We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cobb & Co. Rotorua

$$ - $$$
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
209 Fenton Street | Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-347 0906
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Went for my granddaughter's birthday and had a wonderful time. Our waitress Darcy was brilliant and the service given was awesome. Food was ok . Yes I would go back .

Helpful?
Thank lindapE9686KB
Ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

After walking around the area from our hotel we were getting here hungry and had passed by this restaurant a little while ago so we backtracked and decided to give it a try. We were seated right away... they were not too busy but still some places make you wait anyways... but here we were at a table in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacques1543
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The food here is awesome and the staff are the best!!! They are attentive, considerate and not 'in your face'. Food prices are slightly above average, but more than made up for by the quality and the brilliant staff. Mykala is a great waitress!!!

Helpful?
Thank BillCampbell562
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

There was only one other table occupied when we arrived for lunch. It took them several minutes to seat us. When they did, it took a while to take our order. We must have waited 20 minutes more for the food. I ordered a burger and regular fries and they were tasteless for NZD 20.90. My friend said her Mexican... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel132016
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tonight I experienced the worst meal of my life! Having travelled over 20,000 kilometres from Scotland we embarked upon which Gordon Ramsay would describe as 'hells kitchen'! The chowder was cold, the burger was bland and as a group of 20 visiting farmers we expected a steak cooked correctly but this was not the case! On top of my disappointment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin F
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Colin F We're glad you choose to dine with us on your evening in Rotorua. 20 visiting farmers from Scotland will find everything they need through the red batwing doors of Cobb & Co. It's very dissapointing you found you afternoon to be anything less than exceptional. There is no excuse for food that isn't served to the perfect... More 

Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered the Cobb Carnivore with curly fries and salad (comes with 400g rump steak and pork ribs) and it was incredible! The food was cooked perfectly and packed with flavour. Was not sure whether price would match up to quantity but it definitely did! Massive plate coated in food. Would definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank blerhxo
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and nice food. It was a bit expensive for what it was. Only complaint was when the food came out the waiter handed my daughter her food and the plate was so hot she burnt her fingers. She was not warned the plate was hot and when she yelled the waiter just looked at her and walked away...... More 

Helpful?
Thank inonufing
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, inonufing. We're glad you enjoyed your meals! It's is concerning to hear of the interaction you had with the waiter. Any person would be highly concerned by a young girl's sudden discomfort. We warm our plates for you to ensure the food stays hot and delicious. This, of course, is no excuse for not warning you... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly waiter, amazing food, entree was quick, dinner was delicious, beer was cold and dessert To die for,left full and happy

Helpful?
Thank Stacie2016
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Stacie2016. What you have described right there is everything we strive to offer. We are so happy that you have had such a great visit in regards to every single aspect! We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful, friendly helpful staff. Excellent food. Very clean and beautiful furniture. Our compliments go to Aaman and all the friendly staff members. DONALD &a Xiao .

Helpful?
Thank boneham1
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, boneham1! Aaman and the others will be so glad to hear your glowing feedback! More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here as we had 3 under 5's with us. The kids had a blast and barely came to the table to eat. Pretty disappointed with the kids drink range - nothing like what they used to be when I was a kid. Waitress was very nice and friendly but kept addressing everyone as "lovelies" which everyone found a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita W
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Anita W It's great to hear you had such a great evening! It's dissapointing you did not find enough range in options for your children to drink. We offer children sizes for all juices, soft drinks and even have our famous kids cocktails! I apologise for the waiter making you feel awkward. We love to hear when a customer... More 

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Cobb & Co. Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 209 Fenton Street | Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Rotorua District  >  Rotorua
  • Phone Number: +64 7-347 0906
Description
Welcome back to New Zealand's original Restaurant and Saloon! Visit Cobb & Co. for a friendly environment and warm charm that is uniquely kiwi. Cobb & C.o is the best place for families, offering a fantastic kids area packed with toys, PlayStations, and a large fish tank. We also have a special menu for our valued seniors. Cobb & Co. prides itself on having the best steak around: our beef is AngusPure, beginning its natural journey within the beautiful green landscapes of New Zealand and finishing it on your plate, topped off with one of our homemade steak sauces! Here, at Cobb & Co., there is something for everyone, offering a huge menu range, including gluten-free and vegetarian options. Enjoy our wine list, a classic pint of beer, or a colourful traffic light. Welcome home to Cobb & Co.!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cobb & Co. Rotorua staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?