We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe

$$ - $$$, ,
6-8 Vulcan Lane | Auckland City, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-300 6226
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good40%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (212 reviews)
“belgium beer” (31 reviews)
“fries” (36 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Belgian, Bar, European, New Zealand, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-8 Vulcan Lane | Auckland City, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I love the area the the bar located. Its very easy to fine cause its was located in the CBD, about the test of beer I preferred Belle-Vue krick, it such an amazing Belgium Beer and good for women ever.To have such a very nice...More

Thank Isara T
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review Isara and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited on Monday evening and sat at the bar just for a drink. I would not normally comment on staff members but was amazed at quite how poor the barman was. He was a ginger haired individual who maybe had other talents. He; Turned taps...More

Thank Alex W
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your comments Alex. All our bar staff receive appropriate training but often a little bit of practice is required when it's early days in the job!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This place serves really good food - blue lipped mussels are a speciality with a variety of sauces. Plenty of other options are available even for people who cannot manage seafood. The Belgian Beer is another speciality each (draft or bottle) served in its own...More

Thank Paul S
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased you had great experiences at The Occi!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to wait for a table, but it was worth it. Monday night has a special offer on mussels. $15 per kilo inc fries. Great atmosphere, good list of beers (Belgian).

Thank Suzanne B
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear, thanks for your feedback Suzanne!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had breakfast here twice in the 2 days we stayed in Auckland. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. The only issue we found was that the butter had been warmed too much so that it was liquid. We had...More

Thank Alison B
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and we will certainly take our comments about the butter on board and see what we can do differently!

Reviewed 1 week ago

5pts for food and price, yet very unpleasant experience for services. 是朋友的紐西蘭朋友推薦的,第一次去的時候是晚上,可是因為朋友沒帶護照不能進,第二次是離開NZ前的中午時去的,人不多,午餐也價格相宜,點了mussel、啤酒、牛排等等,以價格而言味道相當不錯。服務員的態度真的......不敢恭維,點餐的時候好像我欠了她一樣,知道你們不太喜歡華人,但去了這麼多國家服務態度這麼差的服務員真的難得一見,全程黑面,點完餐就把餐牌從我手裡搶走,thank you甚麼的也自然沒有。

Thank Vickie L
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the service was not up to scratch but are so pleased you enjoyed the food

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to so the kids the city, last time they were 8years younger and Huxley did not remember any of it, only really having time for a drive about, over the Harbour bridge and back and a walk down Queen street and back. Still we...More

Thank majawaan
HospoGroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That's great to hear thank you so much for the review and hopefully this won't be your last trip to Auckland!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stumbled on this awesome pub by accident with my wife on a cruise ship stopover in Auckland...beers were fantastic and the mussels were even better! Even with a full pub it wasn't too loud and staff were helpful. If you're in for a beer and...More

Thank Nudingjah
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback, great to hear we were the perfect place for your stopover in Auckland and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your cruise!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was really great 2 years ago but from last year the beer does not taste the same...even if I complained, the manager'response is 'no on complained today.' Will not go back ever.More

Thank Lena L
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lena, thanks for your review. We haven't changed ownership and sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your experience or that your complaints were not appropriately dealt with. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope that your good experience 2...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first New Zealand restaurant we tried. As it was New Year’s Day not everywhere was open but this proved a good choice. The mussels were off which didn’t bother me but clearly this place is famous for its mussels! I had the...More

Thank BarryD974
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback Barry, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Auckland Central
Hotel DeBrett
1,272 reviews
.08 km away
Ibis Budget Auckland Central
1,875 reviews
.13 km away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
125 reviews
.14 km away
CityLife Auckland
1,322 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
MELBA Vulcan
263 reviews
.06 km away
DeBretts Kitchen
260 reviews
.08 km away
Le Chef Vulcan
83 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vulcan Lane
79 reviews
.03 km away
The Strand Arcade
8 reviews
.11 km away
Escapade NZ
604 reviews
.25 km away
Power to the Pedal
119 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Leon L
19 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from HypnoWarrior | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is.. From 7:30AM till Late !
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$29
Cuisine
Pub, Belgian, Bar, European, New Zealand, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Monday
7:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
7:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 Vulcan Lane | Auckland City, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-300 6226
  • E-mail
Description
In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing