We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Bar & Grill

#117 of 4,630 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Australian, Grill, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
80 Pyrmont Street | Level G, Harbourside, The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009 , Australia (Formerly Black by Ezard)
+61 2 9657 9109
Website
Today
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 17:30 - 21:30
Tue - Thu 17:30 - 21:30
Fri - Sun 12:00 - 15:00
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
346 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We attended with Sydney Festival before a musical at the Lyric Theatre. The service was friendly and professional. We were in the private room and there was a super mix of seafood (suoerb bugs), zucchini flowers (divine) and some other terrific vegie dishes. We didn't have desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Tania d
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A little disappointed, have wanted to come her for a long time and I can't really say it was worth it. The service was great, very lovely people and knowledgeable about the menu. However, you should spend more time attending to your customers then perfecting a table arrangement of knives and forks, it was very hard to get anyone's attention.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
Management response:

Dear Jaime, Thank you for taking the time to share your valid feedback. We are disappointed to see wee missed the mark on this occasion. We are all about perfecting the finer details, however this does not mean an hour wait time is normal or acceptable. I do hope you brought this to the attention of someone, so we had... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had tickets to see a musical at the Lyric Theatre, so we decided to book a pre-theatre dinner at Black Bar and Grill. One of our favourite restaurants in Melbourne is Ezard, so we thought we couldn’t go wrong with Black – we were not disappointed. The service from start to finish was impeccable. I am always impressed when... More 

Helpful?
Thank OwenKA
Management response:

Dear OwenKA, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. It's pleasing to see that you received the full Black Bar and Grill treatment, which we aspire to give to all our guests. I will most certainly pass on your compliments to the chef. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner took me here for my birthday and it was fantastic. We ordered the $90 steaks for mains and they were INCREDIBLE! If you go here I wouldn't recommend ordering anything that isn't steak. We ordered a few other dishes like gnocci, pork and mussels but they weren't any where near the steak. This place is a must!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mr2Skyes
Management response:

Dear Mr2Skyes, Thank for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We couldn't agree more, our steaks are incredible, and fantastic value. We are glad you enjoyed the food we are so proud and look forward to having you again soon. More 

Crawley,West Sussex
Level Contributor
253 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went here with Aussie friends who had experienced Xmas a couple of years before and remembered how good it was so treated us this time around The initial greeting was one from an "I'm totally stressed hostess who immediately guided us to the bar as we were 20 mins early for our 13:30 table . We ordered cocktails -... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyDave
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our Christmas Day lunch booked months in advance and had to go through the process of providing all possible details etc to secure our booking. We arrived in time for our 1.30pm seating much to our surprise we saw a massive line at the door, only later to realise all of them too had a reservation and waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgie_girlie
Management response:

Dear Georgie, Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience at Black, we do understand that we had some challenges on Christmas day and we are very apologetic of the wait that occurred for the late seating. Please be assured that we do value your feedback and if you are willing , we would like to make it... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been to black many many times Been as couples. , with friends & family . Love their starters thought they changed ever few months & love their new creation every time , our old time favourite has been the farm egg , and their prawns 👌 Love their steaks simply one of the best Love the view overlooking the water... More 

Helpful?
Thank SaraBella07
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Previously dined at Black with colleagues about 3 years ago and we were not that impressed (great service but food was average) so when in-laws booked a table for 4 for Christmas celebration this year I didn't expect too much. The four of us had oysters and prawns as entree, grain fed wagyu fillet/skirt and king prawns as main plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank tue3day
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for four on Christmas night at the early setting 5.45pm. We got there early at 5.30pm and were promptly seated, we were asked what water we wanted and asked if we could place a drink order.....couldn't take a drink order sadly as the lady only did water.....she would ask the waiter to come over.....unfortunately no waiter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BigTony26
Management response:

Dear Tony, Thank you for taking the time to share your very recent experience with us. We are very sorry for the obvious shortcomings of your visit. Your feedback is worlds away from what our guests have come to expect from us at Black. We would like to kindly ask you to contact us directly as we believe this requires... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time here at Black. The first time a couple of years ago I was quite happy with the food but this time I find it disappointing. Not sure why the change really - the steak was still very good but I found the fact that everything else is an additional cost. And at around $55 per... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Management response:

Dear Graham, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. While we are glad to see you return to Black we are disappointed to hear it didn't go as well this time. We believe wholeheartedly in our menu concept, and our regular guests love to choose from our variety of premium steaks and accompaniments; they also rave... More 

Travellers who viewed Black Bar & Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Black Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Australian, Grill, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 21:30
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | Level G, Harbourside, The Star, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly Black by Ezard)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9657 9109
Description
BLACK Bar & Grill's menu presents the finest steakhouse cuisine inspired by contemporary Australia and its seasonal produce.With stylish décor and stunning views of the Sydney harbour and the city backdrops, you'll enjoy an entirely novel dining experience. The menu showcases the best Australian produce with innovative flavour combinations, including a wide variety of seafood and an emphasis on fresh, seasonal ingredients. The wine list is very extensive, indicative of a true contemporary steakhouse, complementing the menu perfectly. A completely separate bar welcomes guests in with comfortable seating, creative cocktails and a delicious bar menu should you choose to graze over some snacks.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?