We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Flying Cock

#2,542 of 3,640 Restaurants in Brisbane}
$$ - $$$American, ,
388 Brunswick St, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
6131726109
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good53%
  • Average8%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“cheeseburger” (3 reviews)
“wings” (4 reviews)
“valley” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Australian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
388 Brunswick St, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst experience when it comes to the flied chicken burger, the piece of chicken which wasn't a breast had the skin still on it ! it did not even look like it was fried ... i would never eat there again! and i hope no...More

Thank Wissam J
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

we went here for a electronic music event and it was a good venue for it. bar service was good and plenty of room to cut loose on the dance floor.

Thank kristyrebecca
Georgie V, Public Relations Manager at The Flying Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Hi Kristyrebecca, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to let us know. We are happy to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon. Hooroo, The Flying Cock Fam

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Pros: - no TV in the main room!!! - has a certain charm for Australian standards - food was ok - reasonably priced Cons: - still has some kind of corporate atmosphere

Thank Mil_the_globetrotter
Georgie V, Public Relations Manager at The Flying Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Mil_The_globetrotter, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We hope to see you in again soon! Hooroo, The Flying Cock Fam :)

Reviewed 25 February 2017

FYI this is now just another James Squire chain thingy.. No more trendy crowds & real craft beer & assorted obscurities, such a bummer.More

1  Thank J_HamptonCourt
Georgie V, Public Relations Manager at The Flying Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi J_HamptonCourt, We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience at The Flying Cock. We take all feedback seriously and will always do our best to provide great service to our customers. If you would be happy to provide us with any...More

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Table for 20 in the dining side of TFC. A couple of us shared the chips and wings which were spot on. Other guests loved their burgers and chips too. They have a happy hour which helped with the budget lol. Staff were extremely helpful...More

Thank Marion L
Management response:Responded 13 February 2017

Hi Marion, Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear about your experience at our venue. We hope to see you again soon. Hooroo, :)

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This place has awesome food and cocktails also very reasonably priced for the location. Great vibes and friendly staff.

Thank Hayley B
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Disappointed here Read some of the vibe about this place and checked it out for myself Food is pub average with limited choices Expensive for what it is and wouldn't go back even if you shouted !

Thank coll612
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Food wasn't bad, also didn't stick out as brilliant. Just a couple of burgers for lunch and a beverage each. Very busy on the footpath with passers by at lunch. The wind blew the sandwich board/sign into me whilst seated at the table but staff...More

Thank Wendy W
Management response:Responded 9 November 2016

Hi Wendy, That you for all of your feedback and we are so sorry to hear that the sandwich board fell on you!! We pride ourselves on our food and our service and your experience does not represent the high standards that we expect from...More

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Well. Where do I start? This is the second time I've come here and they've run out of stock, I wanted the wings and they had none. I wanted a pale ale and they had NONE. So i had a lager and ordered whats called...More

1  Thank pomozzy
Management response:Responded 9 November 2016

Hi Pomozzy, Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologise that you weren't able to try our wings. We are also sad to hear that you didn't enjoy the chocka box meal as this is a favourite of many of our regulars. We will...More

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I got charged $64 for two double whiskeys. I just moved back from Scotland where the same whiskey goes for about 8 - 9 bucks a shot in any bar. I know alcohol is overpriced in australia, but this was unbelievable. The security were unpleasant...More

Thank Mark J
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

Hi Mark, We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us! We are not aware of any of our whiskey's which are $16 a nip and will definitely be looking into this. We take all feedback seriously and will always do our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Eiffel Restaurant
47 reviews
.09 km away
Harajuku Gyoza Fortitude Valley
226 reviews
.04 km away
Fat Dumpling
55 reviews
.06 km away
Heya Bar
19 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chinatown
202 reviews
.29 km away
The Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts
7 reviews
.09 km away
Holey Moley Golf Club
36 reviews
.24 km away
Cloudland
42 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Flying Cock staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Television, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 388 Brunswick St, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: 6131726109
  • E-mail
Description
gastropub offering modern takes on classic pub food with an asian twist. Live music Friday & Saturday night.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing