We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tom Browns Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Gunthorpe Road, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7EN, England
+44 115 966 3642
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 579: English reviews
Notts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went today for the Christmas market - thought we would have a light meal. Table soon found for us and cheeseboards and drinks quickly arrived. All good so far. Sadly let down by the bill charging us for 5 drinks not 4 - after we pointed out the drinks had been missed off! Thought we would stay a bit longer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thully
Tom_Browns_Gunthorpe, Manager at Tom Browns Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Thully, Apologies for the confusion on the drinks bill, it certainly wasn't intentional. I'm going to investigate the reasons behind the delay with your drinks arriving to ensure that it doesn't happen again. It's certainly not something I've encountered here before but we would never expect to charge a guest for drinks if they has waited that long. I... More 

Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Normally the food and service are good. Not on this occasion. The fish and chips was poor. Wet, barely cooked fish with a soft wet batter. About 8 chips. No option of mushy peas. Warmish. The service was poor. Despite 3 waiting staff serving a less than half full restaurant it was difficult to get any attention. Tom Browns feels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
Tom_Browns_Gunthorpe, General Manager at Tom Browns Brasserie, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan F, Thanks for your comments, and for saying that you have enjoyed previous visits. Sadly we don't always get it right, although we very often do. We take enormous pride in the food we serve and the service we provide and I can't apologise enough if we didn't get it right on this occasion. I'd love to hear... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A stunning evening - the organisation was immense - superb food, plenty of bar staff so that queues were never an issue. Jeremy Healy was fantastic. Awful hangover - although I guess that was down to me ! Top night

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Tom_Browns_Gunthorpe, General Manager at Tom Browns Brasserie, responded to this review

Thanks Steve C, Glad you enjoyed the night! More 

Notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been going to Tom Browns for years. Always excellent service and wonderful food. They never disappoint. Well done to them!!

Helpful?
Thank SuzanneFitzpatrick
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was there for a family meal with a large group on Saturday. All very lovely thank you! Our puddings were a little late but didn't matter because everything else was so nice!

Helpful?
Thank Kristen I
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Friday 11/11/16 with friends and have no complaints about the food or the venue. However having booked a table when we arrived it wasn't ready and we waited at the bar. We were encouraged to order our food at the bar in advance of getting to the table - which I think is bad form in an attempt to... More 

Helpful?
Thank L C
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The quality of a roast dinner can make or break my weekend. Delighted to report I left happy! Lovely restaurant, service and atmosphere, proper roast lunch (the best roast potatoes) followed by a walk along the banks of the River Trent.

Helpful?
Thank simonjwelch
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was nice, we all had starters and mains. My risotto was lovely and the Thai pork dish looked nice. The atmosphere and setting is lovely but I expect more attentive service than we experienced.

Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my family for a belated birthday meal . There was an offer on the price list so it was considerably cheaper than normal . Various starters from scallops , soup And ciabatta all delicious . For mains I had lamb , hubby had risotto , son had pork and our grandson had the chicken from the children's menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wykenio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I went to Tom Browns to celebrate a birthday party which I believe they had hired the whole place out. The bar staff were very friendly and the venue is spot less-you can tell a lot of time and effort goes into maintaining it. For those reasons I shall be returning back, hopefully soon. Thank you for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
Tom_Browns_Gunthorpe, General Manager at Tom Browns Brasserie, responded to this review

Hey Laura W, Thanks for your comments, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit, we do indeed spend a lot of time maintaining the venue and I'm really pleased you had a good party! Dan More 

Travellers who viewed Tom Browns Brasserie also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Tom Browns Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Gunthorpe Road, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham  >  Gunthorpe
  • Phone Number: +44 115 966 3642

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tom Browns Brasserie and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
nottingham
11 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tom Browns Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?