We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bolton Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
91 The Street, Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7DA, England
+44 1256 819555
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 216: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited this pub with a few friends for an evening meal two months ago, everyone enjoyed their food and there was real ale to be had, all through the wine selection was a little disappointing ,,This place is not cheap but the food and the service is very good . I recommend the Bolton arms for that special dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank fellowes2014
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here following the good trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Menu had a good selection and the food was fantastic. Ribs and pork belly went down a treat. Puddings were also spot on. Definitely worth a visit and we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just been for Sunday lunch and it was absolutely brilliant. 6 of us went and all agreed food was great. All had roasts nothing was left...perfect amount of veg and meat. Serving staff were really good nothing too much trouble. Puddings were also enjoyed. We will definately be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie S
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

Just returned from a lovely meal at The Bolton Arms. We'd booked late so were prepared to eat in the bar, but on arrival we were told there was a table available in the restaurant. We ordered Tapas to start, which consisted of Chinese ribs (delicious) peppers stuffed with Feta (also delicious) and sauted Chorizo with Balsamic glaze which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank UkVimtogirl
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

We hadn't been to The Bolton Arms since it was a pub only very many years ago and took my son for his 21st birthday last night. The Landlord was very hospitable and after we sat at our table, he came to ask my son what he would like to drink. He asked for a gin and tonic and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kitleysue
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Had an excellent lunch and not over-priced. Staff very pleasant and helpful. There is also a garden for customers in the warmer weather.

Helpful?
Thank rosie102015
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Visited tonight for our judo club Christmas Meal. Lovely atmosphere, very efficient staff, decent amount of room at the table, good quality crackers. The food was very good, well presented and ample portions. Most of the plates went back empty, always a good sign. This is the second time that the club has visited, somehow I don't think it will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We have been to this pub a number of times. The staff is friendly and the pub is a lovely old establishment. They have a band playing regularly as well

Helpful?
Thank Marta S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

After seeing how high this was on trip advisor, I and my partner were extremely disappointed. The olives as a appetiser were excellent but the bread was just a few slices cut from a brown and white loaf. However, on asking for balsamic and olive oil for the bread, is when it descended into a bit of a farce. The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard G
Duncan K, Owner at The Bolton Arms, responded to this review

I am somewhat confused as we don't serve bread with the Misto Mixed Olives, which, as standard, are served in OLIVE OIL (- but you say that we don't have any on the premises ?) Wow, how simple it is to disprove complaints ! It would seem your powers of observation let you down on this occasion as we stopped... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

last sunday lunch time we held a joint birthday and engagement party for our daughter, all i can say is the whole day was fabulous everybody had a great time., the service and food was amazing, we we so looked after and could not fault one thing, special thanks goes to Nicole and Mikki for looking after us so amazingly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank em131969

Travellers who viewed The Bolton Arms also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91 The Street, Old Basing, Basingstoke RG24 7DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke  >  Old Basing
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 819555
Description
Originally built as a farmhouse circa 1490, this Grade II Listed building was extended during 1550, 1650 and latterly 1720, as shown below. The sympathetic renovation of 2008 uncovered a wealth of period features such as vaulted ceilings, oak beams and central brick fireplace, all of which have added to the intimate ambience of the three clearly defined areas : Roschild’s Restaurant (fine dining); The InnBetween (snacks and nibbles); The Village Bar (quality wines and beers). In addition, there is an attractive landscaped Beer Garden at the rear of the property For the historians, Old Basing was the site for the longest siege of Oliver Cromwell’s reign where Roundhead met Cavalier during the 23 month siege of Basing House which ended in November 1645. A large proportion of the ruins were used to build the houses in The Street with musket ball damage still being visible. The site of Basing House is open to the public for most of the yearThe InnBetween at the Bolton Arms was built from the bricks of Basing House and is renowned for sitings of “The Cavalier” ghost that has been seen on many occasions. It is rumoured that upon his arrival in Old Basing Cromwell beheaded one of his generals in the original part of the building as “encouragement” to others !Following Oliver and Richard Cromwell’s Protectorate period the House of Stuart was restored to the throne in 1660 when the lands of Basing were returned to the Paulet family. A “Dukedom” was specifically created and bestowed upon Charles Paulet as a show of gratitude for his loyalty to the Crown. Charles Paulet became the first Duke of Bolton, hence the name of the pub. Charles Paulet was later elevated to the position of Lord Bolton by a simple clerical error when called upon to address the House of LordsThe InnBetween was the original Dame School for the area prior to the education system being established. Between 1720 to 1740 two spinster sisters offered rudimentary lessons to local youngsters between 8 am to noon for a penny a week - prior to the boys going to work in the fields and the girls commencing house chores. In the evening the schoolhouse became the local hostelry Conveniently situated in the quiet and picturesque Conservation Area of Old Basing, the Bolton Arms is less than two miles from Basingstoke town centre. The village is surrounded by beautiful Hampshire countryside of open fields and riverside walks and is next to the cricket green, archery and bowling club, tennis courts and children’s recreation ground. If these pursuits appear too energetic, however, you can relax while spotting the many species of wildlife and birds that are found in the area ?

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bolton Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Honiton, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bolton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?