We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huka Prawn Park

Karetoto Road, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
+64 7-374 8474
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good31%
  • Average28%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Karetoto Road, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A wet day in Taupo so we decided to see if the Prawn Park was open so we could do some Prawn fishing. Of course, just as we arrived the rain got much heavier which threw those plans out the window. Instead we decided to...More

Thank shower1
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your thorough review! We value our repeat visitors and great to know you were impressed. Look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Stacey @ Huka Prawn Park

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here to warm up after a jet boat ride. Nice big family friendly restaurant with friendly staff and great views. Had a great hot chocolate with baileys shot and a glass of red wine. Very nice. Food smelt good but didn't stop to eat.

Thank D P
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review! Next time you should definitely come and eat or try out the fishing, you'll love it. Many thanks Team @ Huka Prawn Park

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The prawn cocktail was the worst I have ever had. The prawns in the cocktail and the prawn skewers were overcooked, tasteless, tough and expensive and the menu unimaginative. Embarrassing.

Thank Mjn45
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. If you could email me and let me know what date you visted the Restaurant so I can pass onto the relavent Manager. Kind regards Stacey - info@hukaprawnpark.co.nz

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We did not do the prawn fishing but went to the café for an afternoon meal. It is marginally expensive but we were not disappointed. It was a good meal and a perfectly relaxing afternoon.

Thank VSM99
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, We're glad you were able to come here and relax and enjoy a meal. We look forward to you coming back. From the team @ Huka Prawn Park

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Prawn farm is always a stop over for us! it's beautiful to just sit back for a pit stop. Delicious food always and super cosy over winter!

Thank Monica L
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Monica, We love to get feedback like this! Thank you for coming and enjoying the essence of Huka Prawn Park. We look forward to seeing you again soon. From the team @ Huka Prawn Park

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Went as part of a conference group. Delicious food. Fantastic fire to stand beside and chat while waiting for food. Pleasant staff.

Thank sherbsfamily
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi there, Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed your conference and stay in Taupo. Glad we could impress :-) Many thanks, Stacey @ Huka Prawn Park

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Had lunch here since it was pouring rain and could not go to Huka Falls. Prawns are fresh water so not much flavor to it. I would not go to the tour of the farm. We got ours for free, thank goodness, otherwise I would...More

Thank Beth S
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi Beth, Thank you for your feedback. The tour of our nursery and hatchery is only part of the pass into the Prawn Park. The pass also includes Prawn Fishing, Paddle Boards, Pedal Boats an Aqua Trike, various interactive water features throughout our activity loop,...More

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

The most dissapointed meal we have had in a long while. Very expensive for over cooked and tasteless prawns. Chowder tasted like it was out of a can, calamari frozen and rubbery. Definitely catering for the tourist and not repeat business. Very embarrassed as a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for your review, we value all feedback. We are very dissapointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your lunch with us. Most reviews are positive. I have forwarded your feedback onto the Kitchen Manager to address. Thank you for coming. Stacey @ Huka...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This review is for the restaurant only. Service at the restaurant is fine, but ultimately we had an extremely disappointing lunch here- it is very expensive; you will pay $99 for a kg of poor quality steamed prawns and $48 for half a kilo of...More

1  Thank LeeParr2727
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi there, thank you for your review we appreiate all feedback. Our Prawns are very different from your Aussie Salt Water Prawns as our Prawns are fresh water prawns from Malaysia which definitely have a slightly different texture and taste. In no way are we...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Just ate in the restaurant. Ok food. Expensive for what it is. Half kilo of prawns $50. Service a bit super-efficient perhaps lack of customers).

Thank emdb
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Paulys Diner
179 reviews
6.61 km away
Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar
320 reviews
6.69 km away
Lotus Thai Restaurant
307 reviews
6.58 km away
The Storehouse
136 reviews
6.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huka Prawn Park
924 reviews
.12 km away
Volcanic Activity Centre
176 reviews
.75 km away
Wairakei Terraces
449 reviews
1.09 km away
Huka Honey Hive
226 reviews
1.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Huka Prawn Park staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 15:30
Monday
09:30 - 15:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 15:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 15:30
Thursday
09:30 - 15:30
Friday
09:30 - 15:30
Saturday
09:30 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Karetoto Road, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-374 8474
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing