We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Handcross RH17 6BP, England
+44 1444 400292
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been here a few times before and it never lets me down. Came here for the annual family Christmas get together and it's a warm, friendly, inviting place. Everyone is very welcoming and the food is delicious - everytime! At Christmas if 6 of you eat from the Christmas menu you get a free bottle of Prosecco, there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank prolo86
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you e not been here, your loss as it really is so damn good. Service is impeccable, food is impeccable and the internal decor is outstanding. We visited again after being seriously let down by a pub in Cuckfield (will never visit again) and they found us a table with no issues whatsoever, even though we just turned up.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AidanRi
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The 'Waygu' burger came out hard and well over cooked. Complete rip off. Nothing exceptional about it.

Helpful?
Thank tracytaylorbeck
Manager R, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn't up to our normal standard. We did check back with you to make sure everything was OK and you didn't say about the burger being hard or over cooked. If this was the case we would of happily replaced the meal for you. Please contact me at the pub if you... More 

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with 3 friends, don't think we will be back. Menu sounds great, sadly the over priced dishes do not match up. 2 of us had the salmon , which must be the smallest piece either of us had been served, the winter veg tart, the pastry was over cooked. Only the cod and chips was really good. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank R H
Manager R, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

We appreciate all feedback and we are disappointed that you felt this way while you were dining with us. I will pass your comments on to the chef about the food. We apologise and hope this doesn't put you off dining with us again. If you would like to discuss your visit please contact me at the pub. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A party of nine ate lunch in this very busy pub .Service was slow Starters were good .Fourof the main courses were over cooked and arrived much later than the other five They made a small compensation for the poor main courses I feel they were understaff .l was a bit disappointed as I had suggested the pub after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boe1943
Red H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We appreciate you recommending us and we are disappointed that the experience wasn't as great as you had hoped for after dining with us previously. I hope this doesn't put you off coming back as like you said you had a good experience the time before and we would... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pub in the village centre that has been given a modern but stylish makeover so that it is now mainly a restaurant. We had an excellent Sunday lunch including a home-made nut roast served with all the trimmings. Lovely staff. Do make sure you book in advance and turn up on time for your table as it is super popular!

Helpful?
Thank Aethelthryth
Red H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our nut roast is so highly recommended that people who aren't vegetarian also enjoy it. Thank you for sharing this and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant food and great evening. Lisa the waitress was so good unbelievable Everything came with a smile and a laugh and explanation

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
Red H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on to Lisa and to the Chefs. Lisa has only joined us recently and has had an immediate impact on our guests and has settled in well and she will be proud to here that all her hard work is being noticed not just by us as her managers but... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Well worth the drive from Brighton, we all chose different meals and all enjoyed them very much. The welcome was warm and friendly, excellent and varied menu, food hot and very well presented, service although not fast was appropriate for the type of meal - I'd always prefer to wait for freshly prepared food than have fast service with food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Red H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that you drove from Brighton just to dine with us. It makes us feel proud and honoured. I'm happy that we didn't disappoint. We pride ourselves on our fresh food so it nice that our guests recognise this. Look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

The staff, and in particular Tom have made this a great theme for this years halloween! It looks Fab!

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We got a friendly welcome after an easy online booking process. The menu is super offering a wide variety of choices. The staff were friendly an attentive. The food was excellent, piping hot and the presentation was very good. I had Mushroom Arancini, Streak and ale pie and fruit crumble - all delicious. there's a good car park. We'll go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter36mc
Red H, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We pride ourselves on having a team who interact with our guests as well as provide excellent service so the team will be happy to know that their hard work is being recognised. I will pass your comments on to the team and the chefs and we hope... More 

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Handcross, West Sussex
Staplefield, West Sussex
 
Crawley Down, West Sussex
 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
Bromley, Greater London
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Handcross RH17 6BP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Handcross
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 400292
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Red Lion - Handcross serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?