We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (119 reviews)
“chowder” (86 reviews)
“stews” (32 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 740 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

It was a busy peak lunchtime day on a warm July and so, unsurprisingly, we had to wait for a table. It was worth the wait though and, at least with the method they had, it seemed fair and organised so it was not at...More

Thank Annelise D
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited on a Sunday morning in desperate need of a decent coffee. We weren't disappointed. Lovely coffee and chocolate brownies too. All amid the hustle and bustle of West Bay. Thanks.

Thank Kate n
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Having read such good reviews of Rachel's, we made it our mission to have lunch there on a hot Monday. We had to wait about half an hour to be seated, but the food was definitely worth the wait. We opted for the prawn platter,...More

Thank Mimi_3623
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 5 days ago

Fish-packed fish stew out of doors on the harbour side. Unpretentious but delicious. Very popular so you need to take your chance. Lovely staff helpful and personable.

Thank RovingSuET
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We appreciate your excellent review. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very nice lunch at Rachels, great service and nicely presented seafood platters. It's all outside dining so I suppose you have to keep an eye on the weather, but we brought our dog along so it worked out very well.

Thank Stuart141
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is very kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Now i know why they are number one on tripadvisor! Most amazing food EVER! Only twelve choices but thats a good thing, i could have ordered ever one of them, watching meals come out was making my mouth water. I had the amazing haddock chowder...More

1  Thank Karen A
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your amazing review Karen. We are so pleased you enjoyed our chowder and your partner his fish & chips. Kieran will be well pleased that he has had another comment about his work ethic. He is such a nice lad.

Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a great place to sit by the harbour and eat ther lovely fish and chips ,full marks for rachels for ther delicious meals .

Thank Sheila S
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your lovely review and recommendation.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to this as a nearby cafe were having a customer service meltdown and groups of people (including us) did not get their food and were asking for refunds. This was like a breath of fresh air. Staff were particularly friendly, the service was...More

Thank JezzerPR
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again another day. Many thanks for your kind review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely lunch sitting in the sun eating crab sandwiches with lovely chips and salad. Was horrified to see an awful woman on the next table criticise a young member of staff for allowing an elderly man who was waiting for a take away, sit on...More

Thank susansh47
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. I mentioned your comment to Kieran this morning and he was quite pleased to think he'd been mentioned and praised. We hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We'd been to Rachel's last year and we had to come back. We can personally vouch for the fish stew and smoked haddock chowder but everything else looks just as tasty. Great way to try out freshly caught fish from the Dorset coast.

Thank Dandy892
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your personal recommendation for our fish stew and chowder. We look forward to serving you these dishes again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Station Kitchen
483 reviews
.38 km away
Riverside Restaurant
697 reviews
.20 km away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
87 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
112 reviews
.33 km away
Hive Beach
317 reviews
.45 km away
West Bay Harbour
852 reviews
.08 km away
West Bay Canoes
85 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Magpiesaint
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Looking at Facebook they are open from 11.30-3.30 fri to mon but opening daily from April. Weather dependant. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Peter H
6 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from jetsetter511 | Reviewed this property |
When we went the menu included macaroni cheese and salad, nachos with vegetables and a sumptuous Greek salad. I wouldn't miss a meal at Rachel's under any circumstances! Enjoy your visit.
0
Votes
Peter H
6 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Lawts777 | Reviewed this property |
Although Rachael's and surrounding eating places, do not have toilet facilities, there is a public toilet with disabled access very close by
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 03:00
Monday
00:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 03:00
Thursday
00:00 - 03:00
Friday
00:00 - 03:00
Saturday
00:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am till 3.30pm until further notice. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons.
We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook.
Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing