We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-802 8935
Website
Today
06:30 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 783: English reviews
U.K.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A Family get together for pre dinner drinks, at this hidden gem up stairs next to the restaurant. Good service nice cocktails and good wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Phil1999
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Phil1999, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're glad we could make your family get together all the more enjoyable with our cocktail list and wine selection. Best, Chris More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great restaurant, albeit at the pricey end $550 for four of us including drinks. Excellent food, and good (not great) table service - am yet to find great table service in New Zealand. Thoroughly enjoyed a memorable dinner with excellent company that wont be forgotten.

Helpful?
Thank James_Lockhart_2017
QTMuseumWellington, Front Office Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear James_Lockhart_2017, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We look forward to many memorable dinners in the future! Until next time, Chris More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Gourmet restaurant in the French style. Great service by the staff, all with a french accent which made the experience even more authentic. I had dinner and the food was fantastic, great wine. very good view over the harbour from just about all tables. Not a budget restaurant by any means but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank 879arnoldm
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear 879arnoldm, Thank you for your sharing your recent dining experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Hippopotamus experience, from the wine to the service and romantic French accents. We look forward to welcoming you back for further indulgence soon, Chris More 

Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lets start with the Bad. Not the cheapest place to eat and drink. But sometimes you get what you pay for, and Hippo is one of these places. We have never been left down by the staff or chief's. Our last visit matched very visit we have had. It is great to see the standards don't slip. See you soon

Helpful?
Thank Angus K
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Angus K, Thank you for your kind words on our staff and dining experience. We value your feedback and are thankful we've had the opportunity to welcome you as a regular guest over the years. Until next time, Chris More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Meal was fantastic and the staff were really great. A few language issues but that in itself made the evening entertaining. All very willing to help.

Helpful?
Thank PPony
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear PPony, Thank you for your lovely words! We hope to welcome you back to for more fabulous evenings in the future. Until next time, Chris More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

One word sums it up - BLAND. To top it off, your paying a hefty price for bland food. There was no one in the restaurant and we had booked an early time with a set menu which meant we had to get out by 7 pm. Perfect - we had plans that evening. We were sat down the back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Danielle M, Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us. We're a little taken aback as bland is not how our dishes are often described. We're disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to our usual high standard. We'd loved to discuss any further feedback, please email our Restaurant Manager Camille Furminieux,... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food here is always outstanding. From a full meal right through to bar snacks over a drink. The staff are very friendly, helpful and know a heap about the food and beverage they are serving. Highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Rwd181
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Rwd181, Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back on more dining experiences! Kind regards, Chris More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's obviously better than McDonald's, but I'm giving two out of five measured against what it claims to be. We had the five course discovery dining experience. We didn't discover much. The food was the same as what you'd order from the menu, for the same price but with smaller portions. Not the creative degustation we were hoping for. Both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam O
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Liam O, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience us. We're disappointed to hear that you weren't able to discover what you hoped for with our degustation menu. What you have described is certainly not up to our usual high standards and we do hope you give us another chance. Please email our Restaurant Manager Camille... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we dined here in April 2017, 4 guests and we had the Degustation... It was terrible and almost laughable. For an expensive dinner I would have expected so much more. I would definitely NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Bridgitte D
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Bridgitte D, We're disappointed to hear that our degustation experience was not to your liking. We rarely receive negative feedback on this offering, so we're a little taken aback. We hope you give us another chance as we believe this is not an accurate representation of the Hippopotamus experience. We're happy to discuss any further feedback, please email our... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

High Tea at the Hippopotamus was perfection. The tea and food was delicious and beautifully presented. A great idea if you're looking for a special way to catch up with friends or a small celebration. Situated along the Wellington waterfront The Museum Hotel is one of the most stunning and quirky Hotel's I have seen. Friendly and professional staff, beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharne W
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this review

Dear Sharne W, We are thrilled to hear you treated yourself to High Tea - Definitely a special way to catch up with the girls for an afternoon! We're actually QT Museum Wellington now, same art, same location, still 100% quirky! We look forward to having you return on many more occasions! Until next time, Chris More 

Travellers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$34
Cuisine
French, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 22:30
Monday
06:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
06:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
06:30 - 22:30
Thursday
06:30 - 22:30
Friday
06:30 - 22:30
Saturday
06:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-802 8935
Description
When you are looking for a delicious dining experience in a stunning setting try QT Museum Wellington's flagship, French inspired restaurant – Hippopotamus. Our broad menu is peppered with a delicious mix of comfort food and fine-dining dishes that are designed to satisfy your hunger.

Our skilled service team will weave their way in and out of your experience ready to recommend their favourite dish and aperitif. In our adjoining Cocktail Bar mixologists armed with all the hip, new cocktails and a host of firm favourites that can either be enjoyed while you dine, or as a pre and post dining spot.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hippopotamus and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hippopotamus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?