We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Koko Japanese Restaurant

#249 of 3,336 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Southbank
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Crown Entertainment Complex 8 Whiteman St | 8 Whiteman St, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
+61 3 9292 6886
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 18:00 - 22:00
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Service was pretty good, but in terms of pricing and quality of food, it was a bit of a let down. The prices were quite high for very little food. If you are expecting to be full after dining here, I wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise, if you don't mind the high price tag and just want a good time, then... More 

Helpful?
Thank GR3ddy
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We celebrated my daughter"s 31st birthday here . We had the teppanyaki set menu Kaze $140 per head. Quite pricey I think. The dedicated chef showed off his skills and passion in cooking which is of course part of what you are paying for. The beef was so tender and we can really tell the quality is premium. But tHe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aley07
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were greeted with "Just reminding you, you will need to be out by 8:15pm". Thanks, that's a warm welcome. (Just a note to clarify we did not to the tempanyaki.) It didn't really get any better from there. Although early on (the entrées) showed a little promise. The potato manju was good. The sushi was disappointing, very limited variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to provide outstanding dining experiences for all customers, so it was naturally disappointing to learn that your recent dinner at Koko did not meet expectations. You have noted areas of concern which I will be sure to share with the Chef and Restaurant Manager for review. Thank you again for... More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went as part of a stay at Crown for our 20th anniversary. We fancied a change from Rockpool & Heston and we like Japanese food so thought we'd give it a go. There's no doubt it's a beautiful room and the table service was great. The tofu entree is fantastic but I was a little disappointed with the wagyu (grade... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbenn2
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi mbenn2, Congratulations on your 20th anniversary, and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed the décor and received the high level of service we pride ourselves on delivering. It was, however, disappointing to read your feedback on the Wagyu. Rest assured Koko offers only the highest quality produce and your comments... More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I visited Dinner by Heston 2 days ago and I must say there wagyu is top quality compared to the $380 'Kobe' steak at Koko. The service wasn't the great as the waiter hardly knew anything. Wouldn't recommend Koko but if you were to try somethig I can HIGHLY recommend Dinner by Heston. Great service over there.

Helpful?
Thank Marked05
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Marked05, I was concerned to read your feedback and would like to extend my sincere apologies. The experience you have described is certainly not representative of our usual high service standards and I will be sure to share your feedback with the Restaurant Manager for review. Thank you for taking the time leave your feedback; we do hope to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Had an amazing time here with my other half. They sat us by the window so we had a fabulous view during our meal. Great drinks!

Helpful?
Thank mariean2inette
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I met my nephew and his wife at this restaurant when I visited Melbourne and they made an excellent choice. The ambiance is beautiful and the food is delicious and well-prepared. A lovely meal!

Helpful?
Thank JBoice
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi JBoice, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the ambiance at Koko and received the high standard of food quality we pride ourselves on delivering. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Oliver von Brunn General Manager - Restaurants More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Called in for a quick snack during a recent visit, great food and service, well worth a visit if you are in Melbourne

Helpful?
Thank Jacmac00
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Jacmac00, How wonderful to read another review of yours. We take pride in the quality of our food offering and high service standards at Crown, and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy many of our premium restaurants during your recent visit to Melbourne. Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The service was excellent when organising this night for my birthday aswell as on the night. The food was delicious and the staff are flexible with people within the groups choosing different set menu's. There was 2 young girls in our group and they also catered for them with separate dishes. The Chef who cooked for us was also amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank RaiderTrader
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review RaiderTrader. I am thrilled to learn you had an enjoyable birthday at Koko. We place high importance on providing exceptional service and I am pleased to know we were able to cater for your entire party. Our highly skilled chefs do their upmost to ensure they deliver an entertaining and most importantly delicious experience... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We tried the Tsuki teppanyaki menu and the overall dining experience was quite good. Sashimi was very good quality and the Tempura Oysters with curry salt was really really good. Because we don't eat beef, we opted for Teriyaki Chicken and again it was super delicious. Vegetables, miso soup and the salad were unremarkable and I didn't quite like the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nisansala R
CrownRestaurants, General Manager at Koko Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Nisansala, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The Tskuki set menu offers great variety and flavours for an authentic teppanyaki experience and I am thrilled to read it did not disappoint. Your compliments on the service were very much appreciated and I am pleased to learn we delivered to the standard Koko aspires to. I... More 

Travellers who viewed Koko Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crown Entertainment Complex 8 Whiteman St | 8 Whiteman St, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne>  > Southbank
  • Neighbourhood: Southbank
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9292 6886
Description
Experience the serene ambience created by internationally renowned designer Tony Chi midst the tranquil surrounds of a Japanese water garden. Koko offers authentic teppanyaki and à la carte menus for guests to choose from, and is renowned for it's impeccable sushi and sashimi, delicately prepared by our chefs. Koko's also features an impressive sake bar, offering the city's best range of aged and exclusive sake from Australia and Japan.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Koko Japanese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?