We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Savoy Buildings Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
+44 1744 610002
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 627: English reviews
Widnes
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely large and airy room with comfortable seating and friendly staff. The food is very good with a vast choice from starters through to mains and desserts which are clearly set out in separate sections. Kids are catered for with pizza and chips also on offer and a chocolate fountain and popcorn machine. The bonus is the freshly cooked section... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martiewidnes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently visited here for a family birthday with about 20 guests. We had a large table ready for us on arrival. There wasn't much service you had to que at the bar to buy your drinks which was a little strange. There was lots of choice e.g. Duck, soups, rice, ribs, chicken, chips, sausages, pizza, nuggets and lots of Chinese... More 

Helpful?
Thank OD07
Melling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

After the stabbing we had to use the fire exit (because the real one was police taped off) and found rat poison.... but we love it here the foods great for the kids and picky eaters because there are chicken nuggets and stuff the deserts are great there's a chocolate fountain (which only opens at five) and all sorts of... More 

Helpful?
Thank DottieLott
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed all of the dishes you tried, we hope to welcome you again! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a table booked for 12 people, arrived 10 min in advance, waited 1 Hour 30 min on a prebooked table to be seated. Food wasn't up to usual standard and upon leaving I went to the toilet and family members paid separately, only on arrival to my car was I told that the sour faced Chinese woman bluntly put... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm really sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. I would like to assure you that in no way would our team member meant to come across as rude and can only put this down to mis-communication. Once again I would like to apologise about your experience and I will... More 

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend & I visited after going to the one in Blackpool and really enjoying it. Well, what a let down. Is this the same company, how can one get it so right and another so wrong? Food was very limited in the choice of meats. Most of it was freezing cold, greasy and unappetising. Complained but they were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelleduerden
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Hi There, thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great time with us. We pride ourselves in the quality of our dishes and would like to assure you that we follow strict guidelines set by the FSA around food temperature however I will pass your comments back to the team More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice food with a good choice of food for starters, main and desert. A little costly but will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank gazmo4
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

We're so glad you really enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed the dishes you tried, thank you for your review More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and myself have visited this restaurant, but the one in Blackpool and we loved it, so we thought we would give the St Helens Chinese buffet a go, First my other half tried to book a table for 6.30 but couldn't, the only time available was 6, when we arrived at 5.50 the restaurant was almost empty so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you didn't have a great time with us, we pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes and would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining. I will pass your comments back to the team but... More 

Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff the was great but the food was very average and not always hot. The place was clean and well present. It live up to the TV show stand

Helpful?
Thank 790kevin1974
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed dining with us, I would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining however I will pass your comments back to the team More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great night , had a shirt wait as we didn't book , but we had drinks , and wanted a short time , service good , selection of Chinese food was amazing , some was cooked and prepared in front of you ,,,value for money ,...

Helpful?
Thank Sarahkelly67
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great night with us and were impressed with our service, thank you for your lovely comments More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm really not a fan of buffets in general and when I first got invited here for a family occasion, I was apprehensive. The location is a little...'rough' and when I entered the restaurant, some of the clientele seemed pretty scruffy so I was expecting/dreading the kind of buffet where people are more concerned about quantity of food over quality,... More 

Helpful?
Thank daisyandwillow
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed dining with us and found a large selection of dishes available and lots to choose from. We hope to welcome you again More 

Travellers who viewed The Chinese Buffet - St Helens also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
 

Been to The Chinese Buffet - St Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$18
Cuisine
Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Savoy Buildings Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  St Helens
  • Phone Number: +44 1744 610002
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant.
Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations.
Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers.

They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards.

THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Chinese Buffet - St Helens and other visitors
12 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Merseyside
7 months ago
1 month ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Chinese Buffet - St Helens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?