We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish and Eels

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 17/10
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveller rating
651
200
153
191
389
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
651
200
153
191
389
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pub lovely lunch louise weir jordan refurb
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

After visiting the pub before Covid, our first return visit was meet with big smiles. The deco has been completely updated with different seating sections all complimentary to each other, great colour scheme and lovely live fires... The food was also exceptional, with options available...normally found in a restaurant rather than a pub! The pie of the day was really tasty. Great waiting staff who just seemed so happy to be back working in a busy pub. Highly recommend..and now want to return for Sunday lunch ...More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, we are so pleased you loved your visit with us! We always love to hear our guests have a great time and we will be sure to pas on your kind words to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Was staying at Dobbs Weir Caravan Park and this pub is a very short walk away, so perfect location for us. Based in beautiful surroundings overlooking the weir. We had a fantastic server, Michelle, who attended to us swiftly. Our drinks arrived quickly and the...food was outstanding. I can highly recommend the Fish and Eels if you are in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Mark_isle_of_wight, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a stunning review! Your support is very much appreciated. We are over the moon that you decided to join us for lunch and that you got to experience all that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a friend for brunch this morning. It has a really lovely setting despite the rain when we were there. The brunch menu had plenty of options for us to choose from and very efficient service from Ellice.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning 661ags, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We very much believe that our brunch menu offers something for everyone so we're happy to hear you and your friend enjoyed brunch with us. I will be sure to pass...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing Sunday roast, lovely atmosphere and great, attentive service from our waitress Kat. 100% recommend :)More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning R8375lpnellc, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We're over the moon that you chose to dine with us for Sunday lunch and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team and Cat. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose the Fish and Eels for my family birthday celebration as the location by the river is beautiful and it is also accessible for an elderly relative with poor mobility. We had not eaten there before but were all very happy with our food...and Michelle looked after us very well, coping patiently with all requests. When I booked I'd mentioned that we'd like to be seated overlooking the water and this was accommodated with seating in a lovely space which we had to ourselves. We also spent a few minutes on the outside decking area to watch the swans and barges go by and soak up the lovely atmosphere. I'm sure we'll be back soon.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and you chose us for your birthday meal. We are pleased Michelle took great care of you and we will pass your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cat was are waitress and she was absolutely lovely and friendly. Food was great atmosphere great the only complaint is because of the amount of candles it gets very warm lol.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, We are so pleased you had such a lovely time with us and that you thought everything was great. We do apologise if it was a bit too warm for you and we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely lunch date with my partner in a picturesque setting. Food was outstanding we ended up ordering the side of prawns again :) Michelle the waitress was very helpful and friendly. Due to the staff and food we're definitely looking at having our Christmas Dinner...here.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, We are so pleased you chose us for your lunch date and you had such a great time. We have such an amazing team and menu and we are so pleased you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Michelle was very helpful and friendly and accommodated all our requests. Breakfast was lovely as usual.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your recent feedback, we are so pleased Michelle took great care of you and you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Emma and The Fish and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently, my partner, myself and my son wanted to get away from our local area for a while and grab a bite to eat. My son loves rivers, so we looked for a waterside restaurant in the rural areas surrounding our town. It was a...Sunday and my partner was adamant that he wanted a roast dinner, so we factored this in when Googling suitable locations. My partner found a lovely riverside gastropub in Hoddesdon, a picturesque spot in the Lea Valley area of Hertfordshire. When we arrived parking proved difficult; granted, my partner was driving a large vehicle, but the car park was full regardless. We ended up parking down a lane on the opposite side of the road (a parking ticket may still materialise). My partner was clear on the phone when booking that we wanted to be seated by the river, and this was accommodated for, despite how busy they were and our last-minute reservation. The outdoor seating area in the front garden is lovely, but is situated near the road. We were welcomed warmly at the reception desk and a friendly waitress cheerfully led us to the seating area in the back garden. We were initially seated in the aisle of seating away from the river, but elected to wait for them to clear a table that was directly riverside. The views were lovely, particularly on a hot sunny day, and the scenery ignited many interesting conversations with my son about habitats, ecosystems and food webs. As we walked through the indoor area I noted the old farm-style decor, which is standard for many rural gastropubs. They have an old-fashioned fireplace and wooden beams on the ceilings and walls. What stood out to me was the pretty table decorations (an image of which was swiftly added to my photography portfolio). The service was attentive and energetic, despite how busy they were. Our waitress had a great sense of humour and definitely earned her tip! My partner ordered his roast (a trio of meats), which was presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. He particularly enjoyed the lamb, which he said was so tender it almost melted in his mouth. My son had a burger and chips, which he enjoyed. He also had a side salad which he said was ‘weird’ as it consisted of chunky sticks of carrots, peppers and cucumber. I suggested that he call it a ‘dipping salad’ and dip the vegetables in one of the pots of sauce that came with our various meals. He never got around to this as the burger and chips were so filling. I had the chicken and mushroom dish, which was delicious; the chicken was succulent, with a rich gravy. It isn’t the best chicken and mushroom-based dish I have tried (that award currently goes to Aspera in Benfleet, for their chicken leg and mushroom), but it was certainly with the money! The cocktail selection is adequate and the drinks themselves are prepared and presented well. If you are ever in Hoddesdon looking for beautiful riverside views, great food and great service, I would definitely recommend The Fish and Eels. It is slightly more expensive than some other eateries in the area, but in my opinion it is worth the extra expense when the experience surpasses the cheaper options. The only negative aspect of our visit was the fact that there was only one toilet open; considering how busy they were they should have opened the upstairs toilet in order to avoid the long queues! Patrons shouldn’t have to queue and let their food go cold, particularly when paying above-average prices for the area. This is particularly problematic when drinks are flowing…More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon TwonettiLife, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we’re over the moon that you chose to spend your Sunday afternoon with us. We were very fortunate...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came in yesterday for a Sunday roast, which was lovely. Served by Cat who was attentive and fab! Will be coming again soon.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at Fish and Eels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your recent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday roast and Cat looked after you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Emma and The Fish and...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Roydon Mill Motel
23 reviews
4.42 km away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
836 reviews
4.65 km away
Premier Inn Ware hotel
433 reviews
6.12 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
530 reviews
6.43 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spark Bar & Kitchen
126 reviews
1.33 km away
Saffron
247 reviews
1.33 km away
River Palace Cafe
114 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rye-assic Adventure Park
125 reviews
1.53 km away
ESSA Water Activities Centre
5 reviews
.79 km away
The Spotlight
37 reviews
1.46 km away
The White Swan Hoddesdon
61 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Denise T
13 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Davidbh666 | Reviewed this property |
Now it’s a 35 minute wait at your table in the sun no parasol and no drinks
0
Votes
Liz J
15 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LB0505 | Reviewed this property |
You are allowed dogs inside in the bar/casual area. Just not in the main restaurant. You can sit in the bar area and order from the same menu as the restaurant.
1
Vote
846svetlanav
25 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TASSOHerts | Reviewed this property |
You are quite clearly asking the wrong people! This is a query for the staff at the restaurant in question! Maybe they are having staffing problems!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fish and Eels

Yes, Fish and Eels is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Fish and Eels is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3