We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dark Horse Restaurant

Kiln Lane, Stowlangtoft, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3JZ, England
+44 1359 230904
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Kiln Lane, Stowlangtoft, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We had booked a meal here with friends. They are not answering the telephone, the Facebook page has disappeared. You would have thought that would contact customers who had booked to let them know. We did have Groupon vouchers which Groupon have thankfully refunded us...More

Thank Carolyn E
Reviewed 3 days ago

This used to be one of our favourite restaurants. We booked with a groupon a recently as it was my husband's birthday. In the afternoon we were telephoned to say they could not get an agency chef (not sure why needed), and cancelled. It was...More

3  Thank jennom101
Reviewed 4 days ago

We booked a table for a birthday using a Groupon voucher for a Saturday night but due to a change of plans we changed this to the Sunday lunch. However when we arrived the restaurant was closed and a neighbouring business said they had been...More

3  Thank c h
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

BEWARE. BEWARE. BEWARE!!!!!! SUPPOSEDLY UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!!!! Here is an email I sent after turning up with my family having booked a table. The never responded. Good afternoon I am at a loss, confused and angry that a customer can make a reservation, drive for...More

7  Thank Jezco10
Reviewed 1 week ago

Back in September 2014 I gave The Dark Horse a 'Very Good' rating for a Sunday lunch. Unfortunately there seems to have been a drastic change for the worse and we had what I can only describe as one of the worst meals we have...More

1  Thank timothyP
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went as a group of 6 for a special birthday lunch. Great surroundings, friendly waitress, terrible food. Salad was from the 60's with just lettuce, tomato and cucumber served with little imagination. Food was average at best. Do not go if you like good food...More

1  Thank SlamminHammo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time we have been to the dark horse in the past 7 weeks, their girls can not be more helpful always got a smile and nothing is too much trouble. We like to eat outside and this is catered for which...More

Thank Jane L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I ate here last year and it was very good. The food on our recent visit unfortunately wasn't, it lacked flavour and quality plus menu was lacking. However the staff were very friendly and the surroundings are pleasant

1  Thank LillibetLewis
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

our 3rd visit - 1st was excellent the pig & fish combo was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. Service was good too as was the beer and wine options. 2nd visit went for same menu option - chalk and cheese from 1st...More

2  Thank kpw_haven
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The grounds of this beautiful building lead one to expect an experience commensurate with the surroundings. Unfortunately that was not the case. Initaially when asked for the wine list, we were told there wasnt one due to a change over of supplier. We were offered...More

1  Thank Cockspatch
Nearby Restaurants
Leaping Hare
327 reviews
2.66 km away
The Bunbury Arms
310 reviews
2.90 km away
White Horse
8 reviews
2.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wyken Vineyards
215 reviews
3.45 km away
Bardwell Windmill
22 reviews
5.33 km away
Wizard Balloons
43 reviews
3.25 km away
Puzzle Room
9 reviews
5.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
9 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from A440FDX | Reviewed this property |
Agree with all the above, lets hope the proprietor reads the reviews and does something to help new customers. Not everybody reads Trip Adviser as they should when they go somewhere new.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$20
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kiln Lane, Stowlangtoft, Bury St Edmunds IP31 3JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St Edmunds  >  Stowlangtoft
  • Phone Number: +44 1359 230904
The Dark Horse offers light lunches/brunch from 11am - 2.30Pm dailey (closed Monday) and evening meals 6pm - 9pm, all day Saturday & 12noon - 4pm on Sundays including roast dinners. The bar is open all day from 11am - 11pm (closed Monday)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing