviews
4.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Foxton Locks Inn
785 reviews
.74 km away
The Bell Inn
100 reviews
1.57 km away
Texas Steakhouse
252 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Foxton Locks
773 reviews
.77 km away
Armourgeddon
285 reviews
7.02 km away
The George at Great Oxendon
65 reviews
7.30 km away
Armourgeddon Military Vehicle Museum
11 reviews
7.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Horse Pub and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$32
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Foxton, Market Harborough LE16 7RD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Market Harborough  >  Foxton
  • Phone Number: +44 1858 545250
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing