We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Founded by four friends from Surrey, we are passionate about creating exceptional dishes and cocktails with British produce and serving the best of British wine and ale in a relaxed environment where you feel at home. The Plough Inn forms the culmination of much dreaming to bring something special to our local area with a team from some of London's top venues including Head Chef John Sparks from Mayfair's Dunhill Club and General Manager Axel Murrle to bring a fresh new pub to Surrey. We look forward to welcoming you.
PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$76
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
326
120
82
52
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
326
120
82
52
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak t bone chateaubriand triple cooked chips sunday roast pork sticky toffee pudding salad bread rare breed the pub side dishes peppercorn sauce special occasion table service saturday evening lovely evening
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every single dish myself and my family received was outstanding. Compliments to the chef and the extremely attentive and friendly wait staff.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kyle, Thanks for writing a review of your recent experience with us. Glad everything was to your liking and you loved your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards, Sam Reed Regional Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food, friendly helpful staff, feel covid considerations have been excellent throughout the pandemic, feels safe, good atmosphere. Best steaks around and the red wine sauce is perfect. Try the smoked salmon too

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sian, Thanks for the review of your recent experience. Glad you enjoyed all aspects of your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards, Sam Reed Regional Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Driving past The Plough, on our way to stay in Chatley Heath Semaphore Tower, it looked like a traditional country pub. So, on Sunday evening, we set out walking across the fields, hoping for a pleasant drink. The warning signs came when we could hear...thumping music from over half a mile away. We were shown to an outside table (not offered the option of sitting inside), where we were subjected to awful piped music, superimposed on the other racket. The website mentions local ales, but I was offered only one actual beer, a very light IPA from London, other than lager and Guinness. The prices are astronomical - my pint was £5.80, my wife's Prosecco £8, and they added 12.5% service without asking. I didn't get this taken off, because the only positive part of the experience was the friendly and efficient staff.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick, First of all thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed the service from our friendly staff. I just need to confirm the racket music you heard was actually from our Neighbour’s; The Medicine Garden who were having an event on. Our music level...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

5 star service, fantastic ambience and amazing food. Not cheap but neither should it be when it’s this good. Lovely outdoor seating, looking great at night Parking can be a bit tricky. Can’t wait to go back

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Adsss, Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your Rarebreed experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Sam Reed Regional Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Serving staff attentive without being intrusive. Starters fine followed by a Chateaubriand for two. Cooked medium rare as requested but lacked flavour and was tough. £75 for the steak just not worth it.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kajones57, Glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and were looked after well on your visit. We are disappointed to read you were let down by our chateaubriand. I must say we don’t often get this review for our meat, it is usually met...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the Plough in my youth and having also worked behind the bar, I was eager to see what the owners had done with this fine old “pub”. But be under no illusion, this is no longer a pub but a fine dining restaurant...with a fabulous steak menu to single out just one element. Loved the food and attentive professional service. It’s cosy to say the least if you eat indoors but the place has a magnificent terrace also. You need to “deposit” £20 pp on booking which is fine by me in these strange times with the threat of no shows and the website is easy to book through. My only minor grumble is that the printed menu is way too small and even with 20/20 vision anyone would find it hard to read with tiny print in a low lit room. Other than that, it’s really lovely and we shall be back . Well doneMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed all aspects of your visit; and I will make sure to pass on your comments about the menu font to head office. I would...More

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely meal with friends last night. The food was cooked to perfection and delicious. Lovely atmosphere and brilliant staff. It was a lovely treat. Thank you! This was our first time at this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021

Hi Family Traveller, Thanks so much for the positive review. We are so glad to read you enjoyed your first experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Sam Reed Regional Manager

Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here and we were so disappointed!! We ordered only a bottle of water (£4 may I add) to our table and left after 15 minutes. From the minute we arrived the concierge was abrupt and off with us after we...mentioned we didn’t realise they are now a cashless premises. This wasn’t an issue for us but we just hadn’t been aware to which we were given the dullest of replies that it was a “personal decision of the pub” we felt that a bit unnecessary as it wasn’t a problem. We were shown to our table where my husbands chair was covered in food and the concierge stood and watched him clean it himself, without an apology or offering to swap chairs. When we finally decided on food (from a very limited menu) we were informed the steak we wanted only had sharing sizes left which of course isn’t what either of us wanted. We decided there and then to leave, we just weren’t prepared to not only spend the money on food we didn’t really want to order but also paying for rude and unprofessional employees. Really the most disappointing place I’ve been to for a very long time and you couldn’t pay us to go back. If I could tap 0 stars I would.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Hi Emzmacey, I am very disappionted and I must say surprised reading your review as nothig you have said matches our brand standards or usually high level of customer service and cleanliness (which we often get compliments on). I will investigate your visit with the...More

Reviewed 24 August 2021

We had our wedding reception at The Plough Inn on Saturday and the event was an absolute blast! Sam and Duncan kept good communications open during all the planning and on the day/night, the food was amazing (they even catered extremely well for our vegan...guests) and the service from the staff was second to none - they worked tirelessly, professionally and with a smile on their faces! We had eaten at The Plough Inn on several occasions previously and will definitely be returning! Agree with other reviews, the outside space is amazing - pop along and see for yourselves!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2021

Hi Sam, Thank you so much for writing this review for us. We loved hosting your Wedding celebrations and speak for all the team when I say they had the most fun looking after you and your guests. Thank you so much for choosing The...More

Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Really great ambience friendly staff and very rural feel ..the outdoor area was fantastic and on a summer evening a lovely relaxing atmosphereMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Sam R, General Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Hi cHP, Thanks for you positive vibes, we are glad you had such a wonderful time with us. I personally adore our outside area and love reading about our guests feeling the same. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Sam Reed...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ramada by Wyndham Cobham
655 reviews
1.98 km away
Hilton Cobham
632 reviews
2.21 km away
Premier Inn Cobham hotel
693 reviews
2.33 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
916 reviews
3.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bear
329 reviews
.64 km away
The Black Swan
1,474 reviews
.71 km away
The Tea Terrace Restaurant & Tea Room
299 reviews
.96 km away
63rd + 1st - Cobham
97 reviews
.70 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Painshill
697 reviews
.96 km away
Semaphore Tower Wisley
5 reviews
1.29 km away
Medicine Garden
231 reviews
.98 km away
Cobham Bowling Club
8 reviews
1.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
terrymT8376VC
27 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RobertReed1234 | Property representative |
Absolutely. We welcome everyone. We have a “gf” labelled on many of our items on the menu. If you have a look on our website you will be able to find all of our menus.
1
Vote
Elis D
27 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hanesor S | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the late reply. There is a small garden.
0
Votes
Eileenbrown
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from mazzzzza | Reviewed this property |
Yes, dogs welcome outside, and in bar area(where you can eat as well) but maybe not in actual restaurant part inside. Staff like dogs very much, actually!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Plough Inn

Yes, The Plough Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Plough Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5