We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brasserie on the River

Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3221 1999
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (52 reviews)
“mussels” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only had the opportunity to have breakfast at The Brasserie on the River whilst staying at the Stamford Plaza recently, but the experience each morning was excellent. The Brasserie on the River serves an amazing selection of food for breakfast, it simply cannot be...More

Thank Mark B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to the Brasserie for dinner as part of our accommodation package and the dining area is quite nice and atmosphere is ok. The service was really good and friendly. The seafood buffet was a let down as there was only oysters, prawns and...More

Thank Dave P
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dave P Thank you for taking the time to review The Brasserie on the River. I apologize that your recent seafood buffet did not meet your expectation as we pride ourselves on sourcing the best and most fresh seafood offering in the market. Being...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Once location on the river but we were disappointed with our meals. We chose the seafood buffet on a Friday night - incredibly overpriced at $70 per person for what can only be described as a mediocre selection. Two platters of prawns, oysters and tasteless...More

Thank TravellersGoldCoast
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TravellersGoldCoast Thanks for taking the time to review The Brasserie on the River. Your feedback on the buffet has been passed on, and we are sorry that the offering did not meet your expectation on this occasion. Glad however to hear that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great river setting, outside seats with river views. Buffet breakfast highly recommended- great variety, excellent fruit selection, tasty. Three course dinner package we had was only average. Starter of garlic king prawns was small and overcooked and could not taste garlic. Dessert was excellent but...More

Thank Sydsolo
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sydsolo Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Yes The Brasserie is a beautiful spot on the river and very popular indeed. Sorry to hear your dinner experience didn't meet your expectations particularly after a lovely breakfast. Your comments have been passed onto our...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Having only recently reviewed a wonderful and generous buffet on the Gold Coast, I found this offering to be quite parsimonious in comparison. Seafood section consisted only of prawns, oysters & halved sand crabs and the only carvery meat available was roast pork (and it...More

2  Thank M1cst01
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear M1cst01 Thank you for your comments. Disappointed that our buffet presentation missed the mark on this occasion however was pleased to read that Diana offered wonderful service. I will pass on your comments to her and also pass on your feedback to our kitchen...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Just had some coffees here but the service was great and the buffet inside looked amazing! The waterfront location and venue itself is gorgeous - definitely recommend for a sunny day!More

Thank Anastasia O
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Anastasia O Thank you for your kind comments. The location is second to none and a most idyllic place to enjoy coffee. Our seafood buffet and high teas are also a highlight and we hope that you can find the time to come back...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

My wife and booked dinner at the Brasserie last Friday, we sat inside due it being a little chilly outside. The main attraction was the seafood buffet. The prawns and oysters were fantastic, tasty and full of flavour, although the crab was tasteless, it tasted...More

Thank Gandirs
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Gandirs Thank you for your review of The Brasserie on the River. We do strive to present Brisbane best seafood and while it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the prawns and oysters, disappointing regarding your comments on the crabs. This feedback will...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Recently, my wife and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary by having a buffet lunch at "The Brasserie on the River". We told the restaurant at the time of booking that it was for our anniversary. From the time we arrived, they really went overboard...More

Thank John C
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear John C Thank you for your review on The Brasserie on the River. So pleased to hear that your anniversary celebrations were most memorable. Our staff are wonderful and we do receive a lot of really positive comments similar to yours. Your feedback will...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017

I had phoned the Stamford and asked if they served smoked salmon and crab in which I was told "definitely, of course". When arriving with my family it was very disappointing to see only prawns and oysters were on offer. I am not one to...More

Thank GEM m
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear misslulu Thank you for your review on The Brasserie on the River. Disappointing to read however your feedback has been passed onto the Restaurant Manager and Chef to address. We choose reputable seafood suppliers and strive to present Brisbane best seafood. Our mid week...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

The lunch was flagged as a seafood buffet, but the only fresh seafood buffet dishes on the menu were prawns and oysters. This pales in comparison with what one might expect of a seafood buffet. A quick check with other seafood buffets, and also those...More

Thank thambi117
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Urbane Restaurant
239 reviews
.18 km away
Port Office Dining Room
301 reviews
.12 km away
Moda
288 reviews
.05 km away
Mr Edward's Alehouse & Kitchen
158 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
CityCat Ferry
5,461 reviews
.17 km away
City Botanic Gardens
1,436 reviews
.42 km away
Eagle Street Pier
812 reviews
.30 km away
Catholic Old St. Stephen's Church (chapel)
275 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TeghanR
13 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Annielec01 | Reviewed this property |
Tho rated 5*, the majority around us dining were dressed casual, so wear what you feel is comfortable and appropriate for you when dining out. I felt the indoor as well as outdoor dining area did not give me the feel of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3221 1999
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing