We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zest Restaurant & Bar

171 Queen Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-367 1234
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good40%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (5 reviews)
“city life” (8 reviews)
“early dining” (2 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
171 Queen Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Zest restaurant and bar is in the city life hotel Very nice restaurant Nice menu Good wine selection Great service and staff

Thank Brycee10
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Superbly cooked and served, delicious flavours and great presentation. There is an incorrect belief that hotel dinning rooms and in -house restaurant are not up to the same standard as those located in the city. You would be wrong. Do try Zest for yourself. try...More

Thank ExploreGB
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel where this restaurant is located and they have the abusive practice to charge 1.5% for paying with a credit card which is not advertised anywhere. They tell you when you are going to pay. The food is average and overpriced....More

Thank Carlos A
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We ate breakfast 3 times and dinner once . We went al a carte for breakfast as We are not big breakfast eaters . What We received was good ( Oatmeal , Omelette ) and cost $20 per person with coffee breakfasts were all good...More

Thank msquared_12
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Overpriced. Underwhelming. Better options elsewhere. Nothing special. Coffee was claimed barista made....I could not drink it. V disappointing. Shame the breakfast did not complement the great accommodation upstairs!More

Thank dlee822
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear dlee822, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Clearly what you encountered was well below our usual high standards and is completely unacceptable! It is always our aim to ensure guests enjoy professional service and their expectations...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Expensive at $34pp for full buffet breakfast and NOT worth the money. Hostess welcome was abrupt. We were in at 9.30 on a Monday morning. Much of the hot food had run out so selection was poor. To be fair they did cook extra food...More

Thank Helen P
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Helen P, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Clearly what you encountered was well below our usual high standards and is completely unacceptable! It is always our aim to ensure guests enjoy professional service and their...More

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We were feeling a bit hungry at a bit of an odd time (too late for a proper lunch, more early afternoon?) while trying to kill time before boarding the SkyBus. Anyway, as we had a small baby we opted not to sit in the...More

Thank wroddick
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear wroddick, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our food and service. Thank you Once again for taking time to write a review and we hope to host you again soon. Kind regards, Sunil Bajaria T.H.E....More

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Handled my food allergies very well and without a fuss. The food tasted great and looked great on the plate. I had dinner and breakfast here for three night. I will eat here again on my next trip to AucklandMore

Thank Paul A
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Paul A Thank you for your recent review and feedback. We pride ourselves on being able to adapt our menu to any dietary or allergy requirements. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to host you...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017

Enjoyed a buffet breakfast at Zest with some friends... nice and affordable.. relaxed place to sit and chat and eat... wasn't a huge range of foods but was the nice, thought the drink containers could have been kept full, always seem to be empty and...More

Thank Ustwoguys
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Ustwoguys, Thank you for choosing to dine at Zest Restaurant on your recent Stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you once again for taking your time to write a review. Regards, Sunil...More

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We could easily return for another meal.More

Thank emeraldsdreaming
SunilBajaria, Manager at Zest Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear emeraldsdreaming, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our dinner and service. Our service is one area we try to go above and beyond in and we are delighted that we have achieved this. Thank you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Auckland Central
CityLife Auckland
1,357 reviews
.03 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
1,248 reviews
.11 km away
Ibis Budget Auckland Central
1,930 reviews
.12 km away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
137 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kushi Japanese Restaurant
198 reviews
.06 km away
Vivace
319 reviews
.09 km away
Chuffed
134 reviews
.06 km away
Mezze Bar
216 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vulcan Lane
83 reviews
.14 km away
The Strand Arcade
9 reviews
.03 km away
Escapade NZ
640 reviews
.16 km away
SkyBus Auckland Airport Express
485 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zest Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$28
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 171 Queen Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-367 1234
  • E-mail
Description
Zest Restaurant and Bar is centrally located on the bustling Queen Street in the heart of Auckland CBD. We are open daily for breakfast and dinner. We cater for your pre-show needs with our Early Bird Dinner Special, only $35.00 Per person 5PM - 7PM daily.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing